In class we have been learning to convert decimal to Binary, octal, and now Hexadecimal. I've been working on a program that does all the converting for you, but so far only have decimal->binary, and decimal->octal. I have no idea how to take up decimal->hexadecimal because of the 1-9 and a-f. Take a look at my format an what not so far;

Code:

:Lbl 1
:4->X
:17->Y
:ClrHome
:Input "DECIMAL: ",D
:D->C
:Output(3,1,"Binary
:While D>0
:Y-1->Y
:fPart(D/2)->F
:iPart(D/2)->D
:If F=.5
:Then
:Output(X,Y,"1
:Else
:Output(X,Y,"0
:End:End
:Output(5,1,"OCTAL
:X+2->X
:While C>0
:fPart(C/8)->F
:iPart(C/8)->C
:F(8)->F
:Output(X,Y,F
:End
:Pause
:Goto1

That's what I have so far. I'm still a noob programmer, so I don't think everything is "optimized". Any ideas on how to add hexadecimal? Sad
joshie75 wrote:
In class we have been learning to convert decimal to Binary, octal, and now Hexadecimal. I've been working on a program that does all the converting for you, but so far only have decimal->binary, and decimal->octal. I have no idea how to take up decimal->hexadecimal because of the 1-9 and a-f. Take a look at my format an what not so far;

Code:

That's what I have so far. I'm still a noob programmer, so I don't think everything is "optimized". Any ideas on how to add hexadecimal? Sad

For hex, you need to use a string, since in decimal, A-F would be 10-15 iirc, so just use inString() with the string it is searching through as "0123456789ABCDEF" and it will give the decimal value of hex, thought that is if I did remember hex to decimal correct.
See I'm no expert at Hexadecimal, so I asked my teacher;
how would you convert a number such as 47 decimal, into Hex. So we started working it out and it went something like this...

16/47 . . . . Goes in twice, remainder of 15, 15 converts to F. F=LSB
where do you go from there?
Convert base 10 into an n-base like this. I will use 150 as a base 10 number and I will convert it into hexadecimal.