This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 12:32:45 am    Post subject:

Well, I'm new to the forums, but i think ill give them a shot, basically, im working on a series of progs for the diablo 2 series (one for each act). There will be 4 weapon classes, 5 weapons to a class for a total of 20 weapons. Four pieces of armor, and 5 levels of them for a total of 20 armors. Maybe a mercenary, no magical items, (that would be a bitch to program, lol) Waypoints, and all the quests.

Just what some possiblilities and maybe some inspiration. Very Happy
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 12:41:29 am    Post subject:

Text based I assume? I'd love to see you attempt a 3d version in basic lol.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 01:00:32 am    Post subject:

Grr I hate 3d Basic games. It that's what this is. 2 words: don't try. No one will play it cuz it will suck. But if it's not, then I wish you luck and can't wait to play it! Smile
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 11:50:49 am    Post subject:

2D might not be that bad? Reject if you want to anybody. . . I wish your game luck if you decide to do it.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 01:14:12 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, 2D games are fun, and don't go too slow in Basic. That's what I say you should do.
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 01:15:38 pm    Post subject:

Yes it will be text based, but I am doing some pics for it, the bestiary and weapons will have pics. If anyone has some help, plz post it here. If interested in reviewing some some code and maybe help compress it it would be MUCH appreciated, i usually need help with that. The other game i made is text based and its 11500 in size, HAHA.

so anyway, without a lawsuit from blizzard for tweaking their game slightly to make it VIABLE for the TI83, i think it will be great. Very Happy
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 04:39:17 pm    Post subject:

What was the other game?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 06:34:21 pm    Post subject:

'Sounds promising to me! If your game is highly text-based and less than 16K, I'd avoid software compression. I learned the hard way that text isn't very compressable, because of the nature of ASCII--and the code size would outweight the benefits. Plus there's not really a good marketplace of effective BASIC compressors out there...
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 10:02:31 pm    Post subject:

My other game was a game called "Stock Market"

Its my version of a clean "DrugWars" so the teachers cant complain, but i have always been a fan of that game. It has 3 item types and 5 levels of them (cars, clothes, and houses). You are a lowly entrupeneur in a paperbag and your goal is to make 100 000 000 out of 100 dollars, it features 4 cities and 3 difficulty settings.
If you are interested, contact me at foodforthought07@yahoo.com and i will mail it to you.

As for my Diablo game, i hope it doesnt get that big, i wil have one seperate game for each act. This presents a problem for me....

I dont know how to carry your charachter stats from one act to the next... so maybe i could embed a ":prgmDIABLO2" line in there, but would it save the variables?

Please help me make this game better and i will be SURE to include anyones name who actually gave me something useful. Very Happy

So again, if you want a copy of my other game email me at foodforthought07@yahoo.com.


Last edited by Guest on 29 Feb 2004 06:46:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 10:04:54 pm    Post subject:

now what help do you need?
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 10:35:31 pm    Post subject:

An answer to any of the questions (and maybe examples) that i have posted, such as how to carry on information from act to act or, maybe just how to have a main prog and link in subroutines, any information on that would be MUCH appreciated.

Information on how to save more than 10 pics (if possible). Any information taht may be useful to me. Anything you think would help make the game better.

and if someone could creat a little 2D battle subroutine. One for someone with a sword, one for a bow, and one for spells. That would be great. Or maybe someone tell me how to. sorta like how mortal combat is set up, health bars and two guys facing each other. Either that or text based fighting and i know there is a better choice.


Last edited by Guest on 29 Feb 2004 06:47:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 10:41:38 pm    Post subject:

There's a program to save more than 10 pics or you can convert them to strings. You can save stats between acts by using the same list to store the stats. One of the simplest ways to compress your code is to not use closing parenthesis or quotation marks on BASIC functions like:
Output(1,1,"Hey
Instead of
Output(1,1,"Hey")
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 28 Feb 2004 10:47:47 pm    Post subject:

ok, thx

but could i have it look like this


[start program]
INTRO
(run program for act 1)
(run program for act 2)
(run program for act 3)
(run program for act 4)
(run program for act 5)
CLOSING
[end program]

would this work?

also, what is the program to have more than 10 pics? Neutral


Last edited by Guest on 29 Feb 2004 06:48:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 07:03:07 am    Post subject:

Is there a way to [:prompt] or [:input] on the graph screen? It always goes to the home and im trying to stay out of there as much as possible.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 08:42:39 am    Post subject:

FoodForThought wrote:
Is there a way to [:prompt] or [:input] on the graph screen? It always goes to the home and im trying to stay out of there as much as possible.

Yes, and routines that do this have been posted a bunch of times on this forum, go search a bit for it.

forums.unitedti.org/index.php?showtopic=1303 for example


Last edited by Guest on 29 Feb 2004 08:43:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 08:49:49 am    Post subject:

Why dont you use some asm routines with your basic programs?
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 03:08:59 pm    Post subject:

i dont know ANY asm :D

and i searced for about 10 min with no success, cant you cut me a break acrcane an help a poor ASM fool out? Rolling Eyes


Last edited by Guest on 29 Feb 2004 03:22:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
FoodForThought


Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 12

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 06:59:22 pm    Post subject:

Im sad to say that this game will be discontinued because my sibling though it funny to delete the programs i worked tirelessly on for hours, thus loseing all progress and ground, i lack motivattion to do it all over again. Maybe next year.

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Back to top
X1011
10100111001


Active Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 657

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 09:09:39 pm    Post subject:

You shoulda backed it up to your computer.
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 29 Feb 2004 09:19:30 pm    Post subject:

ahh. someone got delete happy, if he/she is over 11, get a bit physical, in other words, make an inverted print of a calculator on several parts of there body(s). this is just a suggestion! dont flame me!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement