This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
WhiteDwarf

Posted: 10 Nov 2003 02:55:07 pm    Post subject:

Hey i'm new to TI-calculators, and they're great....i'm in Algebra II and they save tons of time with systems of equations, not to mention their graphing helps alot, anywho I just got into the programming aspect of them, i have some experience in other languages but i'm an overall bad programmer and noob, so i'm trying to write a Pong program (like my 3rd day of programming in TI-BASIC) so right now i'm just writing the "paddle" for you that moves up and down the screen, and i am having a hard time with it, i used one method where it was a clrhome loop kinda deal to get rid of the waste pixels when moving the bar up and down....but it would blink! soooo fast, so i decided to try another method and here's my source code for the pong program...but it isn't working

Code:
ClrDraw
:0->Xmin
:94->Xmax
:0->Ymin
:62->Ymax
:35->A
:ClrHome
:AxesOff
:FnOff
:GridOff
:Lbl 1
:While 1
:getKey->G
:If G=25:Then
:A+7->A
:Goto 2
:End
:If G=34:Then
:A-7->A
:Goto 2
:If G=22:Then
:ClrHome
:Stop
:Lbl 2
:If A<1:Then
:1->A
:If A+15>60:Then
:45->A
:Line(3,A,3,A+15
:If G=25:Then
:For(X,a-7,a,1
: Pt-Off(3,X
:If G=34:Then
:For(X,a+7,a,-1
: pt-Off(3,X
:Goto 1

But like, i can make it work for just going up, by doing something like

Code:
:Line(3,A,3,A+15
:For(X,a-7,a,1
: Pt-Off(3,X

so i think it's something to do with my IF statements....

thanksalot, p.s. great board
NETWizz
Byte by bit

Bandwidth Hog