This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 11:36:03 am    Post subject:

I have made a pong game about a year ago and i posted it a few months ago on here but my calc batteries died and i didnt have a backup. i had the code alot more advanced than the one posted but no longer have it and i would like help to improve it. its on my calc again but in its primative form
Back to top
dxfan101010


Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Posts: 194

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 12:45:53 pm    Post subject:

shadowking wrote:
Im working on an update for this that will be much faster


this is the main code though

Code:

PROGRAM:PONG
:ClrHome
:Output(4,1,"::::::PONG::::::BY: ADAM WHEELER
:Pause
:Lbl 1
:-1→I:0→k
:7→A:8→B
:1→X:-1→Y
:6→Z
:While (K=0
:ClrHome
:Output(A,B,"O
:Output(8,Z,"---"
:If A=1
:-X→X
:If A=7 and B≥Z and B≤Z+3
:-X→X
:If A=7:I+1→I
:Output(1,1,I
:Output(1,14,U
:If B=1 xor B=16
:-Y→Y
:V-1(A=8→V
:End
:A+X→A
:B+Y→B
:Getkey
:Z+(ans=26)-(ans=24
:Ans-14(Ans=15)+14not(Ans->Z
:End
:Output(4,5,"YOU LOSE
:Pause
:If I>U:Then
:I→U
:Output(4,2,"NEW HIGH SCORE
:Output(5,8,U
:Goto 2
:Else
:Goto 2
:Lbl 2
:Menu("PLAY AGAIN","YES",1,"NO",3
:Lbl 3
:ClrHome

are we talking about this game

0→k becomes
Delvar K
the While shoulnt have a ( i think
but thats all i see at the moment


Last edited by Guest on 30 Oct 2009 12:53:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 01:44:21 pm    Post subject:

yes that one but i have made 4 difficulty settings easy medium hard and expert i have a high score board and advanced menus to work on as well as the main game code, it also uses sub-routines (they cause faulty framework if not used correctly) and i have to redo all of it because the batteries died before i got the chance to back it up on my computer
Back to top
dxfan101010


Member


Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Posts: 194

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 01:49:13 pm    Post subject:

Why wasnt it archived? Im sorry you lost it ? ill help as much as i can with code.
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 02:26:34 pm    Post subject:

Sorry you lost it...
:(

Good luck. I'll help.
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 10:23:53 pm    Post subject:

it wasnt archived because i played it requently and thanks for the offers to help
th code currently in my calc is a subroutine program that i rebuilt from memory but its not as efficient


The main game

Code:
program:pongx
lbl 1
clrhome
menu("pong.x game menu","play",2,"settings",3,"instructions",4,"about",5,"quit",6
lbl 2
if r<1:1→r
if r>4:4→r
if r=1:prgmZD1     \\starts gameplay in coherence with the difficulty setting
if r=2:prgmZD2
if r=3:prgmZD3
if r=4:prgmZD4
lbl 3
clrhome
menu("settings","difficulty",7,"high scores",8,"back",1
lbl 7
menu("difficulty","easy",9,"medium",10,"hard",11,"expert",12
lbl 9                   --
1→r:goto 3
lbl 10
2→r:goto 3
lbl 11                sets difficulty level
3→r:goto 3
lbl 12
4→r:goto 3        --
lbl 8
prgmZHS
lbl 4
prgmZIN
lbl 5
prgmZAB
lbl 6
clrhome


the easy difficulty prgm

Code:
Lbl 1
:-1→I:0→k
:7→A:8→B
:1→X:-1→Y
:6→Z
:While (K=0
:ClrHome
:Output(A,B,"O
:Output(8,Z,"(---)"
:If A=1
:-X→X
:If A=7 and B≥Z and B≤Z+5
:-X→X
:If A=7
:I+1→I
:Output(1,1,I
:Output(1,14,U
:If B=1 or B=16
:-Y→Y
:V-1(A=8→V
:End
:A+X→A
:B+Y→B
:Getkey
:Z+(ans=26)-(ans=24
:Ans-12(Ans=13)+12not(Ans->Z
:End:Output(4,5,"YOU LOSE
:Pause
:If I>U:Then
:I→U
:Output(4,2,"NEW HIGH SCORE
:Output(5,8,U
:Goto 2
:Else
:Goto 2
:Lbl 2
:Menu("PLAY AGAIN","YES",1,"NO",3
:Lbl 3
:prgmPONGX


Last edited by Guest on 30 Oct 2009 10:49:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DrDnar


Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 116

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 10:48:06 pm    Post subject:

Have you ever archived it? If so, you may still be able to recover a copy of, provided it was archived at least once since the last garbage collect. You can find my undeleter on ticalc.org. Hope it works.
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 30 Oct 2009 10:51:21 pm    Post subject:

[quote name='Dr. D'nar' post='138092' date='Oct 31 2009, 04:48 AM']Have you ever archived it? If so, you may still be able to recover a copy of, provided it was archived at least once since the last garbage collect. You can find my undeleter on ticalc.org. Hope it works.[/quote]

yes i have archived it before but i ran a garbage collect on it so it wont work
Back to top
Bhaliar


Member


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 221

Posted: 16 Nov 2009 07:01:51 pm    Post subject:

:If I>U:Then
:I→U
:Output(4,2,"NEW HIGH SCORE
:Output(5,8,U
:Goto 2
:Else
:Goto 2
:Lbl 2

:Menu("PLAY AGAIN","YES",1,"NO",3
:Lbl 3
:prgmPONGX

I might be to late but at the bottom I noticed this part of the code. Its a bit of an overkill. You could just cut it with an end. If i missed a part of the code that needs that label sorry. That and the last code you posted used the label 2 In two different spots. Hope it helps if not sorry.
Back to top
kinkoa


Member


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 103

Posted: 18 Nov 2009 09:38:00 am    Post subject:

yeah i didnt think about it when i wrote the code but thanks for the correction
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement