This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Community News & Discuss Nspire => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
t99

Posted: 27 Sep 2010 02:47:16 am    Post subject:

Hi everyone!! anybody tried to compile Lua for Nspire?

Lua interpreter only need a simple C complier so I imagine it could be done remarkably easily ?

I'm not a developer myself so could someone help me? Smile Smile
apcalc

Posted: 27 Sep 2010 02:54:33 pm    Post subject:

To be honest, I never heard of Lua before this, so I can't really give an exact answer to this, but I would suspect that this would be harder than it sounds because we are still missing some important C standard library functions for the Nspire.

Right now, porting any "C" program to the Nspire is not the easiest thing to do.
t99

Posted: 27 Sep 2010 03:14:03 pm    Post subject:

Lua is a fast, light weight script language. The entire interpreter is only like 400KB. So I think it would be nice to get it running on Nspire.

http://www.lua.org/

PS: Lua runs on HP-50g which only has 512k of ram
bwang

Posted: 27 Sep 2010 11:51:13 pm    Post subject:

As apcalc said, most of the standard library is still missing on the Nspire, so there is no chance of a port at the moment.
It does look like it is written in very standard C, so it won't be too hard to port.
The question is, why would we want Lua on the Nspire? As a stand-alone language, what is it good at? It seems to me that Lua is usually used as the embedded scripting language in larger applications.