This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's General Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Open Topic & United-TI Talk => General Open Topic
Author Message
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 26 Jun 2010 02:19:06 pm    Post subject:

When Axe parser says it will compile a program, what does that exactly mean. I'm confused. I wanna try to learn so that I can try to enter the axe parser contest on omnimaga.com.
Back to top
Builderboy2005


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 51

Posted: 26 Jun 2010 02:33:44 pm    Post subject:

This question is probably better asked on Omnimaga, but i will try to explain. Axe parser is *not* basic, and it does *not* have the same syntax as basic, although it is very similar. When you want to write an Axe program, you type it directly into the editor that TiBasic uses. Then, when you are finished, you go to the Axe app, select your program, and Axe will take the code you have written, and turn it into assembly. This is a basic example program in Axe. Notice that the syntax is slightly different. Getkey number 15 is the clear button. Output is not x,y instead of y,x and starts at 0,0. To display a number you need to add >Dec to the end. And the most important difference is the header .Counter which tells Axe that it is indeed an Axe program, and it tells it the name of the program to compile it to.

.COUNTER
0->A
Repeat getKey=15
A+1->A
Output(0,0,A>Dec
End

Try typing this program out, downloading Axe, compiling this program, then running Counter with the Asm() token. See what you get!


Last edited by Guest on 26 Jun 2010 09:02:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 26 Jun 2010 08:12:21 pm    Post subject:

I think you need the program name to be all capital letters, so .COUNTER might be better.
Back to top
Builderboy2005


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 51

Posted: 26 Jun 2010 09:02:34 pm    Post subject:

Ah yes that is true. Silly regular keyboard making it so easy to type in lowercase Razz
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 26 Jun 2010 10:26:01 pm    Post subject:

So Basically, it changes what the syntax of the code does? So ii Put Output(1,1,"X" In the editor, and dint compile it but ran, it would output X in the first block, but after compiling, it would output it in the 2,2 spot?
Back to top
Builderboy2005


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 51

Posted: 27 Jun 2010 01:17:42 pm    Post subject:

Well you have to realize there are two programs. The first is what you type out onto your calculator, which is your source. This source is *not* ever run, as it would most likely just give you a syntax error. But when you compile, you select the source, and Axe creates a NEW program in Assembly. This is the program that you run. The reason certain commands have been changed is for usability. For example Pt-On no longer turns on points, but displays sprites. Horizontal can be used to shift the screen. And RecalPic can be used to switch buffers. Its all very new for the calculators, have you downloaded the application? It comes with full documentations and help files, you should take a look at it.
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 27 Jun 2010 07:44:45 pm    Post subject:

Builderboy2005 wrote:

Well you have to realize there are two programs. The first is what you type out onto your calculator, which is your source. This source is *not* ever run, as it would most likely just give you a syntax error. But when you compile, you select the source, and Axe creates a NEW program in Assembly. This is the program that you run. The reason certain commands have been changed is for usability. For example Pt-On no longer turns on points, but displays sprites. Horizontal can be used to shift the screen. And RecalPic can be used to switch buffers. Its all very new for the calculators, have you downloaded the application? It comes with full documentations and help files, you should take a look at it.


I did, I just was confused about compiling, but I get what your saying. The compiler is in some ways like a converter between basic and assembly.
Back to top
Builderboy2005


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 51

Posted: 28 Jun 2010 12:39:50 am    Post subject:

Yeah, thats a great way to put it. The only thing you need to remember is that you wont be programing in Basic. You will be programing in a language very close to basic, but there are differences.
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 28 Jun 2010 10:36:19 am    Post subject:

Builderboy2005 wrote:

Yeah, thats a great way to put it. The only thing you need to remember is that you wont be programing in Basic. You will be programing in a language very close to basic, but there are differences.


Alright, thanks for the help.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement