This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
qxzwasd

Posted: 06 May 2009 05:04:41 pm    Post subject:

Hi everyone. I'm new to assembly programming, and this is a small program I wrote. It's just moving a "*" around the screen using the arrow keys. Here's the code:

Code:
.NOLIST
#INCLUDE "ti83plus.inc"
.LIST

.ORG   $9D93
.DB   $BB, $6D

Draw:
   b_call(_ClrScrnFull)
   LD      A, (XPos)
   LD      (CurCol), A
   LD      A, (YPos)
   LD      (CurRow), A
   LD      A, '*'
   b_call(_PutC)
KeyLoop:
   b_call(_GetKey)
   CP      kClear
   JR      Z, Exit
   CP      kLeft
   JR      Z, KeyLeft
   CP      kRight
   JR      Z, KeyRight
   CP      kUp
   JR      Z, KeyUp
   CP      kDown
   JR      Z, KeyDown
   JR      KeyLoop
KeyLeft:
   LD      A, (XPos)
   DEC   A
   LD      (XPos), A
   JR      Draw
KeyRight:
   LD      A, (XPos)
   INC   A
   LD      (XPos), A
   JR      Draw
KeyUp:
   LD      A, (YPos)
   DEC   A
   LD      (YPos), A
   JR      Draw
KeyDown:
   LD      A, (YPos)
   INC   A
   LD      (YPos), A
   JR      Draw
Exit:   
   RET
XPos:
   .DB 4
YPos:
   .DB 8
.END

When I run it I can move it left and right, but not up and down, and when I press clear symbols start scrolling on the screen. I can press 2nd-quit to get to the homescreen, but then it says that I have no free RAM. Could somebody just look at it and see if you see any obvious mistakes? Thanks.