Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fallen Ghost


Elite


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 955

Posted: 12 Sep 2006 07:07:54 pm    Post subject:

Isn't this topic appropriate, pm available within the wiki and discussions in each page available?
Back to top
spandiv
-- Retired --


Active Member


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 650

Posted: 20 Sep 2006 01:03:40 am    Post subject:

There have been a couple new pages added to the wiki over the last week, but no new members. Which makes me want to point out that a wiki really only works if people participate and collaborate -- refining each page until it is of topnotch quality. That's the logic behind it anyways.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 20 Sep 2006 08:41:54 pm    Post subject:

Sorry 'bout that Burr, I've just been crazy busy. Maybe I'll find some time lying around on a weekend and I'll join and work on this.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 20 Sep 2006 09:49:34 pm    Post subject:

I've still been doing minor edits, but haven't had the time lately for major ones. Sad
Back to top
AlienCC
Creative Receptacle!


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1927

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 01:32:32 am    Post subject:

I haven't been around the last couple of weeks.

--AlienCC
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 02:39:29 pm    Post subject:

Even though I don't really like it when people lock their code, I expanded the "program protection" section.

What is the community's opinion: should all code be open and unlocked, or should you not be able to modify code without the author's permission?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 02:57:49 pm    Post subject:

As long as you don't take credit for it, it's okay to change code in my opinion. But of course you can get around any protection, so that doesn't really change things.

I don't do anything to my programs. I don't mind locked programs, but I imagine I would be very disgusted if I came across a program with a "trial period" or something similar.

I actually have an idea for how to make a foolproof authorization routine for a program. I'm not sure if I should post it anywhere... it's a neat idea, but the purpose to which it would be put discourages me. It's kind of obvious, however, that you can get around any "trial period" by simply saving the initial state of external variables when you receive the program, and resetting them to that state when the period is up to start over.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 04:01:59 pm    Post subject:

I think it's pointless to lock them. People who really want to will be able to do so. It is really annoying if the program doesn't even work and you can't easily change the code. Also, if it is bad code and you want to change it doing that is rather annoying. Getting around authorization or trial periods is easy. The only reason to do any of this is if you are giving it to people who have absolutly no idea what they're doing. You could give it to them again if they mess it up even then.

Having incidents like with Hays Games is rare. Again, people will still be able to do it if they are insistent upon it. Pirating will always happen, if it is locked the people will probably just go to a different program or do it anyway. Just don't modify it and put it out there. If you want to change it to make it better or better for you then go ahead I say.
Back to top
Fallen Ghost


Elite


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 955

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 04:16:26 pm    Post subject:

Locking using ASM programs with self-containing variables is the only way to make it a trial or something like that. But normaly, in the community, trials are the alpha or beta versions of the games, and if you were to have a trial and needed to buy the program, I don't think much people would take it (unless it is very extra well-coded and efficient and fun and etc.)

But I don't think having Basic programs locked is very useful, because it can almost always be optmized, or just to see what others did with their program and how it works. If you want someone to not copy your program when it's in ASM, just don't post the source code because dis-assembly is not fun. But as Sage Orator said, there will always be a way to unlock easily Basic ones, just look at Mirage or DCS.
Back to top
spandiv
-- Retired --


Active Member


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 650

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 05:20:02 pm    Post subject:

The reason I decided to include the program protection page is because it's one of the common requests by beginners. As no other TI-Basic guide or tutorial on the Internet teaches how to do it, I figured it would make sense for us to cover it.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 05:45:38 pm    Post subject:

I agree about including it because beginners wish to do it not knowing any better. I just don't agree with doing it.
Back to top
Fallen Ghost


Elite


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 955

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 06:29:58 pm    Post subject:

Sage Orator wrote:
I agree about including it because beginners wish to do it not knowing any better. I just don't agree with doing it.
[post="88838"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


I don't agree to lock some piece of code unless it is very high-optimized code that you don't want anyone to have, or it is your first game and you want it to look like a pro one.
It's not politically correct to say so, but I'll say it anyway: Beginners are beginners so most of the time, it is just a low-level remake of another game. As they evoluate, their game(s) become better, but their first is their first.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 07:30:03 pm    Post subject:

I say the more optimized it is, the more willing I am to share it, as I believe others will get the most out of looking at such code. That's my personal opinion, anyway.

Last edited by Guest on 23 Sep 2006 07:30:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 08:36:06 pm    Post subject:

I agree, the more optimized it is the more I would like to see it. I would be very appreciative of seeing such code. If I had code that I thought was very optimized or useful, I would definitly share it.

That's completly true. It's hard to make a really good game your first time out. It's a learning experience. That game should improve and they should be able to make better games because of the feed back. It makes them look really noobish if they think that their first game is really good or even good when it isn't.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 12:21:06 pm    Post subject:

Sorry for the double post but I can't seem to create an account. When I try to do so the screen just goes dark. Is there something simple that I'm missing? Neutral
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 12:54:06 pm    Post subject:

Sage Orator, I was about to post the exact same thing.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 02:22:29 pm    Post subject:

The site doesn't work correctly in Opera and possibly some other browsers.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 02:23:37 pm    Post subject:

Okay, I'm running Safari. I'll try it in *gasp* IE.
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 02:24:26 pm    Post subject:

*sigh*, I only have safari right now, better download a different browser later today.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 24 Sep 2006 02:28:32 pm    Post subject:

Doesn't do anything in IE. I'll download FF though I'm not really supposed to...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 10, 11, 12  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 12 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement