This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 11:22:15 am    Post subject:

Yesterday I was just playing with my TI83 when something very strange happened. I went to [MEM] > [Check RAM] and this is what it showed for Y-vars and Prgm:

Code:
Y-vars    12817
Prgm      35850

All my Y-vars were empty so they should have been less than 300 bytes. And for Prgm it showed a lager number of bytes than available on the 83 (27000). Then I found out one program took up about 12000 bytes. I runned it and nothing happened, but when I tried to edit it my Calc crashed. I don't think this is due to any ASM program, since I hade almost none on my calc.
Does anyone have an idea what could have happened?
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 11:31:04 am    Post subject:

MirageOs always did things like that, but that's only on plus, right? I think it can only be done because of an ASM program, since they only can do those weird things (one completely filled my RAM with nothingness, another messed up rand).

But because you don't had any on your calc, i think it's an OS bug.

But i'm not exactly an expert on these things, this is just what i think of it.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 11:45:57 am    Post subject:

Jutt wrote:
I don't think this is due to any ASM program, since I hade almost none on my calc.

1 program will be plenty to mess things up.
Back to top
agility
Calc Spammer


Calc Guru


Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 1266

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 12:01:52 pm    Post subject:

What program were you running?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 12:42:27 pm    Post subject:

If it's not hardware related, I'd say this was caused by an ASM program corrupting the system VAT. Those crashes generally take longer to appear and may go undected until the system tries to locate or move another file. They're also accompanied by incorrect (or blank) filesizes under Check RAM. Well, that's my theory..
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 01:25:08 pm    Post subject:

The program I was running was a basic program, so that wouldn't be the problem I think.
I remember I had only about 4 ASM programs all very small and just made as tests. Two were progs to call the runindicator on and off and the others were text output programs. That's not something to crash your calc I guess.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 01:41:21 pm    Post subject:

test programs are programs that crash the most. I almost never have crashes, but now i have loads of weird crashes because i'm learning ASM. It's probably an error in the test program. What happened while you were running the Basic game? Did it use the Run Indicator off program?

Maybe the memory was already messed up., but you didn't notice until after the basic prog
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 02:07:22 pm    Post subject:

The basic program didn't use any asm subroutine. When I runned it nothing happened; it just kept showing the home screen. Then I looked in the source to see why it didn't work and at that moment the calculator crashed.

I think the mem was indeed messed up before. Once I had some trouble with an ASM program so I deleted it, but my calculator was never reset since that moment. I guess that caused the trouble.
Back to top
agility
Calc Spammer


Calc Guru


Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 1266

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 02:10:48 pm    Post subject:

Can you post the source code of those "test files" you were working with? It may help us to determine whether it was those ASM programs or not.
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 02:45:51 pm    Post subject:

These are the Hex codes (I removed the End:0000:End). first two I figured out myself, the other two I found at education.ti.com. The last program is the one I had some troubles with so I deleted it.

runindicator on
CD4791C9

runindicator off
CD4795C9

text output
CD5547
210300
220C80
213A93
CD0D47
CD7547
C9
54484953
20495320
41205445
535400

set contrast high
3E3F
F6C0
CD6640
D310
C9
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 02:49:34 pm    Post subject:

The run indicator programs are bollixed. They should be CD9147C9 and CD9547C9.

And the contrast thingy can be optimized to 3EFFD310C9.


Last edited by Guest on 20 Jul 2004 02:54:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 02:58:08 pm    Post subject:

Sorry, I remember that. I put it wrong there, but I did type them into my calculator as CD9147C9 and CD9547C9. And they worked fine.
Back to top
agility
Calc Spammer


Calc Guru


Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 1266

Posted: 20 Jul 2004 05:23:03 pm    Post subject:

Check the text output then. Do you have ASM source code that you can provide us with besides just hex codes?
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 21 Jul 2004 05:06:46 am    Post subject:

This is the page I got it from. Besides the hex code there is also the source code; maybe it can help you.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 21 Jul 2004 07:43:59 am    Post subject:

this siteshows a similar glitch. Could it be that this happened?
Back to top
Jutt


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 94

Posted: 21 Jul 2004 10:17:34 am    Post subject:

Something like that could have happened. A while ago I did something similar:
-I stored double quotation marks (") in Y1
-then I did Equ>String(Y1,Str1
-then RCL Str1
And this recalled a bunch of odd characters.
I deleted Str1 to prevent any crashes, but still that could be the cause of the calculator crash.

Btw, that's a nice site. I was intrigued by the [H]-Glitch, because I found a similar one. when you store a lowercase "p" from the [VARS] [Statistics] menu in a string and recall it it will show "Str6" instead of "p"
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 22 Jul 2004 12:33:15 am    Post subject:

Say... Where you ever able to reproduce the crash? I mean by reinacting everything you did; leading up to the problem? That could help us isolate the glitch.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement