This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
omni


Member


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 115

Posted: 14 Jul 2003 02:35:59 pm    Post subject:

I'm trying to make an HP and MP bar like in some rpgs, but I can't seem to get it to work properly.
I read a tutorial and it's source went like this:


('A' is the current HP and 'B' is the max HP)
: Line(5,-27,50,-27
: Line(5,-29,50,-29
: Pt-On(4,-28
: Pt-On(51,-28
: (A/B)50 -> C
: Line(5,-28,C,-28
// The first four lines are setting up the frame of the bar and the next two lines determine where the actual bar is going to stop.


The problem with this is that it only looks good when the character is at max HP, but when HP level is at like maybe 90% the line isn't even half way across.

Is there a better way to make a bar?


Last edited by Guest on 14 Jul 2003 02:37:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 14 Jul 2003 03:04:33 pm    Post subject:

try this:

Code:
Line(5,-27,50,-27
Line(5,-29,50,-29
Line(4,-28,51,-28 //Draw full HP Meter

//Battle code here

45-A/B45->C //Increase C so the next line turns off more pixels as HP drops
Line(50,-28,C,-28 //Update Meter
//Rest of code
Back to top
omni


Member


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 115

Posted: 15 Jul 2003 01:20:11 pm    Post subject:

is there supposed to be a 0 after the last line command?
Back to top
Spyderbyte


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 372

Posted: 15 Jul 2003 03:30:02 pm    Post subject:

A 0 after the Line( command draws a blank line. (Erases the pixels)

Does that help?

Spyderbyte
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 15 Jul 2003 06:45:00 pm    Post subject:

ok, this may be very unoptimized and ugly but coulden't you just use an if command to se what the HP is and then write the pixles according to that? the size of the bar would depend on the max HP
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 12:36:51 am    Post subject:

mine works fine, faster,and smaller. and yes, there should be a ,0 on the last line. sry about the error.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 07:24:11 am    Post subject:

Babyboy wrote:
ok, this may be very unoptimized and ugly but coulden't you just use an if command to se what the HP is and then write the pixles according to that? the size of the bar would depend on the max HP

That would be much slower and takes much more memory.

25->H //25 HP

Line(5,5,55,5 //draw full health
Line(5+H,5,55,5,0 //erase empty part of health bar

Line(X_Min,Y,X_Max,Y
Line(X_Min+Health,Y,X_Max,Y,0


Last edited by Guest on 16 Jul 2003 07:25:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 10:22:59 am    Post subject:

i usually know the best routes to do stuff, and if not, im willing to learn, but that doesnt happen very oftain. Laughing Very Happy Cool Smile
Back to top
Tyler


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 352

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 11:31:48 am    Post subject:

Now we all, most of us anyways, need to learn the routes to spellin godd
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 02:07:34 pm    Post subject:

Tyler wrote:
Now we all, most of us anyways, need to learn the routes to spellin godd

its "good"...

yes, we do. accidental mistokes dont count though. well, they can be fixed, so yeah, those count to.


Last edited by Guest on 16 Jul 2003 02:07:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 04:38:06 pm    Post subject:

do spelling mistakes matter? besides being a nusiance its not all bad
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 05:17:09 pm    Post subject:

well, ur right there
Back to top
ceslayer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 15

Posted: 16 Jul 2003 09:22:53 pm    Post subject:

bar like this??
Look me

last screenshot
Back to top
JacobdeHaan


Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 165

Posted: 17 Jul 2003 01:37:41 am    Post subject:

Spyderbyte wrote:
A 0 after the Line( command draws a blank line.  (Erases the pixels)

Thank you, I really needed a command like that, I never guessed that it existed, A Thousand Blessings! Very Happy
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Jul 2003 07:46:20 am    Post subject:

Babyboy wrote:
do spelling mistakes matter? besides being a nusiance its not all bad

Besides being a nousiance it can create misunderstandings and such. Also, people who actually use correct grammar and spelling tend to get more respect of others, and it makes you look smarter Laughing. If you don't use proper grammar and spelling people tend to ignore (or just won't bother to reply) your posts more.

My opinion is that since you're not in a hurry to type your reply's/questions (this is a forum, not a chatroom) you might as well take your time to write everything properly since this is only a good thing and not writing things properly is a nousiance for others.


Last edited by Guest on 17 Jul 2003 07:47:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 19 Jul 2003 06:13:57 am    Post subject:

i fully and absoluetly agree with Arcane Wizard
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement