This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
Author Message
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 06:06:32 pm    Post subject:

heh, i love it when people do that :lol:


looks nice kv83...
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 06:15:46 pm    Post subject:

Yeah it looks awesome. Btw I posted my first response in MaxCoderz, so sorry if this doesnt sound *enthusiastic.*

(sp?)
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 09:28:48 pm    Post subject:

That's really fast. But it seems like you're mocking Jedd. Anyways, hey Jedd, can I create a level?
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 09:37:48 pm    Post subject:

Umm, I don't take any offense. I love seeing my game go that fast.

As for creating a level, yes you can. Right now it only supports 1-screen levels with chips and keys. To create a level, scroll down a little bit in the program CHIP and you'll see a 9x8 matrix. Edit it to make your own level. Look at Pic 0 to find out the sprite numbers (and remember, many of the tiles haven't been programmed yet). 0 is an empty space. There are 12 sprites in every row of Pic 0, so row 1 is 0-11, row 2 is 12-23, etc. There is an extra line in the matrix to store the level number and the number of chips. In my demo level these numbers are 1 and 4. Enjoy!
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 09:50:10 pm    Post subject:

I'll send it to you when I finish. Are you going to create an external level accesser? If I want to really make it, tell Duckman to post the latest version.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 10:15:10 pm    Post subject:

It will include a level editor...eventually. The demo level won't be in the game though. The "latest version" has a lot of new features but also has a lot of bugs. That's why I'm not going to post it quite yet.

Btw I kinda have a problem that is difficult to fix...when Chip steps on to a directional (arrow) tile he skips a tile. This is because the getkey adds 1 to the coordinate, senses the arrow tile, and adds another 1. So he is drawn 2 away. Can anyone think of an easy way to fix that so he is actually seen on the first tile? Hopefully that makes sense...
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 10:40:24 pm    Post subject:

Wish I could help. Hey Jedd, why don't you team up with someone to help you type in the code? Maybe it could be someone in this forum.
Back to top
Duck Man


Newbie


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 14

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 11:32:47 pm    Post subject:

Hey Jedd could you have it draw it then figure out what tile it is on? ... if that makes sence. Just an idea I throw at you.
Back to top
ducttape_87


Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 141

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 11:42:01 pm    Post subject:

Hey Jedd, I could maybe make you, or help you make, a level editor similar to the one for Lode Runner. I made a different editor just for fun that uses the 12 white buttons on the calc to call up 12 different tiles.

I think you use matrices for your levels, whereas mine uses strings, but I could probably make it work.

Let me know what you think.

Eager to play more Chip's Challenge! Very Happy
Back to top
ducttape_87


Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 141

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 11:46:13 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Btw I kinda have a problem that is difficult to fix...when Chip steps on to a directional (arrow) tile he skips a tile. This is because the getkey adds 1 to the coordinate, senses the arrow tile, and adds another 1. So he is drawn 2 away. Can anyone think of an easy way to fix that so he is actually seen on the first tile? Hopefully that makes sense...


I'm not sure how your game works, but in lode runner I have a special loop for falling (which is similar to you arrow tile I think) where the character is moved without imput from the user. Maybe you could make a loop inside your main loop where the character is moved one space, drawn, moved one more space, and then drawn again. Does this make ANY sense...? Wacko


Last edited by Guest on 04 Feb 2004 11:47:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 04 Feb 2004 11:53:04 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Btw I kinda have a problem that is difficult to fix...when Chip steps on to a directional (arrow) tile he skips a tile. This is because the getkey adds 1 to the coordinate, senses the arrow tile, and adds another 1. So he is drawn 2 away. Can anyone think of an easy way to fix that so he is actually seen on the first tile? Hopefully that makes sense...


I had the same problem writing "Poquémon" a while back. You could try treating the arrow tile like a "fake keypress" event, where the program senses the tile, then "forces" Chip to move once more--as if the key had been pressed again. That way it's the same as pressing that key twice in a row.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 05 Feb 2004 12:31:27 am    Post subject:

Quote:
Hey Jedd, why don't you team up with someone to help you type in the code? Maybe it could be someone in this forum.


Maybe. If anyone is interested, let me know. But no guarantees.

Quote:
Hey Jedd could you have it draw it then figure out what tile it is on? ... if that makes sence. Just an idea I throw at you.


That's actually what I was thinking of doing until I think of something better. The only problem would be hitting walls, in which case you would see him flash in a wall for a second and then flash back.

Quote:
Hey Jedd, I could maybe make you, or help you make, a level editor similar to the one for Lode Runner. I made a different editor just for fun that uses the 12 white buttons on the calc to call up 12 different tiles.


I'll make one when I release the full version. You are welcome to make one, but my levels will eventually be multi-screen and stored in strings, so it would only be a temporary level editor.

Quote:
I'm not sure how your game works, but in lode runner I have a special loop for falling (which is similar to you arrow tile I think) where the character is moved without imput from the user. Maybe you could make a loop inside your main loop where the character is moved one space, drawn, moved one more space, and then drawn again. Does this make ANY sense...?


Yes, it does. The only thing is that it's hard to have a seperate subroutine that would perfectly time with the normal walking engine. Also, you can fight against the arrows to a certain extent. If you fight directly against the arrows, you will not move. This works quite well in the current version which uses the normal walking engine's key input.

Quote:
I had the same problem writing "Poquémon" a while back. You could try treating the arrow tile like a "fake keypress" event, where the program senses the tile, then "forces" Chip to move once more--as if the key had been pressed again. That way it's the same as pressing that key twice in a row.


That's not exactly the problem. To help you understand it better, here's what's going on:
-Key pressed
-Coordinates added according to which key was pressed*
-Tile detecting program (subroutine) sees that it is an arrow sprite
-Coordinates are added according to arrow direction*
-Return to main engine
-Draw the character

As you can see, he will move according to a key press* and technically be on the first arrow, then move again due to the arrow*. Thus it looks like he skips a tile. I think I'll go with Duck Man's answer for now.

Another possibility would be to have 2 tile detection subroutines, but this would get a bit more complicated, and probably not work correctly (or quickly).


Last edited by Guest on 05 Feb 2004 12:35:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 05 Feb 2004 04:02:45 pm    Post subject:

Jedd wrote:
Btw I kinda have a problem that is difficult to fix...when Chip steps on to a directional (arrow) tile he skips a tile.  This is because the getkey adds 1 to the coordinate, senses the arrow tile, and adds another 1.  So he is drawn 2 away.  Can anyone think of an easy way to fix that so he is actually seen on the first tile?  Hopefully that makes sense...

Why don't you have it so when it senses an arrow tile, it draws the sprite first, then it adds another, and then let the normal drawing take place
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 05 Feb 2004 11:06:32 pm    Post subject:

Maybe I'll help Jedd. Contact me with a PM if you want me to help.
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 06 Feb 2004 08:19:51 am    Post subject:

-Tile detecting program (subroutine) sees that it is an arrow sprite
-getkey loop
:::-Key pressed
:::-terminate after X cycles (if subroutine determines that it's an arrow sprite, or automatically if there are monsters.)
-Coordinates are added according to arrow direction*
-Coordinates added according to which key was pressed*
-Return to main engine
-Draw the character

that way he only skips if he's on an arrow and you press in the direction of the arrow
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 01:53:05 am    Post subject:

Hope you fixed the problem Jedd. Wish I could help. So far I've created one level on the first one.
Back to top
JeePee


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 181

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 03:02:05 pm    Post subject:

What do you think of this one?



But Jedd,
Your system of different keys doesn't work yet... Wink You can play the level now whitout collecting all the chips! Confused Wacko
Hope you'll do that very soon!


Last edited by Guest on 28 Mar 2004 09:51:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 08:15:28 pm    Post subject:

Looks good. Can you send it to me? JeePee, send it to this address: shadowing@verizon.net. Looks good though.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 09 Feb 2004 01:38:18 am    Post subject:

JeePee wrote:
What do you think of this one?



But Jedd,
Your system of different keys doesn't work yet... Wink You can play the level now whitout collecting all the chips! Confused  Wacko
Hope you'll do that very soon!

Smile That's not a bad level. I might use it, but the real levels will be more than 1 screen, so I dunno. I can promise you I will put it in the next demo release, though!

I know, that release for some reason had a huge glitch in it. It's fixed now. If you want to fix it, then at the beginning if the program CHIP write this line of code:

Fill(0,L1

That should do the trick. Keys are stored in List 1, so without that line of code the old list never gets erased. If that doesn't work let me know.

Update:
-I think I found a way to finally fix that "skip 2 tiles" problem I was having. Stay tuned!
-I won't be online as much to update you guys. I have a lot going on and I'm trying to spend all the extra time I can working on the game. I'll try my best to post an update at least once or twice a week.
-As for the game itself, I'll hopefully have all the tiles working by the end of this week. Then it's on to converting all the levels to strings (BIG project) and of course, optomizing (even BIGGER project).
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 09 Feb 2004 05:59:04 am    Post subject:

I hate Outlook Express. Hey JeePee, sorry to be a hassle, but the zip file got corrupted. Can you send it to this e-mail address? shadowing71@yahoo.com
Oh Jedd, keep up the work!!!!


Last edited by Guest on 09 Feb 2004 05:59:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 5 of 9 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement