This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 09 Jun 2009 08:44:19 pm    Post subject:

looking pretty good so far
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:10:20 am    Post subject:

I don't know if you want this, but there is a way to get bold text on the graph screen.

Code:
For(B,0,1
For(C,0,1
StorePic 1
Text(-1,20+B,10+7A+C,"THIS IS BOLD
RecallPic 1
End
End

The 10 is the starting X coordinate and the 20 is the starting Y coordinate.
For a different look you can use just one for loop. (It dosn't matter which one you leave out, but try it all three ways.

(I first saw this routine use by BuilderBoy. Credits to him.) Smile
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 10:50:35 am    Post subject:

Dude all i can say is awsome this will be great for the menues ill be working on them (hopfully ill finish ) this weekend il also try to write a mockup of my ideas for the battle engine



u guys should do the same if u can this way we get more ideas and hopfully a non laggy good engine
what sprites are we changing again i forgot/have not seen any others

thanks in advance
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 11:28:35 am    Post subject:

Agggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I forgot a loop in the above code. This is right: (Text in Str1)

Code:
For(A,1,length(Str1
For(B,0,1
For(C,0,1
StorePic 1
Text(-1,20+B,10+7A+C,sub(Str1,A,1
RecallPic 1
End
End
End


Last edited by Guest on 10 Jun 2009 11:28:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 06:43:21 pm    Post subject:

TI NEWB DO YOU THINK U COULD ADD A THIRD OPTION FOR THE DISPLAY to use the flamy thing sprite-mabob eeems wrote?
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 07:19:28 pm    Post subject:

geekboy1011 wrote:
TI NEWB DO YOU THINK U COULD ADD A THIRD OPTION FOR THE DISPLAY to use the flamy thing sprite-mabob eeems wrote?

The way the options work this could be signified by a negative number. ex: -2 would be No Boundries with the flamy sprite thing. It wouldn't work for -0. You would have to use 1-4 instead of 0-3.
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 07:26:52 pm    Post subject:

Wouldent that take up more space (be 2 bytes instead of 1)
right?
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 07:44:25 pm    Post subject:

Geekboy. Almost anything is possible.. But what Third option do u want?..

Oh Fk. are we only done 4% of CrimsonWarefare?? *doesn't my menu thingy cover all our menus?*.. or all the basic ones?

EDIT: GeekBoy. can u post down what we've got.. and what we need to do? *not all the things needed. Just the next thing we need*


Last edited by Guest on 10 Jun 2009 07:50:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 07:57:34 pm    Post subject:

well he hasn't actually gotten to the game yet, we are still on the preliminary...
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:09:28 pm    Post subject:

Okay, Geek boy. i think it's time i knew.

For this game, Our user/player will be controlling his/her army using the menus, but there will be like 4 short cut buttons (F1-F4) Right?

Now the complicated part about this game is our AI(Depending on if we;re gonna have levels, Will the AI Progressively get smarter? *or will we have a... GAMBIT(If you play FFXII Loooolz. Basically What Comes FIrst. like.. Chain of Commands basically..)

Either way. we have ALot of prgming to do... I will start planning out on paper random crap if i have time. *i think i will try to start the AI Idea.. Drawing board thing*
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:09:29 pm    Post subject:

ill update the first post tommaorow oh that is a old number i'll update it later

the third option would to use the flame sprites as cursors for like the main menu and stuff :)


oh eeems and tinewb do you now any god irc things we could chat on they are much faster and all of us could talk together at once ?

oh and just for fun should we make a free website to hold the work and junk Smile


Last edited by Guest on 10 Jun 2009 08:10:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:10:13 pm    Post subject:

yes. thers OmniMaga.. or i can do MSN Chat with both of u.
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:12:15 pm    Post subject:

can omnimaga be used from a third party host thing like mirc
if so i can be on untill when ever


oh yea i joined omnimaga today should i post the game there to ?


Last edited by Guest on 10 Jun 2009 08:13:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:17:45 pm    Post subject:

Uhm.. well thats up to u. Me and Eeems go there sometimes. and it's a freindly Forum.
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:18:18 pm    Post subject:

sure go ahead, and for Omnimaga just join the unitedti.org server and then join the #omnimaga channel. I will be on usually after 6:00 mountain time. If need be we could create a separate channel to talk about it
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 10 Jun 2009 08:42:26 pm    Post subject:

SO Geekboy1011, this is what i think our game will look like


Menu Prgm/TitleScreen
Repeat
Getkey
If-Then for AI (the part where it decides what to do)
If Getkey, then all the user/player menu options
Variables update.. for Movement
Display all the movements(Animate)
Did Any AI Buildings Die? (1=yes,0=no. The If-Then for AI will find out what died. and what to do. But it has to do it fast or else the game will freeze for like.. 1 second)
END

Basically that is it. that may not be the right Order of things.. but yea
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 11 Jun 2009 10:12:16 am    Post subject:

we probally should check at the start of the loop for destroyed buildings and have the actions go from there to help them decide what to do
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 11 Jun 2009 10:34:24 pm    Post subject:

Geekboy. No offence but ur menu selection thingy is very very un-optimized. Go ahead and look at my Menu prgm. and you'll see what i did with it.. *it's the part with. Real(12,8. i have 3 of those< and thats all you need.

If u need further help. Ask. or i can just make 1.. or help u make1.
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 11 Jun 2009 11:11:23 pm    Post subject:

TI-newb, instead of telling him it's unoptimized how about optimizing it for him? or give him some optimizations that he could do? he may not know of the optimizations that you know of.
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 12 Jun 2009 06:30:27 pm    Post subject:

Lol. sorry Eeems. but after i told him that. we went to IRC and Geekboy1011 and I re-wrote the prgm XD.

Oh yea. and b4 i posted that. i asked if he wanted me to re-write the prgm, and he said no. So i suggested how about we re-write it together.


Last edited by Guest on 14 Jun 2009 08:27:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 10 of 12 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement