This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 02:50:15 pm    Post subject:

I am making a useless utility for the hell of it...I seen on the yatzee basic program that it had a menu with two arrows that moved up and down on the menu. Of course when u hit enter it did that thing u selected.

The point/question/facts/
I want to put this into my program but i have no idea.

The program:
http://awesome1.freewebpage.org/ROBSUTIL.zip

Screenshot:
http://awesome1.freewebpage.org/Robsutil_s-s-01.jpg

Wants:

I want en arrow on the left, Like below, but i want it to move up and down as obviously u press the up and down arrows staying in the same column it moves up and down in, But i want it to go to a lable such as Lbl FG (garbage collect).

Anyone know how to neatly incorperate this into a neatly written script/source?
_______________________
|.......Robs Utilites.............|
|-------------------------------
| Fake Garbage Collect .>.|
| Calc Lock......................|
| Calc Crash....................|
| Math Helper v.02............|
| Screen Saver.................|
| How To PRGM.................|
|......................................|
|------------------------------|

(the arrow moves up and down, Staying in the same column it moves up and down in, ALSO the dots are for it to keep its form for the posting)

Sincerely,
Rob H
Awesome1

P.S. I like my postings to look neat as u can tell... Laughing Laughing


Last edited by Guest on 07 Feb 2004 02:51:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 02:55:12 pm    Post subject:

//draw text here
0->B
Repeat K=105 //repeat until enter is pressed
getKey->K
If Ans:Text(B,70," " //8 spaces, change 70 to move the horizontal position of the arrow
B+7(Ans=34 and B<56)-7(Ans=25 and B>0->B
Text(B,70,"<- //again, change the 70 to move the horizontal position of the arrow
End
X/7->X //calculate which option was selected
If X=1:Goto 1 //goto appropriate label


Last edited by Guest on 07 Feb 2004 02:59:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 03:35:11 pm    Post subject:

The program half worked:
http://awesome1.freewebpage.org/RobsUtil_Ani.gif

But the arrow doesn't start at garbage collect, and it leaves a trail of where it last was...

Thankyou verymuch for helping me out in adavance

Awesome1
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 03:59:49 pm    Post subject:

You need to play with it a bit, you'll learn more that way =)

You need to change the bolded stuff:

12->B
Repeat K=105 //repeat until enter is pressed
getKey->K
If Ans:Text(B,80," " //8 spaces
B+7(Ans=34 and B<52)-7(Ans=25 and B>12->B
Text(B,80,"<-
End
X/7->X //please post your source code if you have trouble getting this line to work properly
If X=1:Goto 1
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 07:04:23 pm    Post subject:

thank you very much. I fine tuned it to suit my needs. All I needed to do is think like a basic program. LOL, this is the final source:

clrdraw
axesoff
clrhome
horizontal -160..............................//Displays the lines which make the box
vertial -160..................................//Displays the lines which make the box
horizontal 160..............................//Displays the lines which make the box
virtical 160..................................//Displays the lines which make the box
horizontal 110.............................//Displays the line under "Robs Utilities
text(2,28,"Robs Utilities"
text(12,2,"Fake Garbage Collect"
text(19,2,"Calc Lock"
text(26,2,"Calc Crash"
text(33,2,"Math Helper v.02"
text(40,2,"Screen Savor"
text(47,2,"How To PRGM"
12->B.......................................//Stores the 12 as B which is the X axis
Repeat k=105............................//Sets the button to be pushed
getkey->k.................................//Stores the key value into K
If ans:text(B,80," "............//Displays the blank so that the "<-" has no tail
B=7(Ans=34 and B<52)-7(Ans=25 and B>12->Cool...//tells when up or down is pushed to move the "<-" up and down"
text(B,80,"<--".........................//Displays the "<-"
end.........................................//Loops it
If B=12:Goto FG......................//Tells if the curser is at 12,80 (Garbage Collect), to go to the label that the program is at. (Lbl GC in this case)
If B=19:Goto CL......................//Tells if the curser is at 19,80 (Calc Lock), to go to the label that the program is at. (Lbl CL in this case)


If you need a very detailed description of the source, don't be afraid to e-mail me Wink

If I typed the wrong thing that the string does, my bad... :wacko:



Happy programming,
Rob H
Awesome1


Last edited by Guest on 07 Feb 2004 07:55:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 09:03:59 pm    Post subject:

try this code out


Code:
39üA
39üB
39üC
39üD
0üF
0üE
ClrDraw
Lbl A

Text(10,15,"CAN I HELP YOU ",Str0,"?"
Text(20,40,"BUY"
Text(28,40,"SELL"
Text(36,40,"TALK"
Text(44,40,"NOTHING"



Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2

Line(30,A,35,A
Line(34,B,36,A
Line(34,C,36,A
Line(34,B,34,C
Pt-Off(35,A



B-1üB
C+1üC

D+1üD


If Dù3
Then
E+1üE
If E=3
Then
AüB
AüC
0üD
0üE
End
C-2üC
B+2üB

End
getKeyüK



If K=25
Then

Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(33,A
Pt-Off(32,A
Pt-Off(31,A
Pt-Off(30,A
A+8üA
AüB
AüC
End




If K=34
Then

Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(33,A
Pt-Off(32,A
Pt-Off(31,A
Pt-Off(30,A
A-8üA
AüB
AüC
End
If A=47
Then
15üA
AüB
AüC
End
If A=7
Then
39üA
AüB
AüC
End
Goto A


this took me 4evr to do


Last edited by Guest on 07 Feb 2004 09:06:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 10:37:08 pm    Post subject:

Im sure it's cool and all but what does it have to do with a menu? J/A

What is the "ü" in the calc?

Rob H
Awesome1
Back to top
Bluefire


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 186

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 10:48:15 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Posted on Feb 8 2004, 03:37 AM
  Im sure it's cool and all but what does it have to do with a menu? J/A

What is the "ü" in the calc?


that would be what the store arrow looks like on normal text boxes (like this)
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 11:31:06 pm    Post subject:

oh ok, the source makes sence now. It is a menu i think...??? help me here...
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 07 Feb 2004 11:48:54 pm    Post subject:

The source has some santax errors in it. I would gladly test it as u develop it, u can e-mail me at awesum1@rochester.rr.com
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 02:29:25 pm    Post subject:

Lbl GS
39üA
39üB
39üC
39üD
0üF
0üE
ClrDraw
For(Z,5,9
While Z
Text(10,15,"CAN I HELP YOU ",Str0,"?"
Text(20,40,"BUY"
Text(28,40,"SELL"
Text(36,40,"TALK"
Text(44,40,"NOTHING"



Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2

Line(30,A,35,A
Line(34,B,36,A
Line(34,C,36,A
Line(34,B,34,C
Pt-Off(35,A



B-1üB
C+1üC

D+1üD


If Dù3
Then
E+1üE
If E=3
Then
AüB
AüC
0üD
0üE
End
C-2üC
B+2üB

End
getKeyüK



If K=25
Then

Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(33,A
Pt-Off(32,A
Pt-Off(31,A
Pt-Off(30,A
A+8üA
AüB
AüC
End




If K=34
Then

Pt-Off(34,A
Pt-Off(35,A
Pt-Off(36,A
Pt-Off(34,A+1
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(34,A-1
Pt-Off(35,A-1
Pt-Off(34,A-2
Pt-Off(34,A+2
Pt-Off(35,A+1
Pt-Off(33,A
Pt-Off(32,A
Pt-Off(31,A
Pt-Off(30,A
A-8üA
AüB
AüC
End
If A=47
Then
15üA
AüB
AüC
End
If A=7
Then
39üA
AüB
AüC
End
If K=105 and A=15
Then
ClrDraw
Text(40,10,"OK THEN, COME BACK LATER."
Pause
Goto QQ
End
If A=23 and K=105
Then
End
If A=39 and K=105
Then
End
End


Here, this should be better, i pulled this srtaight from final fantasy. it is a menu that has a rotating arrow for the selector thingy
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 02:32:22 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
ü


That denotes "store" or ' -> ' right?
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 04:30:51 pm    Post subject:

Jeremiah Walgren wrote:
Quote:
ü


That denotes "store" or ' -> ' right?

Yes.

People, please take the time to change those annoying and confusing characters that represent store symbols and such into more comprehensable characters when posting source code. With a text editor's search and replace function it should only take several seconds.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 06:12:24 pm    Post subject:

Staff, could you make a filter that replaces those characters with their equivalents?
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 09:08:44 pm    Post subject:

That is a S**t load to type in. E-mail me the program. U need to fix

Quote:
Text(10,15,"CAN I HELP YOU ",Str0,"?"



To

Quote:
Input "Can i help you? ",Str0


I get a santax

But looks good but needs to be more developed. A little slow too. Try changing the number of pixels the arrow moves when u press up and down
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 09:15:50 pm    Post subject:

This is my code:
Quote:
clrdraw
axesoff
clrhome
horizontal -160..............................//Displays the lines which make the box
vertial -160..................................//Displays the lines which make the box
horizontal 160..............................//Displays the lines which make the box
virtical 160..................................//Displays the lines which make the box
horizontal 110.............................//Displays the line under "Robs Utilities
text(2,28,"Robs Utilities"
text(12,2,"Fake Garbage Collect"
text(19,2,"Calc Lock"
text(26,2,"Calc Crash"
text(33,2,"Math Helper v.02"
text(40,2,"Screen Savor"
text(47,2,"How To PRGM"
12->B.......................................//Stores the 12 as B which is the X axis
Repeat k=105............................//Sets the button to be pushed
getkey->k.................................//Stores the key value into K
If ans:text(B,80,"      "...................//Displays the blank so that the "<-" leaves no trail
B=7(Ans=34 and B<52)-7(Ans=25 and B>12->Cool...//tells when up or down is pushed to move the "<-" up and down"
text(B,80,"<--".........................//Displays the "<-"
end.........................................//Loops it
If B=12:Goto FG......................//Tells if the curser is at 12,80 (Fake Garbage Collect), to go to the label that the program is at. (Lbl FC in this case)
If B=19:Goto CL......................//Tells if the curser is at 19,80 (Calc Lock), to go to the label that the program is at. (Lbl CL in this case)


With some help from Arcane Wizard this code was developed. Works very well for a basic menu...

If you use for a base of menu, give credit to me for main idea, and code modification, and to Arcane Wizard for the origional code that made the menu function in the first place.

Rob H
**Awesome1**


Last edited by Guest on 08 Feb 2004 09:21:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 08 Feb 2004 09:42:13 pm    Post subject:

the email should be along shortly.


also,
Quote:
Input "Can i help you? ",Str0
pauses and puts you on the homescreen, also it comprimises the whole rotating cursor, with the # of spaces when up or down, that was specialised for my menu, remember, i pulled it out of my game

you'll see when you get the program
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 10 Feb 2004 07:48:43 am    Post subject:

Make sure you have str0 before running the program. Smile
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 10 Feb 2004 02:45:42 pm    Post subject:

This is the menu I use (feel free to optimize):
---------------------------BEGIN CODE SNIPET---------------------------
:0->Xmin
:94->Xmax
:-62->Ymin
:0->Ymax
:Text(0,4,"Option1
:Text(6,4,"Option2
:Text(12,4,"Option3
:Lbl 1
:1->A
:Line(0,-1,0,-5
:Line(1,-2,1,-4
:Pt-On(2,-3
:Goto 0
:Lbl 2
:2->A
:Line(0,-7,0,-11
:Line(1,-8,1,-10
:Pt-On(2,-9
:Goto 0
:Lbl 3
:3->A
:Line(0,-13,0,-17
:Line(1,-14,1,-16
:Pt-On(2,-15
:Lbl 0
:Repeat B=25 or B=34 or B=105
:Getkey->B
:End
:Line(0,-1,0,-17,0
:Line(1,-2,1,-16,0
:Line(2,-3,2,-15,0
:If B=25 and A=1 or B=34 and A=2
:Goto 3
:If B=25 and A=2 or B=34 and A=3
:Goto 1
:If B=25 and A=3 or B=34 and A=1
:Goto 2
:If B=105 and A=1
:prgmOPTION1
:If B=105 and A=2
:prgmOPTION2
:If B=105 and A=3
:prgmOPTION3
---------------------------END CODE SNIPET---------------------------

I've color coded various pieces of code based on how they should be modified:
* The Orange and Green parts can be changed independently(sp?) of each other.
* When you change one of something that is Blue, change all the Blue ones by the same amount.
* When you change one of something that is Red, change all the Red ones of the same type (Line() or Text()) by the same amount, and then change the Red ones of the other type by the negative of that amount.

Enjoy ^_^


Last edited by Guest on 10 Feb 2004 02:49:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 10 Feb 2004 07:51:12 pm    Post subject:

Can u send me that program through e-mail? The .8xp file. Makes it a whole not easier to get a look at it without spending 10-15min typing it in and find out u don't like it...lol

opps, forgot e-mail...lol
awesum1@rochester.rr.com (better chance of getting my attention)

or

ti83programming2004@yahoo.com


Last edited by Guest on 10 Feb 2004 07:53:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement