I've been taking a break from other things in an attempt to really get going with assembly. Unfortunately, I've run into something that's left me quite perplexed.

What's wrong with this code? It gives me a domain error.
Code:
CD4972C9

I mean, wouldn't it be the same as this?

Code:
b_call(_GetKey)
ret
Ok, you did 2 things wrong:

1-CD is call. NEVER try to call a bcall. bcall is EF.

2-z80 uses little-endian. In other words, if you are coding hex codes by hand and come across a two-byte value, switch the two bytes.

Code:
EF7249C9
Clarification: using CD instead of EF is only correct on a TI-83, never on a +/SE/84+/SE.
Ok, thanks.

Haha! I'm a complete ASM noob. Is there an updated opcode list somewhere (or a way to tell when the opcodes differ)? Right now, I'm using this one.
You could just not code by hand and use one of the many available compilers, which would make everything so much simpler and easier Rolling Eyes
Kllrnohj wrote:
You could just not code by hand and use one of the many available compilers, which would make everything so much simpler and easier Rolling Eyes
Tsk tsk, I would hope that someone like you wouldn't make that mistake. ASSEMBLER != COMPILER! Kllrnohj means to say you should be using an *assembler* such as Brass, TASM, SPASM, etc.
/me smacks forehead - yeah, stupid mistake. I meant assembler. Heh, oh well Very Happy
KermMartian wrote:
Kllrnohj wrote:
Tsk tsk, I would hope that someone like you wouldn't make that mistake. ASSEMBLER != COMPILER! Kllrnohj means to say you should be using an *assembler* such as Brass, TASM, SPASM, etc.

Oh, that'll probably never happen because:

1. I'm currently enjoying remote programming (with no computer) too much for the cumbersomeness of it all not to be worth it.
2. I was only able to transfer programs before my 84+SE broke. I'm too miserly to buy a silver link for my 83+. Wink