This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware, Electronics, Robotics subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware, Electronics, Robotics
Author Message
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 16 May 2004 10:50:25 am    Post subject:

Then write it.
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 16 May 2004 11:16:44 am    Post subject:

I was planning to when I learned asm, but every time I actually got a program to compile, it wouldn't show up in ion, so i kinda gave up for awhile.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 16 May 2004 11:17:30 am    Post subject:

Don't use ION.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 May 2004 11:20:56 am    Post subject:

You have to put in the ion header for it to show up in ion. Asm(prgmNAME is good enough for me.
Back to top
Robot87


Newbie


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 16 May 2004 03:18:35 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
I think if you make a calc program that will send data just like a regular joystick you can just use a normal joystick driver on the pc.

Run a program on the calc to handle the input and send it through the cable correctly, to a com port, and then the joystick driver should do the rest.

You might even be able to add a switch in the program to switch between com mouse, com keyboard, or com joystick.

Okay, I need to know the schematic for a basic joystick, how to send the data to a driver, and what driver to use. I guess the drivers to use is MMstick or vjoyd.vxd. Any help, please?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 16 May 2004 03:43:11 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Okay, I need to know the schematic for a basic joystick, how to send the data to a driver, and what driver to use.

I don't know if this is the type of joystick you have in mind, but I'm working a short treatise here on how to communicate with Playstation joysticks using a basic microcontroller.

Basically, their controllers use a pair of potentitometers to record the stick position. The current from those resistors goes through an analog->digital converter so you can read the X-Y position data as a pair of 8-bit values (0x00 = left or up, 0xFF = right or down). As of this year, it works with all types of PSone controllers including the mouse. Anyway I'll have more details posted once I finish writing it this week. There are already a few gaming sites that explain how to convert other game controllers for new uses.
Back to top
Robot87


Newbie


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 16 May 2004 08:00:05 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
I don't know if this is the type of joystick you have in mind, but I'm working a short treatise here on how to communicate with Playstation joysticks using a basic microcontroller


Umm....nice Website. Like the game. can I get Poquemon grey, please? Anyway, Can't find it.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 May 2004 10:23:00 am    Post subject:

Would it be possible to make a digital -> analog converter with just several diodes of different pass through values?
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 17 May 2004 04:08:39 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
Don't use ION.

MirageOS doesn't work with VTI

Quote:
You have to put in the ion header for it to show up in ion.

I did that, I think. I'm gonna try it again though.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 May 2004 04:17:03 pm    Post subject:

Ever heard of nostub? It's great.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 17 May 2004 04:23:54 pm    Post subject:

But you either miss out on all those cool routines or have to re-enter them in.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 17 May 2004 04:36:00 pm    Post subject:

But ION can be compiled for 83 too if you do it right! Wink
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 17 May 2004 07:47:35 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Would it be possible to make a digital -> analog converter with just several diodes of different pass through values?

It could work with row of zener diodes. Most commercial zeners only have a 0.1 volt level of precision though, and the linearity isn't perfect. I'm guessing the controllers use the equivalent of a ADC0801 chip, which has something like a (+/-)1/4LSB error. Right now I'm overhauling the entire website, so might be another day till it's posted.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 18 May 2004 02:26:02 am    Post subject:

Sir Robin wrote:
But you either miss out on all those cool routines or have to re-enter them in.

WHat cool routines? Confused
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 18 May 2004 07:12:36 am    Post subject:

If everyone here is talking about frogger, there is one already. Check Void Productions. They made one!
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 18 May 2004 03:05:55 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
Sir Robin wrote:
But you either miss out on all those cool routines or have to re-enter them in.

WHat cool routines? Confused

The ion routines. fastcopy, the sprite routines, multhl (or is that mirage?), etc. there's a list somewhere.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 18 May 2004 03:25:44 pm    Post subject:

And you can only do that with one of them custom shells?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 18 May 2004 04:01:29 pm    Post subject:

You obviously can't do that nostub.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 18 May 2004 04:05:24 pm    Post subject:

But aren't the shells nostub?
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 18 May 2004 04:05:33 pm    Post subject:

You can, but not without increasing the binary by ohmigosh 100 bytes.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 3 of 4 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement