This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 11 Jun 2003 06:43:00 pm    Post subject:

They were stolen by ducks.

Back to basic: if you ever need to compress a list, and all the numbers in it are positive, you can do RLE using -A,B where B is the repeated number, and +A is the number of times to copy it. (I told you I was crazy, and see, I compress lists in basic.)
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 11 Jun 2003 06:56:02 pm    Post subject:

Each list element is 9 bytes, so you can actually compress each element.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 05:37:56 am    Post subject:

What is RLE exactly ?
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 07:58:15 am    Post subject:

RLE is a compression routine. Data occurring more than 3 times in a row is compressed as Flag byte, data byte, times to copy byte.
FF is the most common flag byte
4 is often subtracted from the times to copy byte, so:
FF 04 03 would decompress as 04 04 04 04 04 04 04
because the flag (FF) says the next two bytes are compressed data, and 04 is coppied 03+04 times, so you have seven 04s in a row

In my case, -? was the flag element and the times-to-copy element, because the fact of it being negative was the flag, the ? was the number of times to copy. the next element was the data
-4,23 would decompress as 23,23,23,23
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 09:49:05 am    Post subject:

BTW, RLE stands for Run Length Encoding.
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 09:50:13 am    Post subject:

or u could just convert the list 2 a string


Code:
"{->Str2
For(A,1,dim(LLIST
LLIST(A->N
prgm(theta)N2S
Str2+Str1+",->Str2
End
Str2+"}->Str2


simple decompress:

Code:
expr(Str2->LLIST


Last edited by Guest on 12 Jun 2003 09:56:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
gorchy


Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 19

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 12:32:10 pm    Post subject:

Confused what sens has compressing a list Confused
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 01:36:51 pm    Post subject:

Saving memory.
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 12 Jun 2003 02:21:46 pm    Post subject:

Especially since my list is rather redundant
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 13 Jun 2003 02:09:28 am    Post subject:

Not only that, each element of a list is a 9 byte floating #.

Think of how much space is wasted!
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 13 Jun 2003 06:09:27 am    Post subject:

especially if a list element is "0". 9b -> 1b (bytes, not binary).
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 21 Jun 2003 02:45:54 pm    Post subject:

HELP! I'm trying to make a program that compresses pics and lists, and I need some good algorythms. By the way, strings are kind of a bad option for me because of the filenaming conventions used by my program. Thx.
Back to top
Spyderbyte


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 372

Posted: 21 Jun 2003 09:17:35 pm    Post subject:

There was a whole section at Cirrus about this. Check it out:

Picture Compression

Hope this helps!

Spyderbyte
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 24 Jun 2003 11:15:27 am    Post subject:

Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad
Is there a prgm that you know of that will do this?

Or is there one that will store it and then make and restore it as a pic,
like your pic is pic 1 but you put another game on that uses pic 1. so if you run that prgm it will remake and stor the pic as 1?
Back to top
yugniht


Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 167

Posted: 09 Jul 2003 08:53:49 pm    Post subject:

I don't think these are undocumented, but maybe just hard to find...maybe

1.)you can find out how many digits are in a number with: int(log(# or variable)+1)

2.)If you ran out of variables, pretty hard to do but I guess it can happen, just go to the Finance menu, under the "Apps" button for the 83+, and press the right arrow button so that you are now on the variables menu. You can use just about any of these to store a number to. If I remember right, you can't Delvar "whatever variable here" but instead, you must do 0->"whatever variable here"
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 09 Jul 2003 11:00:18 pm    Post subject:

u could use lists if u run out (of the extras...)...

Last edited by Guest on 09 Jul 2003 11:00:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 14 Jul 2003 03:08:31 pm    Post subject:

thats a lot of variables if u have to go to lists. i use lists as to not have to mess with the user's variables, so he/she doesnt have to worry about them being deleted
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 14 Jul 2003 07:04:33 pm    Post subject:

And you don't have to worry about your data getting messed up. Usefull in lists that save progress in rpg's for example.
Back to top
JacobdeHaan


Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 165

Posted: 17 Jul 2003 01:41:28 am    Post subject:

Well, I accidentally came up with this one (all by myself Very Happy I'm so proud *sniff*:
If you have your screen zoomed out (like the area where a pixel equals a point) you can make a "blind"-like command using just the GridOn command.
I know it is kinda slow, but it is pretty small and neat.
Back to top
Tyler


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 352

Posted: 17 Jul 2003 12:24:51 pm    Post subject:

...A pixel is always a point on the screen...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 29, 30, 31  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 4 of 31 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement