This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 03 Oct 2005 05:46:38 pm    Post subject:

if you add more DispGraph's you can change the shades of gray that appear
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 03 Oct 2005 05:57:40 pm    Post subject:

They don't have to be DispGraphs. After the first one, each DispGraph that is executed does nothing, really. Any delay would do instead.

Edit: as an added bonus, quick switching between the homescreen and graph almost completely eliminates the run indicator Smile.


Last edited by Guest on 03 Oct 2005 06:05:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 09:14:06 am    Post subject:

I figured out how to do real sprites with more than four levels of gray....use my faovrite technique::: the stat plot. you have up to three plots which can be flickering at different intervals and in different combinations to create gray patterns. use PlotsOff and PlotsOn to determine which get turned off and On at each set.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 09:39:24 am    Post subject:

Isn't stat plot pretty slow?
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 09:46:27 am    Post subject:

Increadibly slow.

That's why people ahve ti84+super editions.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Oct 2005 09:46:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 10:41:30 am    Post subject:

Yeah, Im spoiled, I guess it probably wouldn' work on slower calcs. for me its nearly instantaneous for 8*8 sprites.....I guess you could make a sub program that used point-On, pointOff at 0-7 + x
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 11:13:30 am    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
This needs to be combined with the combine-text-characters-to-draw-sprites stuff.

Yea, that's what I thought as well, so I made a picture with all possible combinations.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 04:58:30 pm    Post subject:

Not really. For one you can't get all of these characters in Basic. Also, you can display anything on the graph screen, just not the home screen.

About the plots... I really don't think it could be fast enough. Could you post your code?
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 05:33:22 pm    Post subject:

sure.


Code:
{2,3,4,5,6,7,1,1,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,8,8->L1
{1,1,1,1,1,1,2,3,4,5,5,5,5,5,5,6,7,7,7,7,6,2,3,4->L2
{2,4,6->L3
{2,2,2->L4
PlotsOff
L1->LX1
L2->LY1
L3->LX2
L4->LY2
Plot1(Scatter,LX1,LY1,.
Plot2(Scatter,LX2,LY2,.
ClrHome
ClrDraw
While getKey!=21  "Pardon my Java-style notation here
PlotsOn 2
DispGraph
PlotsOff 2
End
L2->LX1
L1->LY1
L4->LX2
L3->LY2
While getKey!=21
PlotsOn 2
DispGraph
PlotsOff 2
End
-L1+9->LX1
-L2+8->LY1
-L3+9->LX2
-L4+8->LY2
While getKey!=21
PlotsOn 2
DispGraph
PlotsOff 2
End
-L2+9->LX1
-L1+8->LY1
-L4+9->LX2
-L3+8->LY2
While getKey!=21
PlotsOn 2
DispGraph
PlotsOff 2
End


Last edited by Guest on 04 Oct 2005 05:33:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 09:43:32 pm    Post subject:

Got to mess around with this stuff for almost an hour, History of the Catholic Church doesn't even require consciousness...

Code:
For(A,Ymax,Ymin,-2
Horizontal A
Horizontal A-1
End
ClrHome
Repeat getKey
Disp:DispGraph:End
Oooh, 8+ level grayscale! Not controllable, but it does look cool. Adjust the contrast if need be.

Code:
ClrHome
ClrDraw
Output(1,1,"HAHA, YOU WILL
Output(2,1,"HAVE A MAJOR
Output(3,1,"HEADACHE FROM
Output(4,1,"TRYING TO READ
Output(5,1,"THIS CRAZY TEXT
Output(6,1,"REMEMBER, IT
Output(7,1,"WAS NOT ME.
Output(8,1,"BLAME SIR ROBIN
Text(-1,0,2,"HAHA, YOU WILL
Text(-1,8,2,"HAVE A MAJOR
Text(-1,16,2,"HEADACHE FROM
Text(-1,24,2,"TRYING TO READ
Text(-1,32,2,"THIS CRAZY TEXT
Text(-1,40,2,"REMEMBER, IT
Text(-1,48,2,"WAS NOT ME.
Text(-1,56,2,"BLAME SIR ROBIN
Repeat getKey
Disp:DispGraph:End
Use Text(-1,0,1,"FLICKA for a version that's slightly easier to read.
Back to top
Spyderbyte


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 372

Posted: 04 Oct 2005 10:19:35 pm    Post subject:

Haha, I did pretty much the same thing, but shifted the graph down and over one. I suppose two is cooler looking.

Spyderbyte
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement