Just had a thought - one which I don't know if it is realistic, since I have little experience with hardware development and my software developing mind is half asleep right now. But here it is.

Would it be possible to create an electronic stylus that plugs into the calculator link port and can be used to click on the screen? My idea for how it would work is that it would have two components, a touch button and some sort of light or color sensor, both located in the tip. When the touch button is depressed, the calculator would very quickly wipe the screen and begin to fill it with black, line by line, pixel by pixel. As soon as the light sensor registers black, the calculator would know it had found the coordinates of the stylus click. The screen would be restored to normal. This is a similar technique to a game called Duck Hunt which, although I've never played, sounds like a very clever technique.

Does anyone think this might be feasible? Would someone like to try it out? I lack the electronics and hardware skill to build something like this, but I'd be very happy if it could work for someone else.
Huh, that actually sounds pretty cool. A much faster method of searching would be to sweep two vertical lines from the edges inward to get the X coordinate (once triggered, flash the two possibilities in sequence, which saves only slightly less than half the time), then sweep two horizontal lines edges inward, again flash the two possibilities in sequence. That would work nicely, I might actually have the inclination to give this a try.
that's hot Very Happy
elfprince13 wrote:
that's hot Very Happy
Erm, just thought of a problem: LCD lag is disgustingly poor.
I suppose that this won't work on an emulator...
Razz
ZagorNBK wrote:
I suppose that this won't work on an emulator...
Razz

oddly enough I can't think of any reason you couldn't do it with a mouse if the capability was programmed in to the emulator.