CEMETECH
Leading The Way To The Future
Login [Register]
Username:
Password:
Autologin:

Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
Latest Headlines
Online Users
There are 164 users online: 2 members, 140 guests and 22 bots.
Members: david1394, tr1p1ea.
Bots: MSN/Bing (1), VoilaBot (2), Spinn3r (1), Baidu (2), Magpie Crawler (3), Yahoo! Slurp (1), Googlebot (12).
RSS & Social Media
SAX
You must log in to view the SAX chat widget
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic Brain Teasers => TI-BASIC
Author Message
Ed H


Member


Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

Posted: 14 Oct 2008 09:32:28 pm    Post subject:

Write a program that takes a list in Ans and returns a list to Ans that contains one of every element from the original list. The program could turn {1,1,7,3,7,2,1} into {1,7,3,2} or {1,2,3,7} - order does not need to be preserved. Basically, the program removes the duplicates from Ans.

I've got it in 48 bytes.


Last edited by Guest on 14 Oct 2008 10:03:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
darkstone knight


Advanced Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 438

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 04:38:42 am    Post subject:

Spoiler wrote:
sortAD(L1
L1*not(not(seq(L1(dim(L1)-x),x,1,dim(L1  (whitout the mujltiplication sing)
sortAD(ans   (possible??)


25 bytes... but there are stil zeroes at the end


Last edited by Guest on 15 Oct 2008 06:51:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 06:50:10 am    Post subject:

No, that's not possible. Why submit it, asking if it will work, and not just test it yourself to make sure? It doesn't even take into account that the input needs to be in Ans. Also, I put your code into a [quote] box to hide it better, as white-on-gray is still clearly visible on my screen.

Oh yeah, and I have my program in 48 bytes.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:31:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
simplethinker
snjwffl


Active Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 700

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 10:46:28 am    Post subject:

Quote:
:Ans→A:{Ans(1
:For(A,1,dim(∟A
[s]:If not(max(Ans=∟A(A[/s]  :If min(Ans≠∟A(A
:augment(Ans,{∟A(A
:End:Ans

49 bytes...
[edit]I figured out how to cut that last byte out


Last edited by Guest on 15 Oct 2008 01:47:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
bfr


Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 108

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 04:32:08 pm    Post subject:

Break all the standards of TI-BASIC coding!

Quote:

:If min(Ans≠max(Ans
:Then
:augment(L2,L1
:L1*(L1≠max(L1
:prgmA
:Else
:L2

(assuming the program is called prgmA)

If only the augment(L2,L1 part worked...still an interesting concept though


It's 43 bytes, anyway, I think

EDIT:

simplethinker: I don't think that "Ans" at the end is needed in your code


Last edited by Guest on 15 Oct 2008 04:59:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
simplethinker
snjwffl


Active Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 700

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 07:50:37 pm    Post subject:

bfr wrote:
simplethinker: I don't think that "Ans" at the end is needed in your code
[post="127887"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It is. The only time you don't need to add it to the end of the program is when the calculation yielding Ans is the last line of the program, but there's an End there because of the loop.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:31:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Ed H


Member


Joined: 30 Nov 2007
Posts: 138

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 12:53:44 am    Post subject:

simplethinker wrote:
bfr wrote:
simplethinker: I don't think that "Ans" at the end is needed in your code
[post="127887"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It is. The only time you don't need to add it to the end of the program is when the calculation yielding Ans is the last line of the program, but there's an End there because of the loop.
[post="127906"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

You're right -- but the challenge criteria do not require you to display the answer; only return it to Ans.

I actually had 46 bytes. I forgot to subtract off 2 bytes for the title in the opening post.
Quote:
:Ans→A
:{Ans(1
:For(X,2,dim(∟A
:If min(Ans≠∟A(X
:augment(Ans,{∟A(X
:End
was my solution.

Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:32:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 08:47:50 am    Post subject:

Bonus question: how do you add 2 bytes to that code to make it at least twice as fast?
Back to top
ticalcnoah


Member


Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 153

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 09:33:00 am    Post subject:

Close up the for loop.
Back to top
JoostinOnline


Active Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 559

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 09:36:38 am    Post subject:

ticalcnoah wrote:
Close up the for loop.
[post="127924"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It is closed...
Back to top
Galandros


Active Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 565

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 11:59:32 am    Post subject:

JoostinOnline wrote:
ticalcnoah wrote:
Close up the for loop.
[post="127924"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It is closed...
[post="127925"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Did you saw the same code as us? (the last of Ed H)

I am not certain but is a good guess. I am not certain because I don't remember the details if the For unclosed affects If/Then/End and :If:command or just one of them.
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 10:39:40 pm    Post subject:

The For loop is closed and If with out the Then Does not require a End.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 11:31:46 pm    Post subject:

By "close" he means to add the right parenthesis to the end of the For( loop, and he's right.
Go to For( at TI|BD and search the article for "one rather strange optimization" to learn why.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:32:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JoostinOnline


Active Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 559

Posted: 17 Oct 2008 01:58:26 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
By "close" he means to add the right parenthesis to the end of the For( loop, and he's right.
Go to For( at TI|BD and search the article for "one rather strange optimization" to learn why.
[post="127956"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Haha, I had completely forgotten about that.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:33:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Galandros


Active Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 565

Posted: 17 Oct 2008 02:25:19 pm    Post subject:

JoostinOnline wrote:
Weregoose wrote:
By "close" he means to add the right parenthesis to the end of the For( loop, and he's right.
Go to For( at TI|BD and search the article for "one rather strange optimization" to learn why.
[post="127956"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Haha, I had completely forgotten about that.
[post="127978"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It looked so obvious to me that was the parentheses that I forgot that you would think in the End.
Also, without the End I don't think the code would function. (only if the end of the program mysteriously "closes" the For( like an End ??? No, I don't think Neutral )

Hopefully Weregoose watches all. Neutral

And yes, by seeing the TI|BD page the If without Then and End and when is false will slow down.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:33:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Galandros


Active Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 565

Posted: 17 Oct 2008 04:13:36 pm    Post subject:

bfr wrote:
Break all the standards of TI-BASIC coding!

Quote:

If only the augment(L2,L1 part worked...still an interesting concept though



I think it is called recursion. And it is used to by using 1 BASIC program to use routines to make sprites or such.

But for math or other uses I never found that original use, at least in TI-BASIC. Very Happy
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 17 Oct 2008 05:14:48 pm    Post subject:

JoostinOnline wrote:
Weregoose wrote:
By "close" he means to add the right parenthesis to the end of the For( loop, and he's right.
Go to For( at TI|BD and search the article for "one rather strange optimization" to learn why.
[post="127956"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Haha, I had completely forgotten about that.
[post="127978"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Yeah I had too, another weird thing about that optimization is the leaving the parenthesis off only causes a slow down if the If comes right after the For( statement. If you were to add either a step argument to the for loop or a blank line after the For( command it is just as fast as if you had the closing parenthesis. So actually you can double the speed by adding a blank line before the If statement which is one byte rather than the two needed to close the for loop.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:33:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JoostinOnline


Active Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 559

Posted: 18 Oct 2008 05:26:50 pm    Post subject:

Galandros wrote:
JoostinOnline wrote:
Weregoose wrote:
By "close" he means to add the right parenthesis to the end of the For( loop, and he's right.
Go to For( at TI|BD and search the article for "one rather strange optimization" to learn why.
[post="127956"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Haha, I had completely forgotten about that.
[post="127978"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

It looked so obvious to me that was the parentheses that I forgot that you would think in the End.
Also, without the End I don't think the code would function. (only if the end of the program mysteriously "closes" the For( like an End ??? No, I don't think Neutral )

Hopefully Weregoose watches all. Neutral

And yes, by seeing the TI|BD page the If without Then and End and when is false will slow down.
[post="127979"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

I am really sorry, but what??? I don't really understand what you are trying to say. Nobody said we should remove End from the code.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 12:31:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Baruch


Newbie


Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

Posted: 25 Dec 2008 03:39:34 am    Post subject:

Hello !

I've done this in 42 bytes :

Quote:
Ans->L1
{0
For(A,1,dim(L1
If min(Ans=!L1(A
augment(Ans,{L1(A
End
cumSum(DList(Ans


Last edited by Guest on 25 Dec 2008 03:40:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 25 Dec 2008 05:39:18 pm    Post subject:

Hi! The way we're counting bytes—the number of letters in the program name is subtracted from the RAM occupied by the program—your code comes in at 55 bytes. (I think you could save another byte by storing to a user-defined list.)

Welcome to United-TI! :biggrin:
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

© Copyright 2000-2014 Cemetech & Kerm Martian :: Page Execution Time: 0.039229 seconds.