This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. 68k Calculator Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
Kyo


Newbie


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 12:21:18 pm    Post subject:

Hi People

I want to write some code but I got a problem with the solve() function, what I got is this:

test()
Prgm
Local a,b,c,d,e
Dialog
Request "a",a
Request "b",b
Request "c",c
DropDown "solve for", {"a","b","c"},d
EndDlog
expr(a)->a
expr(a)->b
expr(a)->c
if d=1 Then
solve(m=n*(1+p)/o|m=a and p=b and o=c,n)->e
Disp e
End If
EndPrgm

And it fails on solve( with "Argument must be a variable name"

What am I doing wrong? Help!

PD: Excuse my Engrish Very Happy
Back to top
frenchcalc1
جان ألعريم


Active Member


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 648

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 02:33:15 pm    Post subject:

shouldn't this be in the 68K programming section?

Last edited by Guest on 15 Mar 2007 02:38:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 04:06:32 pm    Post subject:

I don't know anything about 68k basic, but would defining n before you try to use it change anything?

EDIT: Or maybe not defining it. Try delvar n or whatever.


Last edited by Guest on 15 Mar 2007 04:41:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 05:01:13 pm    Post subject:

@alexrudd: No, it would not. The [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]n tells the solver which variable to solve for.

@kyo: You did
[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]expr(a)->a
expr(a)->b
expr(a)->c
which should be
[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]expr(a)->a
expr(b­)->b
expr(c­)->c
though I don't think that would cause your problems. Do you mind if I neaten your code a bit? I'm not sure if it'd help, but it's worth a try.

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]test()
Prgm
Local a,b,c,d,e
Dialog
Request "a",a,0
Request "b",b,0
Request "c",c,0
DropDown "solve for", {"a","b","c"},d
EndDlog
If d=1 Then
Pause solve(expr(a)=n*(1+expr(b­))/expr(c­),n)
ClrIO
DispHome
EndIf
EndPrgm
If the [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]requests don't work, just take off the "[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"],0" at the end. It disables alpha-lock in later versions of TI-OS (at least, I think it's later versions.) Out of curiosity, what kind of calculator do you have?

Last edited by Guest on 15 Mar 2007 05:23:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Kyo


Newbie


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 05:18:06 pm    Post subject:

@IAmACalculator

Thanks for the input, but I got the same err message(It's driving me nuts) Surprised
BTW I got a Voyage.

In the expr(a)->a,b,c was just a copy/paste problem :blush:
and for the ",0" It work but the voyage don't need this.

Again thanks dude for the input. Smile
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 05:25:08 pm    Post subject:

I'm at my wit's end then. You localized all your variables, and it works perfectly on mine. Sorry, dude.
Back to top
Kyo


Newbie


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 05:49:37 pm    Post subject:

Ok, I found the problem, in the "Local" I also had "n", I delete it and work!

Thanks, you save my day!!
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 15 Mar 2007 07:39:09 pm    Post subject:

No problem, though I don't see what I did to help. Razz
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement