I've been trying to write something similar to tari's mkg3a for a different format recently, but I've run into some troubles. The main trouble is that I'm, how shall I put it, completely and utterly incompetent in any normal or usable language ("Hello world" took me the better part of an hour to understand...).

By some miracle, I managed to get GCC to work in both Cygwin and Linux, which means that I can successfully compile stuff.

So, at this point, I should probably post what I have so far. I would do that if I had anything, but I don't. Here's an empty box showing where it would otherwise go:

Code:
/* Code goes here*/

What I don't really understand is the entirety of C. What's with the Main() thing? Why do you have to declare machine variables? How do you do string comparison? What the heck is this mess with pointers that don't appear to behave like the integers they are? What are all of these %n or \n things that make absolutely no sense?

So, I'm a newbie/n00b with no basic understanding of what I'm trying to do Razz
It sounds to me like we might be better off trying to get you to write some simpler programs first, but I'll try to answer all your questions as well as I can. I'd suspect that you're so used to working in low-level languages like SH3 that you're underestimating what C can do for you. Anyway, answers to your questions, in more-or-less the proper order: