This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
justme2.0

Posted: 13 Oct 2009 12:38:59 am    Post subject:

I am relatively new to programming. I am using a Ti-84+ silver. I am looking for a way to manipulate a user inputted equation. Take for instance the equation (5x+1Cool. I would like to be able to have the user input the equation (or any equation) and then multiply/distribute through by a number; say 5. So, 5(5x+1Cool=(25x+90). I would then like to display the final equation (25x+90) on the screen.

I have tried to input the equation as a string and as a "y=" equation. Then i have tried to multiply the equation by a number. The calculator returns a number rather than an expression containing x. I must be evaluating x as some value. I would like to find a way to display the result as an equation.

Any Ideas? Thanks.

Last edited by Guest on 13 Oct 2009 12:39:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 13 Oct 2009 03:27:04 am    Post subject:

Welcome to United-TI :)

One easy way is to have the user input an expression for Y1 and then run a regression on it for the expanded form.

Another modest approach:

ClrHome
Disp "A(Bx+C)","
Prompt A,B,C
ClrHome
Disp "Dx+E","
Disp "D=","E=
Output(3,3,AB
Output(4,3,AC