This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wesley


Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2009
Posts: 45

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 01:47:34 pm    Post subject:

Okay, here is a fully working version (at least I think):


Code:
Radian
ClrHome
Input "DY/DX ", Str1
String>Equ(Str1,Y1
FnOff
0.0325(Xmax-Xmin)→C
0.0325(Ymax-Ymin)→D
For(A,1,9
For(B,1,9
Xmin+B(Xmax-Xmin)/10→X
Ymax-A(Ymax-Ymin)/10→Y
Y1→M
tan-1(M→O
Line(Ccos(O)+X, Dsin(O)+Y, -Ccos(O)+X, -Dcos(O)+Y
End
End

Let me know if this works out right.
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 05:23:54 pm    Post subject:

Wesley wrote:
Okay, here is a fully working version (at least I think):


Code:
Radian
ClrHome
Input "DY/DX ", Str1
String>Equ(Str1,Y1
FnOff
0.0325(Xmax-Xmin)→C
0.0325(Ymax-Ymin)→D
For(A,1,9
For(B,1,9
Xmin+B(Xmax-Xmin)/10→X
Ymax-A(Ymax-Ymin)/10→Y
Y1→M
tan-1(M→O
Line(Ccos(O)+X, Dsin(O)+Y, -Ccos(O)+X, -Dcos(O)+Y
End
End

Let me know if this works out right.

For some reason it doesn't seem to do the correct field for dy/dx=x. I might have typed something in wrong though. Also, could you explain some of the math? I'm getting lost a little in it, just would like to know what's happening.

Also, here is my revised code. It still isn't perfect but it's better. The steep slopes don't look that good though, still working on it.


Code:
ClrDraw
Input Str1
For(X,Xmin,Xmax
expr(Str1→M
For(B,Ymin,Ymax
MX+B→D
-D+(B+M(X+.35→E
D-(B+M(X-.35→F
Line(X+.35,B+E,X-.35,B-F
End
End

Hope Wesley and I are helping.

P.S. Mine works better at a closer window (like -5 to 5 on x and y and such).


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:32:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
vanchagreen


Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 136

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 06:47:14 pm    Post subject:

@Wesley: I'm not quite sure how to type String>Equ(Str1,Y1) , into the calculator...
@Meishe91: What are these lines for?


Code:
-D+(B+(X+.35→E 
           
D-(B+(X-.35→F


And thanks to both of you for all your help.
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 07:07:38 pm    Post subject:

vanchagreen wrote:
@Wesley: I'm not quite sure how to type String>Equ(Str1,Y1) , into the calculator...
@Meishe91: What are these lines for?


Code:
-D+(B+(X+.35→E

D-(B+(X-.35→F


And thanks to both of you for all your help.

String►Equ( is in the catalog. Just type "T" in the catalog and go up three, I believe.
Ok, that was my bad haha. They should have been -D+(B+M(X+.35→E and D-(B+M(X-.35→F. I fixed it in the post with the code so now that code should be correct haha. If you still want explanations then just say.


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:32:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
vanchagreen


Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 136

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 08:19:20 pm    Post subject:

I would still like explanations of the -D+(B+M(X+.35→E and D-(B+M(X-.35→F lines, please.
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 08:54:58 pm    Post subject:

Ok.
So the line MX+B→D is storing the y-value for the center of the line that will be generated. The next two lines (the ones you're asking about) are finding the y-values of X±.35 units. Then to obtain the right point, subtract D (The y-value of the center) from M(X+.35)+B. On the left side you subtract the value obtained from M(X-.35)+B from D. These basically give you two points that, when connected, create the slope line at the center point. You add B to these values in the Line( command to shift it all up into view. Hopefully that makes sense.


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:33:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
vanchagreen


Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 136

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 09:40:07 pm    Post subject:

Yes, thank you. Now all I've got to do is implement it. :biggrin:
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 09:59:53 pm    Post subject:

vanchagreen wrote:
Yes, thank you. Now all I've got to do is implement it. :biggrin:

No problem.
Back to top
wesley


Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2009
Posts: 45

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 10:40:48 pm    Post subject:

Meishe91 wrote:
For some reason it doesn't seem to do the correct field for dy/dx=x. I might have typed something in wrong though. Also, could you explain some of the math? I'm getting lost a little in it, just would like to know what's happening.

