This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
Author Message
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 10:17:00 am    Post subject:

Hello. I am making an image library for my BASIC program. It has several black and white images stored as bitmaps (I am using IStudio to convert bitmaps to hex codes), which depending on the real system value of X, displays a picture.

PROBLEM:

ITS HUGE!!! The file itself is not big, but when it is compiled it is 4kb!!! Huge for my free ram!!! The program is actually about 75% as big as the ZDOS asm program found at cirrus, and ZDOS compiles to 1.3 kb. SMALL!!! Why does my small program compile to more than a larger one??? How can I make it smaller???

Oh, and I am using the TASM assembler from CIRRUS SDK.

Any ideas?
Back to top
David
The XORcist!


Advanced Member


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 268

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 10:37:19 am    Post subject:

There is no correlation between source code size and compiled code size. Of course you can have your own rules of thumb.
In the programs I write, I estimate that 10 KB source code is equal to 1 KB of assembled code. Your program is simply more compact than Z-DOS 2.0. I guess you have a lot of .db statements. A 96 x 64 image takes up 767 bytes, so you should optimize the images. If they have continuos large areas of the same pattern, RLE compression might cut down the filesize.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 04:39:09 pm    Post subject:

well, the images are b/w so it would probably work really well...
Back to top
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 06:31:37 pm    Post subject:

Well, like I said, I am using ISTUDIO, and it has a RLE compression option, but the included decrompression script doesnt work for the TI-83+. Where can I find one?
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 07:22:48 pm    Post subject:

check on ticalc.org... they *might* have one... seem to remember seeing one there for some reason...
Back to top
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 08:22:07 pm    Post subject:

Hey thanks, I am checking now. What about changing contrast? Thatwould be cool to fade in a screen!!! I have see several ways, but when I compile to source it doesnt work, even after I tried changing bcalls, regular stuff. Whats the way to change the contrast?
Back to top
John Barrus


Member


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 131

Posted: 13 Oct 2003 11:14:38 pm    Post subject:

Changing contrast involves direct communication with the LCD, plus incrementing or decrementing the (contrast) address in ram. I can't remember how to do this at the moment, but I'll look into it.

As for RLE, there's tons of stuff out there- If I remember correctly, I think David wrote some compression/decompression routines a while back...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement