What would you like to see more?
Temple Run CE
 62%  [ 10 ]
MC 2.0
 37%  [ 6 ]
Total Votes : 16

So... I've had a custom, simple script on a few different platforms to render voxels both quickly and dynamically, sacrificing quality and flexibility (more on that later). I'm working on a version for the TI-84 Plus CE in my free time, but I have a working demo in my Discord here: https://discord.gg/22rfEYgZx4.

So far, with 5 voxels, it gets 30fps on real hardware. Most of this comes from the algorithm, not rendering/framebuffer. I currently have motion in all 3 axis implemented. However, it is VERY unoptimized, and the vertices are calculated every frame as well as being overdrawn...which I will be changing. Basically, improvements coming, contributions and tips/hints greatly appreciated, especially since I have no background in 3D graphics (other than some OpenGL), this is a free time project, and I have school since I'm 15 - turning 16 in two days.

Honestly, I'm kinda surprised there aren't a lot of other projects like this. I'm also planning on doing some work on a lightweight raycaster similar to Cellar, which will hopefully run faster if it has no textures. However, with this "engine", I'm planning on making Temple Run CE or another MC clone. Razz

There is one drawback, though. The thing is, it is only able to rotate in 90 degrees increments (which requires a little bit of computation) which is the reason I'm really liking the idea of Temple Run. For now, everything is just a simple wireframe, but I'll have an option to render voxels fully soon.

So, I'd like to hear y'alls feedback, if you like it or not, any tips, tricks, or pointers, literally anything since I just got the toolchain installed two days ago and am still needing to get fully familiar with the graphx library. Anything is helpful! Very Happy

Screenshot, thanks to Epsilon5: