This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
Author Message
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 05 Jun 2003 12:27:00 pm    Post subject:

Hello, and welcome to my very first tutorial, hope u all like it :

ok, here is the code, i will document it as we go along :

ld a,10000000b ; What the run indicator will look like, 11110000b is normal, 10101010b is pause...
ld (indicBusy),a ; Load ur new run indicator into the real run indicator
set indicRun,(IY + IndicFlags) ; Activate it! Cannot use the bcall, because it resets the run indicator to normal...
;
;
; Main Code Here...
;
;

ld a,busyNormal ; Reset the run indicator to normal, busyNormal is equated to 11110000b in the ti83plus.inc file
ld (indicBusy),a ; load the real one back in!

;at the end here, u could just use the bcall and it would reset it if u wanted... ENJOY!
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 05 Jun 2003 12:27:57 pm    Post subject:

the other equated run indicator is busyPause, and u can guess what that one is ;)

hint: 10101010b


Last edited by Guest on 05 Jun 2003 12:28:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 05 Jun 2003 04:46:33 pm    Post subject:

Nice tutorial on indicators; still, I usually leave it off in asm programs.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 05 Jun 2003 08:09:11 pm    Post subject:

i use it during title screens for special run indicators while it says : press any key...
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 07 Jun 2003 02:27:24 am    Post subject:

Why even have a run indicator? It makes your program look like it was wrighten in basic.
Back to top
Job the GameQuitter


Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 102

Posted: 07 Jun 2003 07:18:25 am    Post subject:

Not if you make it look different. :lol:

Is there also a way to make the run indicater go down instead of up? Razz That would be neat.

Oh, and nice tutorial btw! It's one of those things you never think of finding out.
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 07 Jun 2003 07:27:40 am    Post subject:

to make it reverse, set an interrupt to change the pixels in the opposite order.
Back to top
Job the GameQuitter


Member


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 102

Posted: 10 Jun 2003 01:20:15 pm    Post subject:

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the whole idea of this tutorial is to let the system routines do all the work.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 10 Jun 2003 01:54:47 pm    Post subject:

no, not exactly, cause a system routine is the same thing as a bcall, and they reset the run indicator, but i guess u could say that, cause this is built in stuff...
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 10 Jun 2003 02:08:46 pm    Post subject:

di will still trun off the indicator by disabling maskable interrupts.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 10 Jun 2003 02:13:57 pm    Post subject:

the normal ti-interrupt handles the run indicator... here is a little thing i found in 83pa28d :

Code:
set indicOnly, (IY + indicFlags)    ; Interrupt handler only checks run indicator (don't process APD™, blink the cursor, or scan for keys).

cool, eh? cant seem to see a use for it though...
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 11 Jun 2003 02:45:54 am    Post subject:

I think it can be used the same as di with the exception that the run indicator still works.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 11 Jun 2003 12:24:53 pm    Post subject:

but, unless u wanted a special run indicator Wink, then this routine would be utterly useless!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement