Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. 68k Calculator Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:11:10 pm    Post subject:

Just bought a 89 titanium because my old 83+ died on me and i have hours and hours of programming to restart from scratch. Programming on the calculator is so painful and i was wondering if there is a way to program in BASIC on your PC and then transfer it to the calculator.

I searched all over the net for info on that, and the closest thing i found was to use the Virtual t-89 emulator, but it doesn't even support the 89's usb cable(how odd is that?!) so it's totally useless to me as far as i know.

I tried putting my code into a text file and then putting it on the calculator, but it won't run it. If i change the file format that one of my current program has on the calculator
( main.programname.89p), TIconnect won't let me transfer it to the calculator because it's "unsupported". I'm just about out of ideas here.

Thanks in advance for any help you may give me.
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:23:41 pm    Post subject:

Hello, and welcome to UTI!

Sure: you can use the TI-Graph Link for the 89.
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:39:54 pm    Post subject:

Thanks..

But you either misread my question or i don't get your answer...
Back to top
kalan_vod


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 446

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:42:58 pm    Post subject:

Antifaith wrote:
Thanks..

But you either misread my question or i don't get your answer...
[post="80306"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

There is a program for the computer that will work as a program editor, and this one is for the 89 calc.
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:51:28 pm    Post subject:

Oh, ydo you mean the Brazucs link? Thought it was part of a his signature.

If it is indeed the right link, then it's not working for me, it just tells me i need to install flash, which i already have.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 23 May 2006 08:59:56 pm    Post subject:

You're a bit off-course, there. :roll:

Click here
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:07:48 pm    Post subject:

Ah, thank you Very Happy
Thought the graphlink was the name of the cable, so i thought he was telling me to use to cable to transfer files, which looked like an odd response.

Ok, so now what about the program i can use to program in BASIC on my PC?
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:11:46 pm    Post subject:

Nevermind, i installed the program and magically answered my own question. I'm stupid Razz

Thanks a bunch for the help guys.
Back to top
bukwirm


Member


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 233

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:12:13 pm    Post subject:

You can write the program using TI-Graphlink's program editor, then you have to send the program to your calculator to run it.

EDIT: Arr! We posted at the same time!


Last edited by Guest on 23 May 2006 09:12:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:21:28 pm    Post subject:

Hehe

Well i actually got one more question. The calculator uses a USB link. Graphlink only has
COM ports in the link menu, so how am i supposed to establish a connection between the PC and the calculator?

TI-Connect detects it, but it's one of the most unstable programs I've ever seen. Everytime i try to transfer something, it instantly crashes or shuts down with no warnings.
Back to top
bukwirm


Member


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 233

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:26:22 pm    Post subject:

Try TiLP?
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:30:32 pm    Post subject:

Tried it, it doesn't support the usb link. I also have the Silverlink cable from my old calculator, but that's USB as well and TILP only supports COM links.
There's a file i found on ticalc.org that supposedly adds USB support to it but it hasn't done anything for me.
Back to top
kalan_vod


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 446

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:36:08 pm    Post subject:

You edit the program on the computer, then you save it. Send it via Ticonnect or another linking program.
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 23 May 2006 09:45:16 pm    Post subject:

TIconnect crashes every single time. Reinstalled it 3 times, always the same error..
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 23 May 2006 10:37:04 pm    Post subject:

Sorry, I should have looked for the TIGL link.

That must be something with your computer then. What OS are you using? XP SP2?
Back to top
chipmaster


Active Member


Joined: 21 Sep 2005
Posts: 601

Posted: 23 May 2006 10:54:28 pm    Post subject:

Antifaith wrote:
Oh, ydo you mean the Brazucs link? Thought it was part of a his signature.

If it is indeed the right link, then it's not working for me, it just tells me i need to install flash, which i already have.
[post="80310"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

I was owned Very Happy That was awesome Brazucs!

I have a usb cable and TIConnect. It runs fine on my computer (Windows SP2).
Back to top
Antifaith


Newbie


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 15

Posted: 24 May 2006 06:52:37 am    Post subject:

Nevermind i got it working.i reinstalled it again but before doing so, reinstalled it for a 4th time, rebooted and now it works.

Go figure!
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 24 May 2006 06:55:01 am    Post subject:

I was owned too, but I closed notepad, and it went berserk and started randomly closing things. :dry:

There is a USB driver for TiLP (óClickó). Also, as an alternative for TI-Graphlink, you can use TI++ to write Basic programs, but it doesn't work too well.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement