Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
yugniht


Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 167

Posted: 04 Aug 2003 05:01:07 pm    Post subject:

I was reading a readme file on ticalc for a program that draws the mandelbrot set. It said that it uses integer operation and not floating point. Does anybody know the difference, apparently I'm not smart enough and I'm too lazy to spend time on figuring it out on my own.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 04 Aug 2003 05:49:45 pm    Post subject:

Floating point: 5.4
Integer: 5

?

EDIT: I don't know what exactly floating-point is, I think I once did, but probably not Laughing.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2003 05:50:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 04 Aug 2003 06:36:43 pm    Post subject:

floating-point means the decimal is not fixed
ex:
fp: 5
fixed(4): 5.0000

fp: 5.56
fixed(1): 5.5

integer is npthing more than fix(0) i assume cuz that removes the fractional part
Back to top
yugniht


Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 167

Posted: 04 Aug 2003 10:33:58 pm    Post subject:

no, he has to use decimal points because it's the mandelbrot set. In other words, none of it's points that are graphed are greater than two. So, there are many many decimal points. Maybe I'll email the guy. I hope he still uses the same address.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 05 Aug 2003 07:24:19 am    Post subject:

I know how he does that, the integer values don't actually represent the actual coordinates of the pixels, I'll illustrate with some code:

-2->A
2->B
A->Xmin
A->Ymin
B->Xmax
B->Ymax
B-A->E //range

randInt(1,100->C
randInt(1,100->D

pt-On(A+E/C,A+E/D
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement