This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
Author Message
EnderWiggin


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 98

Posted: 10 Dec 2003 10:00:44 pm    Post subject:

OK..
this is my first time using this forum (I've used Pink Monkey though) but here goes.

I am having problems starting to program in asm. I am a student and have been programming on Basic for the past year and a half, so i know most of my way around. But, I heard about Assembly and thought well if it's that faster and is SOO much better why not give it a shot?
I downloaded the compiler from cirrus programming and got it running (clr home was changed to a .8xp file and loaded it to my TI-83 plus silver. When it was on graph link the program was incredibly short, only like 2 words but I figured that was how assembly was. When i try to run it on my calc, it has a syntax error and will not clear the darn screen.
Can any one help me and give me some reasons why it possibly won't work

Thanks a lot!



(pretty hot name though huh?)
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 10 Dec 2003 10:07:22 pm    Post subject:

Asm(prgmNAME

Basically, press 2nd Catelog (it will be teh 0 key after pressing second)

Press the down arrow until you get to Asm(

Press enter

Press the prgm key

arrow down

enter

Now you have

Asm(prgmNAME

Press enter again
Back to top
EnderWiggin


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 98

Posted: 11 Dec 2003 02:47:20 pm    Post subject:

ok

i did exactly what you told me to. BUT it now gives me an INVALID error

Sad what did I do wrong?! Sad
Back to top
Tyler


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 352

Posted: 11 Dec 2003 03:11:53 pm    Post subject:

Sounds like you're missing a correct header. In your source file make sure you have the like .db $bb, $6d. This denotes TIOS that it is in fact an assembly program!

I'll just type out the source since it's so short


Code:
#INCLUDE "TI83PLUS.INC"

.ORG USERMEM-2;Defines where prog loads itself in the memory
[B].DB $BB,$6D [/B];This is the line I said to insert, tells the calc it's assembly

 BCALL(_CLRLCDFULL);Clears the screen
 BCALL(_GETKEYS);Waits for a keypress

 RET;Exits program

.END;denotes end of file


Last edited by Guest on 11 Dec 2003 03:12:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
EnderWiggin


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 10 Dec 2003
Posts: 98

Posted: 11 Dec 2003 04:03:46 pm    Post subject:

Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad Mad


Still cant do it !@$@#%!@$

any recomendations for a good asm beginners guide so i could just start over
Back to top
Matt


Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 169

Posted: 11 Dec 2003 04:18:50 pm    Post subject:

yeah CoBBs: http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/filei.../208/20890.html
Back to top
sic


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 62

Posted: 11 Dec 2003 06:44:42 pm    Post subject:

I wouldn't use CoBB's until you have a good grasp on the basic basics.. like succesfully assembling and running an assembly program Laughing try this guide:
Learn TI-83 Plus Assembly In 28 Days v1.1
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 13 Dec 2003 03:06:19 pm    Post subject:

i have an uploaded version of the Asm in 28 days: Click Me
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 14 Dec 2003 02:30:24 am    Post subject:


Code:
#include "ti83plus.inc"

.org $9d93
.db $BB,$6D
 ret
.end


That will work okay. Makes sure there is a space before the ret.

Now, compile and send.

If it works, all you will see is Done.

If it doesn't, you may see Err: Syntax, Err: Invalid, or very unlikely a ram reset.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement