Hey guys, I'm pretty new to this whole scene. I just started learning Basic from a TUT I found, and thought it might be fun.

So, since I suck at this, I thought of making a text based rpg style game. The main plot is that you are a mercenary/assassin payed by the government to exterminate the leaders of a drug cartel that has created a new drug that would be the new 'crack'. That's basically it in a nutshell.

This is going to be very hard for me Rolling Eyes since I'm just beginning to learn stuff. However, hopefully you guys can help me out and stuff.

Hopefully in the future, I can incorporate animated scenes and stuff where you control the gun or something. Cool
I think I speak for everyone when I say we're always glad to see a new member join the community, what with it being in the deteriorated state that it is (ticalc hasn't been updated in a month!)

No offense to any TIcalc mods, of course.

It just seems to me that the Ti Calculator community experience a "golden age" between about 1999 and 2006, and hasn't yet picked back up to where it once was. Maybe once more is learned about TI's most recent calculators, more interesting things will begin to happen again.

Of course, I think many of the most interesting developments were made "after the fall." There are still a few very active developers working on some very important projects. (Off the top of my head I can think of Spenser's Zelda, TIfreak's Pokemon Purple, and BrandonW's work on solving the deepest mysteries of the OS and the architecture.)
Swoll_Monkey wrote:
Hopefully in the future, I can incorporate animated scenes and stuff where you control the gun or something. Cool
At this specifically, controlling the weapon is going to be incredibly hard with BASIC. Since you can't utilize sprites without the use of a Flash or ASM library, which does take a bit to memorize and since they're is never just one library, you'll only appeal to a small audience.