This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 03:46:12 pm    Post subject:

Mad

I was so close!

I thought I had the high score fixed. I went to the TI-Basic Developer site and looked on the section marked, guess what, Highscores. It walked me through the process, but now when I try to open up the High Score option from the Safe House, it presents and ERROR:ARGUMENT. Here's the code:

Lbl M6
Disp "High Score:",∟THIEF(1," ","Your Score:",M
Pause
Goto M0


What did I do wrong? Neutral


Also, here's a copy of the most updated game, because I've been toying with it, just trying out new things.

[attachment=2157:attachment]
Back to top
JoostinOnline


Active Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 559

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 05:16:51 pm    Post subject:

Your problem lies here:
Disp "High Score:",∟THIEF(1," ","Your Score:",M
You forgot to close the parenthesis, making "", "Your Score:" and M arguments of the (1) function. Your code should be:
Disp "High Score:",∟THIEF(1)," ","Your Score:",M

Btw, to get the blue text that we are using for code, do this:
[ goose ]code[/ goose ] except without the spaces.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:42:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 31 Jan 2008 08:18:37 pm    Post subject:

thanks, I had been wondering about the blue. spent 10 minutes trying to hack it out before I gave up.
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 03 Feb 2008 03:22:54 pm    Post subject:

Finished.

A copy of the completed program for free distribution. (I got it off of the internet as freeware, so it's totally legal to take one.

[attachment=2170:attachment]

Ideas for this game are always welcome, if you want to PM me or post it here, it doesn't matter. I would like to post a 1.1 or even 2.0 on the site I got it from simply to show what we do here.


Last edited by Guest on 03 Feb 2008 03:27:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 03 Feb 2008 05:40:59 pm    Post subject:

Well, when I ran it, I got a DATATYPE error because THIEF didn't have anything in it. Try a 1→dim(LTHIEF after the SetupEditor
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 07 Feb 2008 06:13:22 pm    Post subject:

hmm... strange...

I put it in, but changed it to 2→dim(LTHIEF to account for the sin( security system I put in.

I was thinking of changing the doctor to just heal as much as you have money for, instead of healing you full if you have enough money for it, and sending you away if you don't have enough for a full heal, can somebody rail off the code for me?


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:42:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 07 Feb 2008 06:14:43 pm    Post subject:

For the sin( security system: If you do that, make sure to add a degree or radian symbol with the sin( command. Otherwise you'll be resetting the score every time the user changes Degree or Radian mode.

Last edited by Guest on 07 Feb 2008 06:39:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 07 Feb 2008 06:30:10 pm    Post subject:

:confused:
big words...

Here's what I got for the more helpful doctor:

Menu("DOCTOR","GET HEALED",GH,"BACK",M0)
Lbl GH
2000(10-H)→V
If M-V≥0
Then
10→H
M-V→M
End
If M<V
Then
(M/2000)-.5→Z:round(Z,0)→Z
H+Z→H
M-(2000Z)→M
End


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:42:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JoostinOnline


Active Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 559

Posted: 07 Feb 2008 06:36:19 pm    Post subject:

Just a few optimizations:

Menu("DOCTOR","GET HEALED",GH,"BACK",M0
Lbl GH
2000(10-H→V
If M-V≥0
Then
10→H
M-V→M
Else
M/2000-.5→Z:int(Z→Z
H+Z→H
M-2000Z→M
End


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:43:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 07 Feb 2008 08:01:54 pm    Post subject:

Menu("DOCTOR","GET HEALED",GH,"BACK",M0
Lbl GH
2[font="verdana"]E
3(10-H→V
If M≥Ans
Then
M-Ans→M
10→H
Else
round(.5([font="verdana"]E
‾3M-1),0→Z
H+Ans→H
M-2[font="verdana"]E3Z→M
End

Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:44:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 11 Feb 2008 10:29:48 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
Menu("DOCTOR","GET HEALED",GH,"BACK",M0
Lbl GH
2[font="verdana"]E
3(10-H→V
If M≥Ans
Then
M-Ans→M
10→H
Else
round(.5([font="verdana"]E‾3M-1),0→Z
H+Ans→H
M-2[font="verdana"]E3Z→M
End
[post="120108"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Goose, if you are just going to use Ans for the cost of the doctor, why are you storing it in V? And second, I like to hesitate when using the Ans command for this reason: it is very easily erased. I prefer to store it in a temporary variable, a "background variable" if you will, one that is used purely for mathematical purposes, in this case, V.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:49:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 11 Feb 2008 10:55:54 pm    Post subject:

He stored it v encase you need it later but the ans form will be faster.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 11 Feb 2008 11:10:22 pm    Post subject:

I assumed that it was needed later on. Looking at the .8xp here just now, I've changed my mind.

You are free to take the V out, stranger, but that'd require putting some hesitation aside. Wink


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:49:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Feb 2008 11:25:15 pm    Post subject:

How about replacing the entire code with this?

Lbl GH
While M≥2E3 and H<10
H+1→H
M-2E3→M
End


Sure this is suboptimal in terms of speed, but it's going to be fast enough to be unnoticeable either way (at most 9 iterations here).


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:50:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 12 Feb 2008 10:23:55 am    Post subject:

If H is always an integer, which appears to be the case:

[s]If H < 10[/s] If H <=9


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:50:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
stranger


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

Posted: 13 Feb 2008 07:40:10 pm    Post subject:

alexrudd wrote:
If H is always an integer, which appears to be the case:

[s]If H < 10[/s] If H <=9
[post="120248"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


:confused: Just checking, "H <=9" means 9≥H right?

Second, totally unrelated to Atheif, I'm also working on a guess-my-number kind of game. I have a version that asks you to guess the calc's number, this is the one where it guesses your number. The code is as follows:

ClrHome
Output(2,4,"THINK OF A NUMBER BETWEEN 1 AND 100.
Output(6,1,"PRESS ENTER WHEN YOU'RE READY...
Pause
50→G:0→C:6→L:-1→A
ClrHome
While A≠0 and L≠0
ClrHome
Repeat 1<G and G<100
G-3→X:G+3→Y
randInt(X,Y)→G
abs(int(G/2))→C
C-3→X:C+3→Y
randInt(X,Y)→C:abs(int(C→C
-1→A
If (G+C)-3>100 or (G-C)+3<1
Then
Disp " "," "," "," "," "," "," "
Output(3,1,"---------------- CHEATER! I WIN!----------------
Output(1,1,"
Stop
End
End
Disp "0 FOR CORRECT","1 FOR TOO BIG","2 FOR TOO SMALL","GUESSES LEFT:","MY GUESS:"
Output(4,14,L
Output(5,10,G
While A≠0 and A≠1 and A≠2
Input A
End
If A=1
Then
G-C→G
L-1→L
End
If A=2
Then
G+C→G
L-1→L
End
If A=0
Disp "I WIN!
If L=0
Disp "YOU WIN!
End
Output(1,1,"


Sometimes it goes straight to the "CHEATER! I WIN!" screen, and the numbers sometimes go over 100 or under 1, it's weird because it only happens sporadically, and we all know that machines are never random...


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:41:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 13 Feb 2008 07:42:42 pm    Post subject:

stranger wrote:
:confused:  Just checking, "H <=9" means 9≥H right? [post="120293"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Yep, I was just lazy typing it and didn't want to go find the symbol.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement