This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
PrincePwn


Newbie


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1

Posted: 28 Jan 2008 07:30:33 pm    Post subject:

Whenever we have a physics test, my teacher clears all of our memory, and I loose all the programs I had, which is annoying. Is there any fake mem cleared thing I can do? I don't have a USB cable for my calculator which is a TI83+, so I need the actual code if anyone has it. Thanks
Back to top
pugboy


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 544

Posted: 28 Jan 2008 08:29:53 pm    Post subject:

You need a cable. There is no other convincing way than you use assembly. I have an app (see sig), but it requires a cable.

You might as well get one, you will be glad you did.


Last edited by Guest on 28 Jan 2008 08:30:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 28 Jan 2008 09:46:00 pm    Post subject:

Find someone who has a cord and a calc (like an 84+SE) and ask them to download it or borrow it and do it for them. You can't just code the ASM or the APP right on the calc. Sorry.
Back to top
WikiGuru
ADOS (Attention deficit... Oh! Shiny!)


Elite


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 923

Posted: 29 Jan 2008 12:46:28 am    Post subject:

well, you could do an asm program on-calc (at great pain and many hours of trying to recover your calc from crashes, not to mention being extremely acquainted with hex and the calculator), but it will be worth your while to just get a cable, or borrow one.

Last edited by Guest on 29 Jan 2008 12:47:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 29 Jan 2008 06:52:15 am    Post subject:

You should ask Brandon Wilson. If anyone knows a short piece of assembly code that will keep the calculator from getting cleared, it's him. Smile
Back to top
brandonw


Advanced Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 455

Posted: 30 Jan 2008 12:02:34 am    Post subject:

magicdanw wrote:
You should ask Brandon Wilson.  If anyone knows a short piece of assembly code that will keep the calculator from getting cleared, it's him. Smile
[post="119651"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


That almost sounds like a challenge.

Here's some code that installs menu and key hooks to hide everything on the APPS, PRGM EXEC and EDIT, and Mem Mgmt/Del menus:


Code:
.nolist
#include "ti83plus.inc"
.list
.org userMem-2
        .db 0BBh,6Dh
        ld hl,myHook
        ld de,appBackUpScreen
        push de
        ld bc,myHookEnd-myHook
        ldir
        pop hl
        in a,(6)
        bcall(5083h)
        ld hl,keyHook-myHook+appBackUpScreen
        bcall(4F66h)
        ret
myHook:
        add a,e
        or a
        jr z,myHook0
        dec a
        jr z,myHook1
        dec a
        jr z,myHook2
        dec a
        jr z,myHook3
       ;A=4
        res 0,(iy+asm_Flag1)
        ld a,b
        cp 20h
        jr nz,xorAret
        ld a,(menuCurrent)
        cp 20h
        jr nz,xorAret
        set 0,(iy+asm_Flag1)
        inc a
        ret
myHook0:
       ;A=0
        bit 0,(iy+asm_Flag1)
        jr nz,myHook0_fakeMenu
        ld a,(menuCurrent)
        cp 03h;mProgramHome
        jr nz,myHook0_notPrgm
        ld hl,prgmMenuTable-myHook+appBackUpScreen
        or a
        ret
myHook0_notPrgm:
        ld a,(menuCurrent)
        cp 02h;mApps
        jr nz,xorAret
myHook0_fakeMenu:
        ld hl,appsMenuTable-myHook+appBackUpScreen
        or a
        ret
xorAret:
        xor a
        ret
myHook1:
       ;A=1
        bit 0,(iy+asm_Flag1)
        jr z,myHook1_notMem
        xor a
        ld (curCol),a
        inc a
        ret
myHook1_notMem:
        ld a,(menuCurrent)
        cp 02h
        jr z,myHook1_isApps
        cp 03h
        jr nz,xorAret
        ld a,(menuCurrent+1)
        cp 02h
        jr z,xorAret
        xor a
        ld (curCol),a
        inc a
        ret
myHook1_isApps:
        ld hl,sFinance-myHook+appBackUpScreen
        bcall(_PutS)
        or 1
        ret
sFinance:
        .db "Finance",0CEh,0
myHook2:
       ;A=2
        xor a
        ret
myHook3:
       ;A=3
        ld a,b
        cp 1Fh
        jr nz,xorAret
        inc a
        ret
appsMenuTable:
        .db 01h,1,1Eh,0,3Ch
prgmMenuTable:
        .db 03h,1,1,1,2Fh,2Ch,3Ah
        .db 0,0
        .db 0,0
        .db 0,47h
keyHook:
        add a,e
        ld b,a
        bit 0,(iy+asm_Flag1)
        jr nz,keyHookMemMenu
        ld a,(menuCurrent)
        cp 02h
        jr nz,keyHookEnd
        ld a,b
        ld c,a
        cp kEnter
        ld b,kFin
        jr z,keyHookEnd
        cp k1
        jr z,keyHookEnd
        ld b,c
keyHookEnd:
        ld a,b
        or a
        ret
keyHookMemMenu:
        cp kEnter
        jr z,keyHookCancel
        cp kUp
        jr z,keyHookCancel
        cp kDown
        jr z,keyHookCancel
        cp k1
        jp m,keyHookEnd-myHook+appBackUpScreen
        cp kCapZ
        jp p,keyHookEnd-myHook+appBackUpScreen
keyHookCancel:
        xor a
        ret
myHookEnd:
.end
end


Here's what you'd type on your calculator:

Code:
AsmPrgm
21AE9D117298D501CB00EDB0E1DB06EF8350210699EF664FC9
83B7281F3D283C3D286F3D286EFDCB218678FE20202B3ADE85
FE202024FDCB21C63CC9FDCB214620133ADE85FE03200521F9
98B7C93ADE85FE02200521F498B7C9AFC9FDCB21462806AF32
4C843CC93ADE85FE022811FE0320E73ADF85FE0228E0AF324C
843CC921E298EF0A45F601C946696E616E6365CE00AFC978FE
1F20C13CC901011E003C030101012F2C3A0000000000478347
FDCB214620173ADE85FE02200D784FFE05063C2805FE8F2801
4178B7C9FE052812FE03280EFE04280AFE8FFA2299FEB3F222
99AFC9


This is a pretty screwy use of the menu hook, and at one point in time I believed they changed how the menu hook worked somewhere down the line, but this works on an emulated 83+ (1.16) and real 84+SE (2.41), so maybe it'll work for you.

And it's just occurring to me that you need a way to actually intercept your teacher's reset...oh well, it's easy enough to modify. Have it display a fake reset screen and jump to _JForceCmdNoChar when Yes is selected on a reset screen. A way to uninstall this is probably smart, too.
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 03:53:16 pm    Post subject:

Does your teacher actually check that the programs, etc. are gone? If not, archiving them before class eliminates all problems: she gets her reset (she thinks) and you get your programs, but you really need to get a USB cable. Razz
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 04:57:56 pm    Post subject:

Nope. Archiving programs only protects against a ram clear, not a mem clear (which PrincePwn said his teacher does.)
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 05:14:10 pm    Post subject:

then I guess that program is the only option until he gets a cable. Luckily, my math teacher actually likes my programs and my other teachers don't care (OK, the games get on their nerves a little, but there so much fun... :blush: )
Back to top
pugboy


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 544

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 05:42:55 pm    Post subject:

LIKEs programs?! My teachers confiscate your calculator if you are using programs...

Now I can't reset RAM because I have an nSpire :D

EDIT:
Just wondering, how did you hide programs on the mem menu? Your code confuses my simple mind :confused:


Last edited by Guest on 31 Jan 2008 05:50:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
magicdanw
pcGuru()


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1110

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 07:21:39 pm    Post subject:

Brandon's code uses the menu hook to keep the memory menu from displaying any variables. Looks like the main thing is it keeps the sub-menus from displaying any text for entries. I had forgotten about this hook because I could never seem to get it to work right. Nice job, Brandon! Smile
Back to top
pugboy


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 544

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 07:35:57 pm    Post subject:

Hmmm... I am assuming he stops drawing the text before the OS draws the variables?
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 08:16:30 pm    Post subject:

I say he likes my programs, and he is the one who got me hooked on programming in the first place, and most of my programs are school help ones (which may get me by). Sometimes I play puzzpack or my program ATHIEF, to keep awake in math, if you know what I mean... :biggrin:
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 09:23:01 pm    Post subject:

I say, he must be a pretty good teacher to nspire you to program. Just keep up the good work in math I guess.

just wondering, are teacher keys that important to avoid loss of calculator from teachers?
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 10:23:55 pm    Post subject:

Whats You math teachers name? I wonder if we will ver see any of Dan E's students here. He most like has told them all that he made puzzpack.
Back to top
xrotaryguy


Newbie


Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

Posted: 04 Feb 2008 06:04:40 pm    Post subject:

I had an instructor who would make sure that we had all cleared our memory before tests. At the time, I was using my wife's ti 82. She wrote me a program that would display the words "memory cleared". I had no idea what I was doing with that calculator at the time, so I accidentally deleted the program. Otherwise, I'd give you the code Smile Anyway, just another idea for ya'.
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 04 Feb 2008 09:52:15 pm    Post subject:

yes, but this is talking about teachers who physically go to your calc and reset it. This would show a fake screen then and even hide the programs till later when it is safe.
Back to top
pugboy


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 544

Posted: 04 Feb 2008 10:34:40 pm    Post subject:

In other words, get a cable. Might as well not have a calculator if you don't have a cable.

Of course, if you only use it for math, then that is another story. But who does that?


Last edited by Guest on 04 Feb 2008 10:36:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
mr. sir


Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 2008
Posts: 41

Posted: 21 Feb 2008 08:10:11 pm    Post subject:

And... how do you undo that program?

Last edited by Guest on 21 Feb 2008 08:10:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 22 Feb 2008 09:36:56 am    Post subject:

Well, if you are talking about BrandonW's code, then there is no way (yet). None was coded in. It is just a bare minimum block.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement