As some of you know, I am learning (or attempting to learn) ASM. I have finished TI-83+ ASM For The Absolute Beginner, and on the way to another tutorial, Learn TI-83+ ASM in 28 Days. But before I do that, I need to write my own ASM program. Where should I start?
adamac15 wrote:
As some of you know, I am learning (or attempting to learn) ASM. I have finished TI-83+ ASM For The Absolute Beginner, and on the way to another tutorial, Learn TI-83+ ASM in 28 Days. But before I do that, I need to write my own ASM program. Where should I start?
Well, the simplest ASM program would be one that displays some text onscreen, namely the canonical "Hello World" program. Have you set up the DCS SDK to help you assemble programs?
I don't think so. How do I do that?
adamac15 wrote:
Just download this and unpack it somewhere on your computer:

http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/341/34192.html

The included PDF has a chapter on using the SDK, but the short version is to store your .asm source code files in the /asm/source/ directory and create batch files in the main /asm/ directory that contain, for example, "compile hello" to compile the program named "hello.asm".
I already have this downloaded. Ill check it out sometime.
Very Happy Of course, if you want you should check out my new devkit called TIC83+. I compiles TI83 Progs, TI83+ Progs, TI83+ Apps, TI83+ OSes, TI83+ Rom Images, and exports .bin and .hex files. It comes with the emulator WabbitEmu, a ti83+ romdump, my own grayscale for apps include file, the header to build an Os, and my HUGE include file called tic83plus.inc
It has a romdump? Are you sure that's legal?
adamac15 wrote:
I already have this downloaded. Ill check it out sometime.
Excellent, glad to hear it. Everything's already there, so you don't need to download anything extra.