This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bluefire


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 186

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 02:48:40 pm    Post subject:

hi, im working on a send and recieveless chat prog, i need help, im posting this at school so i cant put up the code, when i get home i will post the code here but for now tell me what yopu would like to see in it Laughing
Back to top
robertak


Member


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 125

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 06:11:22 pm    Post subject:

the most important stuff: it has to be fast!!!! i don't see anything else except that it has to send and receive msgs(of course).
Back to top
Bluefire


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 186

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 06:43:44 pm    Post subject:

ARGH!!!!!!! I HAD MY PROG ALL DONE AND READY TO BE POSTED FOR CRITISIZM AND ACCIDENTALLY RESET MY RAM, NOW I HAVE TO TYPE IT ALL UP AGAIN for now im just ganna take a break with this and decide on a new project, maybe guess who?!
Back to top
jayhamm


Newbie


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 8

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 07:07:47 pm    Post subject:

That wouldn't be that hard would it? I'm no master on the send() and get() commands, but Im pretty sure all you'd need was something like:

Code:
:ClrHome
:Lbl A
:Disp Str1,Str2
:Input ("Say?",Str1 // Different on opposite calculator, but I didn't feel like making a menu to choose the Strings
:Send(Str1
:Get(Str2
:Pause
:Goto A

Obviously the code needs a bit of work, but in theory something like that should work...eh thinking on it that code wouldn't work at all...so uh...just use that as a general idea.


Last edited by Guest on 08 Mar 2004 07:11:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 08:05:17 pm    Post subject:

Couldn't you add a...

""->Str1
""->Str2
ClrHome
Lbl A
Disp Str1,Str2
Input "Say?",Str1
Str2->Str3
Send(Str1
Lbl 1
Pause // because you gotta pause before you can get it right?
Get(Str2
If Str3=Str2
Goto 1
Goto A

This would wait until the other player sends a DIFFERENT String and THEN would get out of pause rather than displaying nothing.
I'm not sure if it'd work like I planned because I forgot why I just did that...
Back to top
jayhamm


Newbie


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 8

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 08:45:03 pm    Post subject:

If you wait til tommorow I bet I can get a working code up, but because I don't have two calculators and a cord I can't...
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 09:03:08 pm    Post subject:

I want to be able to do a get send type feature for the risk game I'm making so it could be like multiplayer, but thats a little ways before I get there anyway.
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 09:18:48 pm    Post subject:

Won't be that hard, jsut send variables, unfortunately it will make for a slow game.
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 08 Mar 2004 09:46:21 pm    Post subject:

jayhamm wrote:
That wouldn't be that hard would it?  I'm no master on the send() and get() commands, but Im pretty sure all you'd need was something like:

Code:
:ClrHome
:Lbl A
:Disp Str1,Str2
:Input ("Say?",Str1 // Different on opposite calculator, but I didn't feel like making a menu to choose the Strings
:Send(Str1
:Get(Str2
:Pause
:Goto A

Obviously the code needs a bit of work, but in theory something like that should work...eh thinking on it that code wouldn't work at all...so uh...just use that as a general idea.

Is it just me or is the name of this topic "Send/recieveless Chat Prog"?
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 07:46:18 am    Post subject:

Is it just me or is the only way of calc to calc communication possible in pure basic the GetCalc( command?

Why does everybody use the Send/Get commands without knowing what they do anyway?
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 04:07:44 pm    Post subject:

I might do multiplayer although im not sure. The reason I think everybody uses get send commands without knowing what hey do is because they sound like thats what it would do.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 06:02:46 pm    Post subject:

Get( and Send( do what it sounds like they do, but to CBL/CBR. GetCalc( is what links two calcs together. It can only be used when the other calculator is paused/on homescreen/possibly in Input.

Why would somebody go to the trouble of writing a chat program so you can talk to someone six inches away?
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 07:08:16 pm    Post subject:

Thats what I alway wanted to know, ubless they make cords a few feet long.
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 08:29:06 pm    Post subject:

Or an IR or radio link.
Back to top
Bluefire


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 186

Posted: 09 Mar 2004 09:14:44 pm    Post subject:

ive been chatting with shane fry (creater of AIM for the calc, a send and recieveless chat prog he made and neways, we are just going to include more feature and work together on his prog, and BTW get( and Send( are for cbl/clr (SP?) but u can use send anyways on ur calc to send a variable to thier calc, but u cant use Get( Cool
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 10 Mar 2004 05:15:37 pm    Post subject:

What kind of person can't just talk to another person and has to use a calculator?
Back to top
Bluefire


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 186

Posted: 10 Mar 2004 06:16:59 pm    Post subject:

consider ur in school and want to cheat on a test, of course you can talk and get caught, or, you can use aimchat with an ir link to talk and never get caught
Back to top
robertak


Member


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 125

Posted: 10 Mar 2004 08:41:03 pm    Post subject:

i don't think it's very hard to see the cable...
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 10 Mar 2004 10:30:55 pm    Post subject:

I've read up on people making the wireless things. I havn't heard any big news about it in my area. It would be nice though to have them, but if u have to pay a heafty price say 15-20 bucks, im going to radio shack..."you've got questions, we've got answers" LOL.
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 10 Mar 2004 11:24:08 pm    Post subject:

What teacher lets you use your calculator on say... an english test? And also, why don't you just make a program for your test rather than buy a link for $25+?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement