I wrote a simple DMX driver for Axe programs. It uses assembly opcodes to access the link port and the CPU timer, but it's designed to be included into normal Axe programs and accessed through a subroutine. I am not an expert at assembly though, so it may have errors. If I was better at assembly then I might make it into an axiom instead of an include file since it's pretty much all assembly anyway.

The problem is that I can't test the driver out on a real DMX system because a) I don't have any DMX or link cables to splice, and b) I'm not an electrical engineer, so I have no idea if such a cable is even possible. If it is, how simple would it be to make? Is it as easy as connecting the ring/tip to the pins, or does it require more work to make them compatible?

The rest of this post describes the workings of DMX. Most of the following information I found at http://www.dmx512-online.com/physl.html and http://elationlighting.com/pdffiles/dmx-101-handbook.pdf.

DMX cables use XLR connectors. They have 5 pins in a semicircle arrangement, but only the first 3 are used. Pin 1 is ground, Pin 2 is the negative data wire, and Pin 3 is the positive data wire. Pins 4 and 5 are spare. The pins are numbered counterclockwise from the top left on the male connector, and clockwise from the top right on the female connector. Here's a diagram:

One thing worth mentioning: Although my diagram is labeled as an XLR connector, and technically XLR cables should be interchangeable with DMX cables, they are not suitable for DMX wiring in the real world because they can't carry a 250 kHz signal well. Never replace a DMX cable with an XLR cable.