This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 09:56:30 am    Post subject:

sure I'll see what I can do
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 11:07:32 am    Post subject:

thanks eeems if you plan on doing it on calc a good editor is pyto edit 4.0 on ticalc.org it works great for editon use the mods there good
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 02:11:10 pm    Post subject:

I know, (it's pyro not pyto) but I might just do it by hand
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 02:57:55 pm    Post subject:

sorry for the spelling error teach was coming and had to hurry if you notice i dont do any spellchecking on these posts srry
ok iam looking forward to seeing them and i think we should definitly use celtic 3 it is awsome:)


Last edited by Guest on 19 May 2009 03:35:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 19 May 2009 04:11:03 pm    Post subject:

geekboy1011 wrote:
Thanks guys i figured it out last night by displaying the amount of free ram just changed it to somthing like
Code:
while 1
while ans=0
getkey
end
"insert if statments here minus the gotos"
end

This statement fails if ans is not zero before the second loop. It probably needs to be:

Code:
while 1
repeat ans
getkey
end
"insert if statments here minus the gotos"
end


Last edited by Guest on 19 May 2009 04:11:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:14:03 pm    Post subject:

hmm, I think I already pointed that out in his first code...
(side note, never use =0 use Not( instead)
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:25:50 pm    Post subject:

Oops forgot to pu the zero before the second loop and i will try changing it



like this


while 1
0
while ans=0
getkey
end
"insert if statments here minus the gotos"
end



any other questions?




random question how good is doors cs i have only used mirage


Last edited by Guest on 19 May 2009 05:28:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:28:36 pm    Post subject:

While 1
Repeat Ans
getKey
End
End

Did you get it that time? Wink


Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 03:31:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:39:11 pm    Post subject:

never use Ans=0 always use the Not( command!!
and yes, use what Weregoose suggested
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:43:42 pm    Post subject:

ok i must be very stupid and imcopetent because i cant get any of the code you guys suggested to work i might not be doing it right but i personally cant get it to work the not any thing just makes it quit after 2 key presses so i dont know what to say
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 05:48:01 pm    Post subject:

ok, how are you using Not( ? and repeat should work, I get it to every time
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 06:07:51 pm    Post subject:

1 what should i put in not(
2 why should i not use while ans=0
there are no memery leaks i think it did not show any
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 19 May 2009 06:12:22 pm    Post subject:

ok, Not( is like =0, so to save a byte use Not(Ans instead of Ans=0 (2 instead of 3)
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 19 May 2009 07:05:21 pm    Post subject:

Also, as I have pointed out, use :Repeat Ans instead of :0:While not(Ans This saves 3 bytes.
Back to top
TI-newb


Member


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 158

Posted: 19 May 2009 07:18:02 pm    Post subject:

Geekboy1011, i will give you an example of where you made a Goto-Lbl Memory loss.

:If Ans=45
:Then
:real(10,2,0)
:ClrHome:Output(1,1," "):Stop
:Else
:If Ans=21:Goto SE // Right here<<<< in ur If Then Else Statement. your Goto SE skipped End.
:real(3,2,0
:End
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 19 May 2009 09:05:06 pm    Post subject:

Thanks Ti newb that makes compleat sense and now that i think about it can see why that was also just stupid coding

oh well it works now



to eeems ill try again so thanks and the description helps ill try to use that more often and save some of my precious memery

note; i have so much junk on my calc my max ram is like 20000 not the standard 23000+ so i see how that can be really useful
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 20 May 2009 10:06:54 am    Post subject:

hmm, maybe you should get rid of the stuff you don't need, and archive the stuff you aren't using...
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 20 May 2009 05:23:26 pm    Post subject:

alright i am still looking for ideas on the battle engine and should have most of the menus up by the end of next week
(i am still in school and it is very close to finals time)



i know it is easier to do them now but those small optimization i would like if you could tell me about them and when we are done optimize the code.


to eeems i am probally going to clear every thing and just reload most of what is on it it is just to much to go thru and not mess up what i want on there (not i have over 250 file on mine not including tios files Smile )
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 20 May 2009 06:37:31 pm    Post subject:

tios files aren't ever included in any measurement...
I'll try to give you some help with the optimizing when you need it. by the way how did you get the greyscale opening screen? did you make it yourself or use a program?
EDIT: I was taking a quick look at the sprite sheets and it looks like you have some really good ones but your people need work...maybe you could go for a larger sprite size? it would make it easier to work with


Last edited by Guest on 20 May 2009 06:41:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
geekboy1011


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 99

Posted: 20 May 2009 10:41:58 pm    Post subject:

the start screen is just 3 pics fastly rotated using the code
i made it my self just went with the idea that popped into my head when i was bored and is hard coded aka(look at code)


while ans=0 (yes again)
real(3,.....
real(3,.....
real(3,.....
getkey
end

obviously this can be done with any other pic set so if you have better title screen i will gladely convert it and try it


the .... being the pic #


the pics are pic 3,4,5,6 it is 3 of those 4 cant remember (check post time "it be late)

by tios file i meant graph data (coord data) etc



i want to keep the sprites as small as possible so the screen looks less clustered can someone get me 2 good images of still flames on the calc a bit smaller than 1/3rd the size of the screen vertically i cant find them and can definetily not draw them (for main menu flames on side choices in the middle Smile if it works it looks cool idk i hope it will work i plan on using close to the same method for a home screen menu i made with randomly drawn math symbols on the sides

idea for title screen tell what you think


moving backround in a diagonal pattern like for those who have played bowling (hosted on unitedti )can see in the splash screen
just tell what you think please Smile Smile Smile Wink Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 12 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement