:else
:if Y=12
:then
:output(1,11,"*
:output(1,12,"*
:output(1,13,"*
:end:end

so this script is all i have so far.
sorry if this isn't written to professional programers standard btw, i just started programming this summer and haven't don't a lot with games. so far this lets your car/ship "V" move left and right.. but when you hit the walls you "crash" making an explosion. what i want now are suggestions on where to go from here. i was thinking about making random ships/cars come towards you and you have to dodge them? anyone have anything better?

thanks in advance :)
OH! p.s, muffinmcfluffin this is the game i asked you about, and thanks for the help so far on it :) (sorry if i spelled your name wrong, i just guessed.
You actually got MufinMcFluffin's name almost exactly right! Welcome to Cemetech, it's great to have you here. We will certainly help you learn BASIC, and hopefully we can teach you a few things about using capital letters at the same time. Wink So, regarding your code, do you want some general suggestions on improving that (for example, you have several memory leaks), or would you prefer more general suggestions on how to add features. To point out one memory leak:

Code:
:if Y=5 or Y=12
:goto 1
:end
A memory leak is whenever you Goto out of a Then/End, For/End, Repeat/End, or While/End construction. You could fix this, for example, with:

Code:
:If Y=5 or Y=12
:Goto 1

Also, if you want something to turn .8xp files into source code for you:

http://sc.cemetech.net

Edit: Joshie, if you wrap your ASCII art in [code] tags, the spacing gets preserved. Please edit your post rather than double-posting if it's within 12 or 24 hours from the post directly before it.
Just suggestions on what kind of game content to put in there, ya know?
And for that memory leak fix, I thought you have to have an end for every loop command?
joshie75 wrote:
Just suggestions on what kind of game content to put in there, ya know?