I looks like it works to me... (see attachment)

I am simply using the unit circle. All the math is within these two lines:

Code:
tan-1(Y0→θ
Line(Ccos(θ)+X,Dsin(θ)+Y,‾Ccos(θ)+X,‾Dsin(θ)+Y


The X and Y are simply offsets to place the lines correctly. We have the derivative right? So if we take the arctangent of the function at that point, X, then we have the slope of the line. By this we can use Cos and Sin to get the correct angle at which the line resides. C and D are simply constants to create a specific size for the lines.


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:33:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 11:08:51 pm    Post subject:

Ok, I see what happened. You made a small typo in your code above. You put ...-Dcos(O)+Y instead of ...-Dsin(O)+Y. But I like your code better. Mine is smaller in size but yours solves the spacing issue mine has.

Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:34:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
wesley


Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2009
Posts: 45

Posted: 02 Mar 2010 11:41:57 pm    Post subject:

Meishe91 wrote:
Ok, I see what happened. You made a small typo in your code above. You put ...-Dcos(O)+Y instead of ...-Dsin(O)+Y. But I like your code better. Mine is smaller in size but yours solves the spacing issue mine has.

I thought I had a bug in there somewhere!


Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:34:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 03 Mar 2010 12:10:31 am    Post subject:

Haha ya. Simple fix though Smile
Back to top
thornahawk
μολών λαβέ


Active Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 569

Posted: 03 Mar 2010 07:12:03 pm    Post subject:

Expressions of the form cos(arctan(m)) and sin(arctan(m)) can be simplified to a form involving R►Pr(. :)

Thus,


Code:
PROGRAM:SLPFLD
1→H \\ change this value to change the length of your line segments
Input "Y'=",Str0
Input "X STEPS: ",V
(Xmax-Xmin)/(V-1)→P
Input "Y STEPS: ",W
(Ymax-Ymin)/(W-1)→Q
DispGraph
For(J,0,W-1)
For(I,0,V-1)
Xmin+IP→X
Ymin+JQ→Y
expr(Str0)→M
HΔX/R►Pr(1,M)→R
Line(X-R,Y-MR,X+R,Y+MR)
End:End


thornahawk


Last edited by Guest on 03 Mar 2010 07:29:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 03 Mar 2010 09:29:07 pm    Post subject:

I know you already figure it out, and I'm con fused cause I'm still in pre-calc, but wouldn't it be easier to get the slope and then check points against the slope. Change in y over the change in x?
Back to top
wesley


Newbie


Joined: 05 May 2009
Posts: 45

Posted: 03 Mar 2010 10:06:25 pm    Post subject:

Bhaliar wrote:
I know you already figure it out, and I'm con fused cause I'm still in pre-calc, but wouldn't it be easier to get the slope and then check points against the slope. Change in y over the change in x?

That's essentially what my program is doing.

But all this doesn't matter unless you are in Calculus!!! :biggrin:
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 03 Mar 2010 11:30:58 pm    Post subject:

Bhaliar wrote:
I know you already figure it out, and I'm con fused cause I'm still in pre-calc, but wouldn't it be easier to get the slope and then check points against the slope. Change in y over the change in x?

Same here, that's basically what mine does too. It finds the slope, then plots two points that create a line on the slope line. If that makes sense haha.

By the way, Thornahawk, could you explain your code a little?


Last edited by Guest on 03 Mar 2010 11:43:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 04 Mar 2010 06:13:18 pm    Post subject:

Graph3 also has this feature, but I don't know how it compares to these basic versions, and you probably don't need an entire APP for something like this. But just in case...
Back to top
thornahawk
μολών λαβέ


Active Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 569

Posted: 04 Mar 2010 06:58:19 pm    Post subject:

@meishe:

Instead of giving you the whole caboodle, I'll leave you the fun of figuring it out. First, a picture:



The line segment in the picture obviously has the slope m. What should the value of x be such that the length of the segment is h? (Hint: Pythagoras may be of service).

Shift the origin such that the line segment starts at an arbitrary point, and you have the formulae in my program.

thornahawk
Back to top
meishe91


Newbie


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 49

Posted: 04 Mar 2010 08:54:16 pm    Post subject:

Well I was following, kinda haha, up until you said what x has to be so the length is h. Just not seeing what h is.

Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2010 09:35:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 04 Mar 2010 09:49:41 pm    Post subject:

Well I will be in calculus next year, so.. That and I think h is the height from the point X'y at the top to the point x,0 on the x axis. It uses pythagorean therom to do th test?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 3 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement