Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Community News & Discuss Nspire => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 21 Oct 2010 11:53:40 pm    Post subject:

Here is Ndless version 1.4 - found out the Ndless1.7 installer worked on OS1.4

This should cover findings by critor about the Touchpad issues with OS1.6 and OS1.7
Touchpad users should be able to use this version - I hope Wink

Having an similar version of Ndless can help understand problems with Ndless1.7 ,
assuming this version behaves differently.

Here is an updated version of the emulator for OS 1.4 for transfering files (usblink.c update only)
[attachment=3295:nspire_emu_32B.zip]
Ndless1.4 source:
[attachment=3296:Ndless1.4-source.zip]
Ndless beta binaries(just click ndless_ins_beta2.tns to install):
[attachment=3297:Ndless1.4-beta2.zip]

Notes:
1) Not tested on hardware.
2) Emulator tests:
---CAS) 5 installs - all successful, ran 3 programs - hello.tns, particles.tns, NES game without incident.
NONCAS) 5 installs - 1 failure, however once installed ran 3 programs - hello.tns, particles.tns, NES game without incident.

EDIT: You might have rename "ndless_res_beta2.tns" to "ndless_resources.tns" to get it working
in the binary distribution.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Oct 2010 03:12:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
codeslicer


Newbie


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

Posted: 22 Oct 2010 10:01:43 pm    Post subject:

Just tested this on my TI-Nspire CAS Touchpad. I installed OS 1.4 using Nleash and then installed Ndless - based on the particle demo it seemed to work!

Unfortunately, Ndless is not very usable on the Touchpad. The touchpad and arrows don't work, but also all the other keys are scrambled. Still, Ndless did manage to work!
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 23 Oct 2010 05:45:40 pm    Post subject:

For the time being , looking for stability issues with the regular Clickpad will do.
The Touchpad will probably require a software hook, to remap the Touchpad keys to Clickpad keys - but thats later.
Back to top
qazz42


Newbie


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 2

Posted: 23 Oct 2010 06:17:19 pm    Post subject:

so, this will work on only 1.4 or will it work on 1.7?
Back to top
Levak


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Posted: 23 Oct 2010 06:46:37 pm    Post subject:

qazz42 wrote:

so, this will work on only 1.4 or will it work on 1.7?

The adresses are completly different I guess.
So, no, it won't work on any other different OS of 1.4
Back to top
qazz42


Newbie


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 2

Posted: 23 Oct 2010 06:52:14 pm    Post subject:

O_o strange, it seems that 1.4 does not exsist...

it skips from 1.3 to 1.6

I think I am missing something
Back to top
Levak


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Posted: 23 Oct 2010 07:16:58 pm    Post subject:

qazz42 wrote:

O_o strange, it seems that 1.4 does not exsist...

it skips from 1.3 to 1.6

I think I am missing something


It exists here

Code:
http://nspireos.megabyet.net/
Back to top
apcalc


Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 22

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 02:26:47 pm    Post subject:

Hmm... That website will not send me OS 1.4. It just shows a blank page and I don't get any mail.

Could it be my browser (google chrome) or my e-mail provider (AOL)?
Back to top
Levak


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 02:32:43 pm    Post subject:

apcalc wrote:

Hmm... That website will not send me OS 1.4. It just shows a blank page and I don't get any mail.

Could it be my browser (google chrome) or my e-mail provider (AOL)?


Arf, the site seems have a problem.
Well, PM me your email adress I'll give it you.
Back to top
Levak


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 11 Nov 2009
Posts: 94

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 04:16:32 pm    Post subject:

So, here are my tests on HardWare Nspire Clickpad CAS with Ndless 1.4:

- 2 installs not connected : fail
- 2 installs connected to normal speed USB-port : fail
- 2 installs connected to High-speed USB-port : correct

Now, a problem : I can't manage to load asm progs, neither sample, nor mine.
I have the teta bug, clue to say that Ndless has been installed.

EDIT : sorry, I missed the line
Quote:
EDIT: You might have rename "ndless_res_beta2.tns" to "ndless_resources.tns" to get it working
in the binary distribution.

So, It Works identically to Ndless 1.7 with same bugs.


Last edited by Guest on 24 Oct 2010 04:29:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 04:39:15 pm    Post subject:

Levak wrote:

So, It Works identically to Ndless 1.7 with same bugs.



There's a little difference:
- you cannot boot OS 1.6/1.7 on a TI-Nspire CAS TouchPad with any of the 4 available keypads (although strangely, you can boot OS 1.6/1.7 on a basic TI-Nspire TouchPad with a clickpad keypad).
- you can boot OS 1.1/1.2/1.3/1.4 on a TI-Nspire CAS TouchPad


It might be interesting to try to install Ndless on the 1.3 OS (which supports programming), and check if the bugs are still present.
The 1.2 OS would be useless, as it has no support for programs.
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 11:05:23 pm    Post subject:

It looks like it will install on OS1.3, but there are no guarentees what can happen, after I fix
all those addresses and run it. Neutral
I found out it would not install on OS1.1, not sure about OS1.2
If you can hang the emulator with a grey strip across the top of the screen(which is the active install code)
then you have a chance.

I think even if Ndless1.7 were stable on both Clickpad/Touchpad, you
would still have to put a hook in to remap Touchpad keys to Clickpad keys for the OS alone. I doubt any OS written before OS2.0 recognizes the Touchpad, thats why codeslicer found the keys scrambled.
Touchpad users will have to swap in a $10 clickpad for now.


Last edited by Guest on 25 Oct 2010 11:32:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
codeslicer


Newbie


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

Posted: 25 Oct 2010 03:10:07 pm    Post subject:

^ Unfortunately, Touchpad CAS users are still ndlessless. Sad
Back to top
apcalc


Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 22

Posted: 25 Oct 2010 04:20:06 pm    Post subject:

Well, if you put the clickpad keypad in at just the right angle, it actually will work as a (probably quite annoying) workaround. The only workaround to this would be Ndless on OS 2.0, though. Hopefull, in the future, OS 2.0 will be hacked! Smile
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 25 Oct 2010 08:17:04 pm    Post subject:

codeslicer wrote:

^ Unfortunately, Touchpad CAS users are still ndlessless. Sad


You can install OS 1.1 and use Ndless.
It works.


apcalc wrote:

Well, if you put the clickpad keypad in at just the right angle, it actually will work as a (probably quite annoying) workaround.


About that trick.
It only works with OSes 1.1 to 1.4 (1.6 & 1.7 are unbootable).

* You first have to boot your TI-Nspire CAS TouchPad with the original touchpad keypad (with a clickpad keypad, it just reboots when the progress bar reaches 100%).

* Then, remove the touchpad keypad (the calculator won't turn off, as the OS doesn't check for the keypad being removed)

* Then, insert the clickpad keypad like apcalc has said.


A less annoying workaround would certainly be to mod the keypad case...
Someone wants to try?


Last edited by Guest on 25 Oct 2010 08:18:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 25 Oct 2010 11:35:57 pm    Post subject:

critor wrote:

You can install OS 1.1 and use Ndless.
It works.

You may have to update common.h in the Ndless 1.1 distro if you are going to write or port programs that use
the Touchpad - the easiest way to update it is look at the emulator code - gui.c , where the keypad mapping
differences become obvious. Then edit common.h .
As an example: to quit an NES game you have to press "m" on a Touchpad, "q" on a Clickpad - editting
common.h would properly map the keys to what you really wanted.


Last edited by Guest on 25 Oct 2010 11:47:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
codeslicer


Newbie


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

Posted: 26 Oct 2010 05:49:52 am    Post subject:

However, the calculator itself is still unusable unless keys can be remapped for the entire OS. Ndless does work, but without functional arrow keys it's nearly impossible to open documents, much less work with them. (That's just my experience)

Of course, the fact that Ndless works is still awesome!
Back to top
jhgenius01


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2010
Posts: 48

Posted: 26 Oct 2010 08:29:04 am    Post subject:

Levak wrote:



It exists here

Code:
http://nspireos.megabyet.net/


hmm... last time i posted that website i got it replaced with <other places> and a warn status that filled about a 1/4 of my bar (from WereGoose) ... (but then i had originally got it from this forum in another topic)... is this justice?

also, this is good, at least i won't have the 1.1 power management bug anymore!


Last edited by Guest on 26 Oct 2010 08:30:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 30 Oct 2010 11:58:35 am    Post subject:

critor wrote:

A less annoying workaround would certainly be to mod the keypad case...
Someone wants to try?

Another hardware modification could be to make a 30-pin ribbon cable between the calculator and the Touchpad.
The middle of the cable would have a junction box where jumper wires do the actual remapping of the keys.
You would at first wire the jumpers straight through and do signal testing.
This scheme could work for original Clickpad users on NONCAS calculators, who want a Touchpad, without
buying a new calculator.
Someone wants to try?


Last edited by Guest on 30 Oct 2010 12:00:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 30 Oct 2010 07:09:57 pm    Post subject:

bsl wrote:

This scheme could work for original Clickpad users on NONCAS calculators, who want a Touchpad, without
buying a new calculator.

So buy a touchpad and not a whole new calculator? I don't see how the touchpad can be simulated using a clickpad.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement