This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Celtic III => Your Projects
Author Message
JoeYoung


Advanced Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 316

Posted: 11 Feb 2009 03:26:44 pm    Post subject:

So, I decided to go on a short haitus from Pokemon to start on a smaller project designed to familiarize myself with CelticIII ( so I can eventually apply it to Pokemon ). The new project is a secret ;)

However, I want to come to terms with the possible errors found in CelticII, just so I can fins workarounds or anything else I need to know. When I applied the original Pokemon Stadium v0.31 with CelticIII instead of xLib, basically it ran exactly the same, and it worked quite well except for one SMALL issue.

Sprite displaying works ok for almost all of the Pokemon. However, the first four ( Bulbasaur, Ivysaur, Venasaur, Charmander ), which are all located in Pic11 (token is GDB1), come out as static when using the spritedraw comand. You can actually see part of Bulbasaur, but Charmander is completely engulfed in static ( the other two Pokemon weren't featured yet ). I'm not sure if this is conflicting with the Pic0-Pic9 trouble, but RecallPic on CelticIII works fine with all the pic variables. Is this something with a simple workaround, or do I have to shift all of the sprites over by one pic?

Also, any SPECIFIC info that is not in the README regarding bugs or inconsistencies is welcome. I hope to master CelticIII, as there are some incredibly awesome things I can do with it regarding RAM conservation. It actually makes all this Pokemon business feasible.

Also, later when I'm not at school I can link you guys to Pokemon Stadium v0.31 if you are interested. It's not quite that far improved from v0.25 except for the extra Pokemon and attacks ( and nine of the special effects of these attacks, such as sleep infliction, don't work yet ). It will be the last xLib version I plan to release.
Back to top
Iambian


Advanced Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 423

Posted: 12 Feb 2009 12:09:50 am    Post subject:

As far as sprite compatibility goes, I think it's all in the Readme file. At the risk of not saying something that isn't, I'm going to post it here.

1. Unaligned sprites that are bigger than 64 x 64 won't clip properly.
2. Aligned sprites won't correctly clip on the top and left edges.

Apart from that, I don't know about compatibility issues.
Also, you might want to explore some of the extensions to the commands found in Celtic III, such as sprite inversion.

The Pic ## addressing is a semi-known bug. I hope to resolve that as soon as I can find a nice holding point for my CaDan project.
Back to top
Iambian


Advanced Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 423

Posted: 12 Feb 2009 10:45:19 pm    Post subject:

Sorry for the double-post but I need to "bump" this to get a question hopefully answered.

metagross111 wrote:
Sprite displaying works ok for almost all of the Pokemon. However, the first four ( Bulbasaur, Ivysaur, Venasaur, Charmander ), which are all located in Pic11 (token is GDB1), come out as static when using the spritedraw comand. You can actually see part of Bulbasaur, but Charmander is completely engulfed in static ( the other two Pokemon weren't featured yet ). I'm not sure if this is conflicting with the Pic0-Pic9 trouble, but RecallPic on CelticIII works fine with all the pic variables. Is this something with a simple workaround, or do I have to shift all of the sprites over by one pic?


I might want to know a little more about the circumstances relating to the error.
Basically, I want to know the offending lines of code and possibly whether or not the image was archived. Also, were you using the PicArc extensions and its database features?
Back to top
JoeYoung


Advanced Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 316

Posted: 13 Feb 2009 12:48:00 am    Post subject:

Iambian wrote:
Sorry for the double-post but I need to "bump" this to get a question hopefully answered.

metagross111 wrote:
Sprite displaying works ok for almost all of the Pokemon. However, the first four ( Bulbasaur, Ivysaur, Venasaur, Charmander ), which are all located in Pic11 (token is GDB1), come out as static when using the spritedraw comand. You can actually see part of Bulbasaur, but Charmander is completely engulfed in static ( the other two Pokemon weren't featured yet ). I'm not sure if this is conflicting with the Pic0-Pic9 trouble, but RecallPic on CelticIII works fine with all the pic variables. Is this something with a simple workaround, or do I have to shift all of the sprites over by one pic?


I might want to know a little more about the circumstances relating to the error.
Basically, I want to know the offending lines of code and possibly whether or not the image was archived. Also, were you using the PicArc extensions and its database features?


The PIC in question was archived. All of them are. The offending line of code was ( I put it twice to refer to bulbasaur and charmander )


Code:
real( 1, -3, 18, 5, 26, 11, 0, 00, 2, 1, 1)
real( 1, -3, 18, 5, 26, 11, 5, 26, 2, 1, 1)


both are located in PIC 11, bulbasaur the first sprite on the top left, and charmander the bottom right out of 4 sprites. no PicArc extensions or database features were used. I simply replaced xLib with CelticIII.
Back to top
Iambian


Advanced Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 423

Posted: 13 Feb 2009 11:38:09 pm    Post subject:

Try to unarchive the offending Pic file. If this remedies the problem, then I'll know it's one of those "well-known" but ever elusive bug that prevents images from being read out of archive properly.

Ever elusive, because even though I "know" where the offending routines are, they continue to appear like they're correctly coded.
Back to top
JoeYoung


Advanced Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 316

Posted: 14 Feb 2009 12:46:43 am    Post subject:

its a moot point now. in a flash of brilliance i wrote a program that copied each pic to the variable numbered right after it for the entire sprite library, and rearchived and everything.

after a small modification to the program, the game ran perfectly. thanks anyway, Iambian!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement