I have an idea for a project and can use some advice on what resources to consult next.

Context:
I teach high school physics and I would like to build some lab equipment for a rotational motion experiment. I have some background using Arduinos and think I can easily make the Arduino control a motor and monitor its speed. But I'm looking for a cheap and easy way to input data to the Arduino and display the rate at which the motor is spinning. All of my students have TI calculators, so rather than buying LCD displays and keypads for each setup, I was thinking...

Project:
I'd like to connect a TI Calculator to the Arduino using the calculator's link port. I only need the calculator to do the most basic things:
1) It must be able to read a three-digit number (the RPM) sent from the Arduino and display it on the calculator's screen;
2) It must be able to send numbers typed on the keypad to the Arduino.

I have never done any z80 programming. I'm guessing I won't have to learn too much of it, but how should I get started? Are there code snippets available that would do these things?

I have not yet done any Arduino projects that send and receive serial data, except through the USB port to the computer. I'm guessing I will need to use RX and TX on pins 0 and 1. Do I use these in conjunction with software serial library? Any recommendations on tutorials or examples I should look at?

Thanks for any advice!

Sean
Well I know Kerm has written routines for interfacing with TI's link protocol on the Arduino. I'd bet you could then interface with it via TI-Basic's Get( and Send( commands if you are worried about learning ASM. The other option is to learn ASM, "Learn TI 83 Plus ASM in 28 days" is the popular tutorial there, and write your own linking protocol for use with this project. I'm sure Kerm can help you with both of those much more since he wrote the code for the globalCalcnet Arduino bridge code, let alone designing all of gCn.