This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Computer Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 12 Feb 2010 02:30:30 pm    Post subject:

Okay im using rom8x in order to obtain a rom so that i can use a virual calc. problem is i have no idea how to pack roms or for that matter know the importants of packing a rom. I read the readme but i still dont know what im doing. the only thing i did do was put the program on my calc run it and sented back the Appvar and did it for both programs. Beyond that i have no idea what im doing.

Here the link to rom8x:
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/373/37341.html
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 12 Feb 2010 05:51:05 pm    Post subject:

Alright: Here's what you need to do (I'm assuming you're on a Windows XP, only because that's what I have. Also, I'm assuming you have an 84+se.) :

1: Start -> Run -> type "cmd"
2: Navigate to the folder you want. To do this, open that folder and read what it says at the top. (Like C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\My Documents\Calc\rom8x mabey) Then type cd and the name of the folders you want to go to.
For example is cmd starts at "C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\" then you'd type cd My Documents\Calc\rom8x
3: Type rom8x 84PSE -u TI84Plus_OS230.8xu and press enter. It should work. :)

Good luck!


Last edited by Guest on 12 Feb 2010 05:51:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calcdude84se


Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 207

Posted: 12 Feb 2010 06:25:09 pm    Post subject:

I'll elaborate a little:

  1. Make sure that the program rom8x, your appVars, and the OS File that contains the OS you want in the ROM are in the same directory
  2. Obtain a command prompt as detailed above
  3. Use "cd" to get to the correct directory, also as above
  4. Run this: "rom8x model -u OSFile", where model is 83PBE for 83+, 83PSE for 83+SE, 84PBE for 84+, and 84PSE for 84+SE. OSFile is the name of the file containing the OS mentioned in step 1
  5. You should now have a ROM file in the same folder. Good luck!
Back to top
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 12 Feb 2010 09:53:48 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Obtain a command prompt as detailed above


You see i dont even know what that means

Also im using Windows Vista

Also every time i click on the application it dont work


Last edited by Guest on 12 Feb 2010 09:58:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 12 Feb 2010 10:06:58 pm    Post subject:

Okay im a little confused. Do i open a notepad to type this in or do i write this in the rom8x program, because as stated above that wont open
Back to top
fullmetalcoder


Member


Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 139

Posted: 13 Feb 2010 05:39:56 am    Post subject:

Search for cmd.exe in Windows menu to get a command prompt.
Back to top
calcdude84se


Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 207

Posted: 13 Feb 2010 11:08:05 am    Post subject:

Also, if holding down the windows button and pressing R gives you a window that says "Run" (I don't use Vista), just type "cmd" (without the quotes) in that window and press enter to get a command prompt
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 13 Feb 2010 03:39:15 pm    Post subject:

Copy this very simple code into a TXT file and change the file extention to .BAT. Then put it and the dump in the same folder as Rom8x.exe and run the BAT. It should work:
Code:
ECHO OFF
CLS
IF NOT EXIST rom8x.exe (
ECHO rom8x.exe not found!
PAUSE
GOTO EOF)
ECHO What calculator model do you have?
ECHO 1 - TI-83+
ECHO 2 - TI-83+ Silver Edition
ECHO 3 - TI-84+
ECHO 4 - TI-84+ Silver Edition
SET /P M=Type 1, 2, 3, or 4:
ECHO %M%
IF %M%==1 (
SET M=83PBE
SET R=83Plus.rom)
IF %M%==2 (
SET M=83PSE
SET R=83PlusSilver.rom)
IF %M%==3 (
SET M=84PBE
SET R=84Plus.rom
)
IF %M%==4 (
SET M=84PSE
SET R=84PlusSilver.rom
)

ECHO Executing rom8x %M% -1 %R%...
rom8x %M% -1 %R%
PAUSE
:EOF
Back to top
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 16 Feb 2010 08:40:24 am    Post subject:

Quote:
Copy this very simple code into a TXT file and change the file extention to .BAT. Then put it and the dump in the same folder as Rom8x.exe and run the BAT. It should work:

Code:
ECHO OFF
CLS
IF NOT EXIST rom8x.exe (
ECHO rom8x.exe not found!
PAUSE
GOTO EOF)
ECHO What calculator model do you have?
ECHO 1 - TI-83+
ECHO 2 - TI-83+ Silver Edition
ECHO 3 - TI-84+
ECHO 4 - TI-84+ Silver Edition
SET /P M=Type 1, 2, 3, or 4:
ECHO %M%
IF %M%==1 (
SET M=83PBE
SET R=83Plus.rom)
IF %M%==2 (
SET M=83PSE
SET R=83PlusSilver.rom)
IF %M%==3 (
SET M=84PBE
SET R=84Plus.rom
)
IF %M%==4 (
SET M=84PSE
SET R=84PlusSilver.rom
)

ECHO Executing rom8x %M% -1 %R%...
rom8x %M% -1 %R%
PAUSE
:EOF


That got the program working but when i type in 3 (Because i have an 84+) it says "84Plus.rom: No such file in directory"
Back to top
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 16 Feb 2010 10:35:12 pm    Post subject:

well this is exactly what my computer says


and here's how my folder looks



hope it helps
Back to top
JoeYoung


Advanced Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 316

Posted: 16 Feb 2010 11:25:07 pm    Post subject:

i want to cry
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 17 Feb 2010 12:32:20 am    Post subject:

Try moving the ROM into the same folder as the rest of it.
Back to top
JoeYoung


Advanced Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 316

Posted: 17 Feb 2010 01:12:20 am    Post subject:

i think there is a problem with the batch.

for some reason it's asking for the rom. it should be asking for the first part of the dump.
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 17 Feb 2010 09:42:35 am    Post subject:

I think he already has the rom from the dump in the folder 84Plus.
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 18 Feb 2010 08:29:54 am    Post subject:

Wow, do I need to read the documentation more carefully. Sorry about that. This code should work, but keep in mind that I don't have a dump to test it with right now.
Code:
ECHO OFF
CLS
IF NOT EXIST rom8x.exe (
ECHO rom8x.exe not found!
PAUSE
GOTO EOF)
ECHO What calculator model do you have?
ECHO 1 - TI-83+
ECHO 2 - TI-83+ Silver Edition
ECHO 3 - TI-84+
ECHO 4 - TI-84+ Silver Edition
SET /P M=Type 1, 2, 3, or 4:
IF %M%==1
SET M=83PBE
IF %M%==2
SET M=83PSE
IF %M%==3
SET M=84PBE
IF %M%==4
SET M=84PSE
ECHO What is the name of your OS file?
SET /P D=Name:
ECHO Executing rom8x %M% -u %D%...
rom8x %M% -u %D%
PAUSE
:EOF
Back to top
tiuser1010


Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Posted: 19 Feb 2010 04:18:26 pm    Post subject:

Got it to work thanks
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement