Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 24 Nov 2003 07:22:05 am    Post subject:

Clickity: http://www.unitedti.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=333

EDIT: What's 'the' highlight effect?


Last edited by Guest on 24 Nov 2003 07:23:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 24 Nov 2003 12:08:31 pm    Post subject:

I think he means the kind of games that have a menu of a few items, and the selected item is inverted pixels (black backround, white lettering). I think the only way you could do this would be a pxl-change( and a few For loops, but there's probably a faster way. Is there anything like Text(-1,X,Y except instead of large lettering it's "highlighted"?
-Jedd
PS Arcane i like the new avatar, but what is it?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 24 Nov 2003 04:19:26 pm    Post subject:

I do not think that is possible in basic without doing
Code:
:Text(-1,8,8,"Text"):For(R,8,15):For(C,8,44):Pxl-Change(R,C):End:End
. The hex code for inverted letters on the home screen, that you could type into a program whose 1st line is AsmPrgm, is FDCB05DEC9 (don't ask me what that means... I just asked someone in my math class)
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 25 Nov 2003 08:40:49 am    Post subject:

Jedd wrote:
Is there anything like Text(-1,X,Y except instead of large lettering it's "highlighted"?

No, Pxl-Change in a loop is the only way in TiBasic. Yes, you could use Pt-Change or Pxl-Test, but it ends up doing the same but slower.

Quote:
PS Arcane i like the new avatar, but what is it?
Thanks, it's a wizard handpuppet, found the pic by accident and thought it looked pretty funny.

Quote:
The hex code for inverted letters on the home screen, that you could type into a program whose 1st line is AsmPrgm, is FDCB05DEC9 (don't ask me what that means... I just asked someone in my math class)
The C9 means ret and tell the calc to return to the os or whatever called the program, that's all I know. Do you know if this inverted text flag stays set until it is unset by another program (hence if you turn the calc off/on and use text( again, it's still inverted)?
Back to top
Spyderbyte


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 372

Posted: 25 Nov 2003 05:35:30 pm    Post subject:

No, I've experimented with that during one of my attempts at asm, and using a calc menu resets it, and I believe turning off does too. Don't quote me on that last part.

Spyderbyte
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 02 Dec 2003 05:41:17 pm    Post subject:

Only way is Menu(, for example Menu("ERR:ILLEGAL NEST","Quit",1,"Goto",2)
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 02 Dec 2003 06:02:14 pm    Post subject:

this asm program will invert the inverse text flag every time you call it:

Code:
AsmPrgm
FDCB055E2805FDCB059EC9FDCB05DEC9


BE CAREFUL! if i made a mistake, you calc's ram will go byebye. archive really imprortant things then test it to make sure it works. if inverse text is off, it will turn it on. if it is on, it will turn it off. want one for the run indicator too?

heck, this will just turn the runindicator off (is there any reason to turn it on again?)

Code:
AsmPrgm
FDCB1286C9


remember, these are run like Asm(prgmNAME
the Asm( token is in the catalog
to make them half the size, use AsmComp(prgmNAME,prgmNAME2
AsmComp( is also in the catalog


Last edited by Guest on 02 Dec 2003 06:09:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 03 Dec 2003 12:08:56 pm    Post subject:

Darth Android wrote:
(is there any reason to turn it on again?)

Sometimes it's nice to know your calc is actually doing something.

Newbie wrote:
Where would I put this?
Create a new program, let's say we call it INV,
Type what Darth said into it, go to the program where you'd want to use the inverted text,
Go to the place in your code where you want it to invert the text,
Type Asm(prgmINV (replace INV with whatever you named that first program I mentioned),
Done. (Keep in mind anything going wrong with assembly can couse your calc to crash, resetting your (unarchived) memory)

Quote:
and can you have this in with basic?
No, basic can not do this.

Last edited by Guest on 03 Dec 2003 12:10:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 04 Dec 2003 10:09:33 pm    Post subject:

i tested it, so it will only crash if i typed it into the post wrong.

i claim no responcibilty to the damages the program might cause. you are using it under your own free will


Last edited by Guest on 04 Dec 2003 10:10:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 04 Dec 2003 11:44:43 pm    Post subject:

Simple

You save it in a program.

Then
Asm(prgmNAME
text(A,B,"Text Here
Asm(prgmNAME

you see.
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 04 Dec 2003 11:54:12 pm    Post subject:

and you cant put anything else in the program you save it as. just the AsmPrgm token and the hex following it.
Back to top
omni


Member


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 115

Posted: 10 Dec 2003 06:35:38 pm    Post subject:

well the easiest way is to do something like:

if xcoordinate and ycoordinate ='whatever you want here' then
'do code'
end

and then you do some other conditionals. The reason it might not do anything is proably because there wasn't any code under the labels and they were just templates.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 14 Dec 2003 07:16:58 pm    Post subject:

That inverts the whole screen. And you have to put it in a separate program you run with Asm(prgmNAME.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 14 Dec 2003 07:30:53 pm    Post subject:

Did you type O instead of zero?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 14 Dec 2003 09:29:13 pm    Post subject:

code would look like this:

Code:
Output(4,1,"Merry Xmas
Asm(prgmNAME
Output(5,1,"Merry Xmas
Repeat getKey
Asm(prgmNAME
End

where prgmNAME inverts the entire screen
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Dec 2003 02:57:35 pm    Post subject:

Newbie wrote:
I did type zeros, but it did not work, and it's suppose to change the text at the top of menus from white to black.

It's supposed to turn the whole screen black, if you want only a part black you would have to write it all in asm.
Do you have an 83 or a +? It might have some of the addresses different if you use an 83.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Dec 2003 11:15:51 am    Post subject:

Our stupid schools advice us to get the normal Ti83 and the plus is nowhere to be found, so pretty much the entire Netherlands are stuck with that sucky calc.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 Dec 2003 03:50:38 pm    Post subject:

CodeX has an invert rectangle feature in the graph screen. You could maybe use that.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 Dec 2003 04:33:09 pm    Post subject:

Look at his profile.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 Dec 2003 04:37:42 pm    Post subject:

Aren't you getting offtopic? The discussion is about Graph Menus.

It's Castle Aaarghh...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 4 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement