Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 03:24:50 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Drawing on the TI itself is easier...


Of course it is. But I DO NOT want my entire game stuck in my calc now, would I?


Quote:
Then can't you just add all 3?


That's too many choices. At some point the user will be overwhelmed.


Quote:
I don't know. Hey, I voted thief. Will there be any class that will upgrade all stats?


Maybe if you cheat, or maybe I'll make it a secret character.


Quote:
I thought he said it just puts whatever stats you have in 1 list when you pick the character


You got it right. The PROGRAM sets the character list by making a new one (a copy from the default, which is used by Hero personality), and make the changes to it accordingly.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 03:32:57 pm    Post subject:

Can you change during the game?
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 09 Feb 2004 04:13:01 pm    Post subject:

Change what, your personality? No.
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 09 Feb 2004 04:36:24 pm    Post subject:

that would be interesting, find the difference in origional stats between 2 types, when the type is changed, calc the level stats up to that point and change them, speedy boss, change to a high speed type
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 09 Feb 2004 04:52:12 pm    Post subject:

But will the stats get better as you play?
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 11 Feb 2004 03:41:20 pm    Post subject:

Of course. I included Level growth, including attack, defense, and everything else.
Its just too easy to change your personality though, and if you do that, you'll have to recalculate all your stats... and there goes all your RAM.

By the way, I was thinking about making my game like those ones by Nintendo. I mean... like black version and white version. That would be interesting.

Crystal Legends (White): Magician personality
Crystal Legends (Black): Thief personality
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 11 Feb 2004 03:50:57 pm    Post subject:

would you charge 10 $ for a link program and 30$ for the games? just to have them crash and the battery die six months into the perfect game.... Mad [/pokemon rant]
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 12 Feb 2004 11:24:17 am    Post subject:

Yeah, I've had those problems before. All 50 hours of gameplay lost...

How do you think of that idea (my last post) though?
Back to top
etherealprogrammer


Newbie


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 16

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 05:34:17 pm    Post subject:

I think it sounds good, but you really wouldn't benefit that much un less you put in extra and different monsters/bosses. I guess it would end up just looking like a sequel that used most of the first one's code.
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 05:45:39 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, forgot to mention that. Not only monsters, but maybe also *cough* items and *cough* places and *hack*

Ugh. Now, where was I? Oh yes, its *COUGH!*


Last edited by Guest on 13 Feb 2004 05:46:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 05:52:45 pm    Post subject:

I really like the Black Version/White Version idea. It adds replay value to the series--just as long as they're not exactly alike.

I'd image some people would go out of their way to check out both editions just out of curiosity! Cool
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 06:01:35 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
I really like the Black Version/White Version idea. It adds replay value to the series--just as long as they're not exactly alike.


Thanks. They won't be alike, of course.
Do you think that's too much to add in, though?

I have 10000 RAM left. My battle engine is around done, all I need now are a few magic/technique moves. Please suggest some.

Also, "Magician" doesn't sound good to me, can someone give it a better name?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 06:19:58 pm    Post subject:

Most people seem to like the basic elements approach (Fire, Earth, Water, etc.). I used to have a big list of spell names like, "FIRE=magma, forge, blaze, etc" but I don't remember what I did with it. You get the basic idea through. Cool
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 06:25:21 pm    Post subject:

Fixen wrote:
Also, "Magician" doesn't sound good to me, can someone give it a better name?

Mage,
Wizard,
Sorceror,
Witch,
Archmage,
Shaman.

Hedge Wizard, Chaosmage, Darkmage, High Wizard, Battlemage, Cultist.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 09:17:01 pm    Post subject:

Spellcaster, warlock, necromancer, pyromancer, high mage,...
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 13 Feb 2004 09:25:25 pm    Post subject:

biomancer (gah, cant have a one word post!)
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 12:51:59 pm    Post subject:

How about a tribe name for magicians? I put Crystallians, Wavemasters, etc.

I drew some concept art of them...magician uses a wand with a crystal on top of it, so I tried Crystallians. Wavemasters come from a japanese comic ".hack"

I do want a brighter name than necromancers, mages, and sorcerors... (no offense, even I can't think of these words!) Wink



Quote:
Most people seem to like the basic elements approach (Fire, Earth, Water, etc.).


Gotcha. Lets see if Mr. RAM lets me do that. It can be a real spotlight for White version.


Last edited by Guest on 14 Feb 2004 12:52:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 17 Feb 2004 12:35:00 pm    Post subject:

I replaced accuracy with speed. The stats are pretty much the same, I changed the first post with it.

Have you been to www.maxcoderz.com? There's a Final Fantasy line of games (Its something I've never seen before), they say it featured random mouth movements in movies, how did they do that?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement