I'm somewhat new to C, and I'm trying to port Undertale to the TI-84 CE. I'm using the CE C Toolchain. I'm having two main issues, but here's some info. I have 3 main files so far, main.c, vars.h, and func.c. The names are self explainatory.

First problem: I want to make variables in the vars.h file, include them in func.c, then include func.c in main.c. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, it keeps throwing errors.

Second problem: I don't really know how to put this into words, so here's an example. I have a variable called playerX in vars.h. If I include vars.h in func.c, it can be altered by a function that detects left/right input and adds/subtracts 1 from it accordingly. Then, the function would be called in main.c. This would then be used in func.c to display the character on screen. How would I get this to work?

I am very sorry if the grammar is hard to follow, I'm not very good with English. Thanks in advance! Here is the github link https://github.com/slimefolf/calctale.
You should define the variable in a .c file, not the .h file. For example, create a vars.c with "int playerX = 123;" in it.

To be able to access that variable from other .c files you would then declare "extern int playerX;", either directly in the .c file that's trying to access this variable or in your vars.h file that you include in that .c file.

That said, having such generic file names and reliance on global variables like this does make me wonder if there might be a neater way of arranging the program, for example having player-related code in a player.c that can act on a player structure that is passed to the functions (rather than having individual global variables).
slimefolf wrote:
First problem: I want to make variables in the vars.h file, include them in func.c, then include func.c in main.c. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, it keeps throwing errors.

You should never #include a .c file, only .h files.