This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 16 Nov 2009 07:11:12 pm    Post subject:

I am an intermediate programmer. I have programmed three games so far. The first is a 1-2 player blackjack game that is purelt text. The second is a purely text made rpg. I know I can clean them but I get kinda frustrated sometimes.

My problem is creating a map. I want to make a platform style game, but don't have the knowledge of the right coding. I use basic. If any one could help me Step by step that would be great. Also, I have no idea How to use strings or lists. I experimented a bit but got more confused. If those are needed to make a map, please tell me how to use them. And if this is alot to ask, sorry. I just like programming.

I could also use help with building certain engines. I know how to make movement using loops, but I want to be able to make movement while enemies do something. Thanks!


Last edited by Guest on 16 Nov 2009 10:14:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
GloryMXE7
Puzzleman 3000


Active Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 604

Posted: 16 Nov 2009 09:12:49 pm    Post subject:

you'll find that almost every one here likes programming too :biggrin: anyway welcome to UTI
Back to top
dxfan101010


Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Posts: 194

Posted: 16 Nov 2009 10:49:01 pm    Post subject:

Ok Try TI|BD (Ti basic developer) just google it cause i am to lazy to rember the link it will give you information on all the commands ill help with any thing you dont understand but a more detailed question about a certian piece of code or a command will be easyer to answer

OOH and welcome to United TI


Last edited by Guest on 16 Nov 2009 10:49:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ah-blabla


Newbie


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 26

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 09:28:09 am    Post subject:

dxfan101010 wrote:
Ok Try TI|BD (Ti basic developer) just google it cause i am to lazy to rember the link it will give you information on all the commands ill help with any thing you dont understand but a more detailed question about a certian piece of code or a command will be easyer to answer

OOH and welcome to United TI

This is it:
http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/

It's a rather good site for basic coding. The 68K section is unfortunately incomplete, but still good. I imagine the Z80 section is also good.
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 10:50:47 am    Post subject:

ok welcome to UTI

you call yourself an intermediate programmer and not to be rude but id call you a beginner for 1 you dont know how to use list or strings example of using a string is
Input "name? ",str1
disp str1

this stores your name to string 1 and displays it

to use a list you first have to get it ready by doing
5->dim(L1
1->L1(1
2->L1(2
3->L1(3
4->L1(4
5->L1(5
pause
disp L1

this will store 1-5 into list 1 and when you press enter it will display them

you can manually draw a map on the draw screen using the Line( command


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:08:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 01:31:38 pm    Post subject:

{1,2,3,4,5→L1 and seq(X,X,1,5→L1 will also work. But honestly, spending a few weeks with the calculator manual and/or TI-Basic wiki, doing your own experiments, and then sharing the results of your successes is the best way to learn the language. Also, it's easy enough to scrounge up the syntax for individual commands. You're better than having us post that sort of thing for you.

Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:09:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 06:27:37 pm    Post subject:

Okay thanks guys, and I meant to repost UI do know strings now. I was researching them you could say. My main problem is keeping a character in the boundaries of your map. Like if it was a screen that had ladders, how to make him move up the ladder and when. Also, how to make a guy jump, but I have an idea for that. I'll post some code soon and you guys can help by telling me whats not a good idea.
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 07:38:10 pm    Post subject:

Welcome to UTI!


Weregoose wrote:
{1,2,3,4,5→L1 and seq(X,X,1,5→L1 will also work.
Also, cumSum(binomcdf(4,0→L1 will work.

Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:09:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
dxfan101010


Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Posts: 194

Posted: 17 Nov 2009 08:21:39 pm    Post subject:

ztrumpet wrote:
Welcome to UTI!


Weregoose wrote:
{1,2,3,4,5→L1 and seq(X,X,1,5→L1 will also work.
Also, cumSum(binomcdf(4,0→L1 will work.


Both of those are overly complicated for the list 1,2,3,4,5 arnt they although it would help with bigger list


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:10:11 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 18 Nov 2009 09:26:37 am    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
{1,2,3,4,5→L1 and seq(X,X,1,5→L1 will also work.



i know about these i was showing where they would be stored in the list so it didnt confuse him


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 18 Nov 2009 05:06:30 pm    Post subject:

dxfan101010 wrote:
Both of those are overly complicated for the list 1,2,3,4,5 arnt they although it would help with bigger list

Yes, these two are overkill. Smile
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 18 Nov 2009 07:17:59 pm    Post subject:

Well I am confused. XD

My idea on how to build a map would be to use repeat or loop sequences to move. When your guy gets to the right column and row he can do stuff, but only then. Such as climbing a ladder. If he starts down, when he equals that clumn, he can go up. Then when he equals the right row, he will only fall down the ladder.
ANy help would be appreciated.
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 19 Nov 2009 12:00:56 pm    Post subject:

Just post stuff/questions. I/we will be glad to help. Smile
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 19 Nov 2009 05:31:15 pm    Post subject:

Well my first is this.

Normally when making moveable characters, and I want reactions to happen I do something like.

Output(X,Y,"X"
...
If Y=14
Goto 1
...
Lbl 1
If X=6
Then
5->X
...

Is there a better way to do this, but not using those exact numbers, obviously.
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 19 Nov 2009 05:50:00 pm    Post subject:

You can do this for that same code:

Output(X,Y,"X
...
X-(Y=14->X

It compares Y to 14 and if they are equal, it subtracts one from X.
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 Nov 2009 07:35:47 pm    Post subject:

From what he showed above you only want to subtract one if x=6, so I would change your boolian too:
X-(Y=14 and X=6->X
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 19 Nov 2009 07:47:17 pm    Post subject:

I think I undertsnad how that works but could you eplain it anways. I don't get ho 5 is stored to x from

X-(y=14 and X=6->X


Last edited by Guest on 19 Nov 2009 11:45:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 23 Nov 2009 08:07:15 pm    Post subject:

Okay, Lemme Explain.. If you type down 1=1 on the calculator, It will give u a answer of 1. 1 = True, 0 = False.

So if i typed down.. Y=14, and Y was not 14.. Y=14 would give me 0.. This brings us to: X-(y=14 and X=6->X

Il break this down Step by step...

First off, you have Y=14 and X=6.. this is basically going to give you a 1 if Y does = 14, and x =6.. Lemme explain.

Its like.. asking the calculator.. Does Y=14 and does X=6? If Y does = 14 and X does =6. It will say Yes!.. And it will do so by putting the Number '1' down.

So basically.. (Say 16->Y:6->X) The calculator would basically be doing X-1->X. See how it filled out..?

X- (Y=14 and X=6 (Is true.. So this whole thing becomes 1) ->X .. which leads us to X-(1->X which is the same thing as X-1->X

Hopefully this helped.
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 30 Nov 2009 09:25:35 am    Post subject:

i couldnt have explained it better myself but in the projct im working on i use something similar but longer
2-(A>56 and B<22 and K=105->X
If X=1:goto 2
Lbl 2
If X=/1:goto 1 //this is does not equal
0->X
prgmWINSTRTM


is their a way to do this using goto's instead of stroing


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:11:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 01 Dec 2009 05:58:14 pm    Post subject:

shadowking wrote:
i couldnt have explained it better myself but in the projct im working on i use something similar but longer
2-(A>56 and B<22 and K=105->X
If X=1:goto 2
Lbl 2
If X=/1:goto 1 //this is does not equal
0->X
prgmWINSTRTM


is their a way to do this using goto's instead of stroing


Well first Why is If X =/= 1 under label two?

You could just do

: 2-(A>56 and B<22 and K=105->X
:If X/=1
:Goto 1
: 0->X
: prgm WINSTRTM


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 10:11:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement