I have a TI-84 with a broken screen.
I have a 2x1 inch solar cell.
I have an unusually copious amount of spare aluminum sheet metal.
I have a number of spare digital watches.
I have some experience with basic electronics(flashing light timers and junk).

I want to turn these resources into a pip-boy-esque wrist mounted solar-charged back-lit TI-84. With a watch thrown in, because I'll be damned if I'm strapping anything to my wrist that can't tell time. The simple idea would be to disassemble the components of the calculator, re-assemble them, along with a larger screen, a backlight, and a rechargeable solar-assisted battery, onto an insulated wire mesh I can fit around my wrist, then cut and fold some sheet metal around the parts to make it look nice, insulating the inside of course. You guys have a LOT more experience than me with projects of this caliber, and I have no idea where to start, or if any of this is even feasible or if I'm going in completely the wrong direction. How should I best approach this? Please help me benefit from your wisdom...
It is going to be hard to fit the entire contents of a ti 84 into a watch, and even if you could fit it all in you would need a strong wrist if you plan on wearing the watch all day.
Laughing

I don't think this is even feasible... I mean, even if we exclude linking and such, I dont think so
Unfortunately that doesn't sound terribly feasible. The TI-84 is sadly a single giant PCB, albeit one from which a few chunks could be removed. Even moving the LCD to an external PCB would require roughly 32 extremely finely-soldered wires, maybe 32 wires in the space of an inch and a half or so.