This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rebel.socom


Member


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 151

Posted: 02 Jun 2004 07:54:52 pm    Post subject:

SetUpEditor sytax :

SetUpEditor [List 1], [List 2], .... , [List N]
OR
SetUpEditor [NONE] - Will create and /or unarchive L1 - L6

SetUpEditor - A routine i found while looking throught the catologe. With this routine, no longer will you have those discosting ERR:Arcived or ERR:Undefined errors! YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

The Basics:
SetUpEditor was normaly ment to be used for the stat editor. The stat editor is [stat], [Enter]. What you are using it for is to....


BOTH UNARCIVE AND/OR CREATE A LIST AT THE SAME TIME WITH NO ERROR


If the list is made but arcived... it is unarcived
IF the list is unarcived ... nothing is none
If no list ... it is created with no dim (dim=0)

See the problem is this....

----------------EXPAMPLE PROGRAM ------------

:5->dim(LGAME)
:...game code
:Archive LGAME
:Stop

---END PROGRAM----

IF this program is ran a second time the ERR:ARCHIVE is seen because the list is archived.

But if we add SetUpEditor the begining like this...

:SetUpEditor LGAME
:5-> dim(LGAME)

THERE IS NO ERROR!!!

Now for the other way arond

---EXAPMLE PROGRAM 2---

:Unarchive LGAME
:5-> dim(LGAME)
:.... game code
:Archive LGAME

---End PROGRAM -----

IF its ran for the first time there is no list LGAME so you get a ERR:Undified error.
Blah!!! This sucks! Mad

Whery no more! SetUpEditor take these problems away.

Adding SetUpEditor to the beginging will make sure its unarchived.

so in the end you have somthing like this...

------GOOD EXAMPLE PROGRAM----------

:SetUpEditor LGAME
:5->dim(LGAME)
:....game code (ive typed to much already to make a real example)
:Archive LGAME
:Stop

----------END EXAMPLE PROGRAM

So go make your RPGS work for real this time... Very Happy Very Happy
Remember THE LIST WILL ALWAYS BE IN RAM AND CREATED after setupeditor
You will only recive a ERR:MEM if theres no memory left. (like that will happen)
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 02 Jun 2004 08:36:25 pm    Post subject:

What a wonderful function. Laughing
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 02:08:30 am    Post subject:

You don't need stop at the end, and this only helps for archiving/unarchiving because creating lists has never been a problem at all.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 11:06:09 am    Post subject:

Not really, if you need the list to be initialized when it does not exist, and unmodified if it does, SetUpEditor works. This would be great for high scores.

Edit:

Code:
...game code...
Disp "YOU LOSE!","SCORE:",Z
SetUpEditor L_HIGHS
1->dim(L_HIGHS
L_HIGHS(1
If Z>Ans
Disp "NEW HIGH!
{max(Z,Ans -> HIGHS
Archive L_HIGHS
"


Last edited by Guest on 03 Jun 2004 11:13:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 11:46:44 am    Post subject:

Quote:
1->dim(L_HIGHS
It's exactly that line that nullifies any and all use of SetUpEditor except for archiving.

It could be remotely usefull if you didn't use a set length for lists, but you can always just use 999.
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 02:52:46 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
Quote:
1->dim(L_HIGHS
It's exactly that line that nullifies any and all use of SetUpEditor except for archiving.

You mean unarchiving.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 05:17:09 pm    Post subject:

No, I ment archiving in general, ie. any actions involving the archive. (no I'm not just trying to give an excuse for that mistake Razz)
Back to top
rebel.socom


Member


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 151

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 07:26:41 pm    Post subject:

What do u mean "nullifies"?
SetUpEditor is used so that you have no problems with the statis of the list
1->dim(LGAME does not anrchive the list, just makes the list
SetupEditor will anarchive the list. If the list is not there the list is made with do dim

so just ...

SetUpEditor LGAME
10->dim(LGAME

And theres no problem. If you use just dim( , you will get ERR:ARCHIVED
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 07:31:29 pm    Post subject:

nullifies:
Quote:
to cause something to have no value or effect:
- All my hard work was nullified when I lost my notes.


Like I said, only usefull for archive stuff.
Back to top
rebel.socom


Member


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 151

Posted: 03 Jun 2004 08:30:43 pm    Post subject:

exactly. u cant guess how long the ram will last until it fails and resets. and some games like rpgs can have big lists that take both space and the time the player used to get far in the game
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 04 Jun 2004 12:06:30 am    Post subject:

Wow this is a really cool function. I'm surprised no one here at UTI has ever discovered it. Bryan could really use this is Contra, since there is a lot of archiving and unarchiving lists in that game. Btw rebel.socom, you ought to go add this to the "undocumented trick in basic" thread.

-J
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 04 Jun 2004 08:11:42 am    Post subject:

Really cool, way better than my stupid install programs i used to make:

Code:
5->dim(lGAME
Archive lGAME
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 04 Jun 2004 09:12:20 am    Post subject:

It didn't need to be discovered, because it's 1) in the manual and 2) it's been mentioned several times before.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 04:04:42 am    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
It didn't need to be discovered, because it's 1) in the manual and 2) it's been mentioned several times before.

i think it's good that he told it, cuz:
1) I don't read the manual

2) I'm only a member for 2 months
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 05:45:22 am    Post subject:

Sure, it's good, I'm just saying that making a huge topic about how you discovered something even though you actually didn't is kind of um.. inapplicable to the facts.

Of course, it's not really possible to truely discover functions on the calc since they've all been put there on purpose by TI's programmers.

Carry on.
Back to top
rebel.socom


Member


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 151

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 09:27:27 am    Post subject:

im glad my FINDING help leofox and jedd.
I started out with 81 and now have a 83 SE. The 83 SE never came with a manual and it seems to me that many people dont know about this fuction. I dont see it in there example code and sence I THOUGHT It was important, .... i took the time to write it.

PS>> any one else use the TI-81?


Last edited by Guest on 05 Jun 2004 04:06:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 11:59:03 am    Post subject:

there's a TI-81?
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 12:51:46 pm    Post subject:

there's a TI-80 also, you can even get an emulator of the TI-81: http://education.ti.com/us/product/tech/81...n/download.html
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 02:41:30 pm    Post subject:

There is an 81, but for all practical purposes ignore it since it is worse even than the 73.

Quote:
SetUpEditor is used so that you have no problems with the statis of the list
1->dim(LGAME does not anrchive the list, just makes the list

If the list was unarchived in the first place, there would be no problem with leaving SetUpEditor out.
Quote:
exactly. u cant guess how long the ram will last until it fails and resets. and some games like rpgs can have big lists that take both space and the time the player used to get far in the game

True, but an RPG that needs a big list is probably not one that was programmed well. And if "u" can't guess how long the RAM will last, then nothing will help: you'll still need to unarchive the list to use it.
Back to top
rebel.socom


Member


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 151

Posted: 05 Jun 2004 04:01:11 pm    Post subject:

omg

exp.
setupeditor LGAME
20-> dim(LGAME
LGAME -> L1
Archive LGAME
.end

there you have it. u dont have to have the list unarcived to use what in it just quickly copy it and if the ram fail during the program the saved list is still there. and at the end just do the same thing only L1 -> LGAME
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement