This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SnugenZ


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Posted: 29 Nov 2003 11:54:41 pm    Post subject:

Why must my basic programs always end up clearing my ram when I decide to have them in MirageOS? -- I have a ti-83+ Silver
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 03:02:20 am    Post subject:

There are bugs in the basic program handler because it is experimental, uses complicated undocumented hooks, and TI made changes to the Silver.
Back to top
JacobdeHaan


Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 165

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 05:09:15 am    Post subject:

Oh, I thought that the problems only showed up in the newer OS's and worked fine in the older ones that were around when they first released MirageOS.
Now, how do you go about "discovering" an undocumented romcall?

Also, what are the differences between the Silver and plain 83+ (besides processor speed and memory.)


Last edited by Guest on 30 Nov 2003 05:10:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 09:52:05 am    Post subject:

i didn't think basic programs could be done in mirage? Neutral (how?)
Back to top
Tyler


Advanced Member


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 352

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 11:10:22 am    Post subject:

Funny thing, JacobdeHann, TI gives away their "undocumented calls" right off their own site. I don't have the site name in my head but I know it's around their somewhere. Some calls like _newLine are undocumented!
Back to top
SnugenZ


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 12:51:39 pm    Post subject:

BabyBoy, I don;t reccomend you do this, put if you want your basic program found within mirage type this at the very first line of your program

::"Programs name / description
:ClrHome
:Code Here

I was very upset, cause I put a 59 line program in mirage -- ran it -- waited waited waited -- then it said Ram Cleared out of the blue -- So It's awesome if your program isn;t "Mirage Buggy" but if it has a tini glitch ur fuC*** ... Stupid Mirage
Back to top
Basjuh


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 56

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 12:56:18 pm    Post subject:

why would you want to run a BASIC prog in Mirage anyway, it hasnt any advantages...
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 01:57:47 pm    Post subject:

It has the advantage of space; you can run programs bigger han 23k and/or run multiple programs. Also, the reason why only SOME say ram cleared is because you can't use sum commands in MirageOS (I read this when i downloaded something on ticalc.org). Input is one thing you can't use that i'm pretty sure of, i think you can't use labels too.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:00:42 pm    Post subject:

Fr0sty wrote:
It has the advantage of space; you can run programs bigger han 23k and/or run multiple programs.

How would you create programs over 23K in the first place?

Quote:
you can't use sum commands in MirageOS (I read this when i downloaded something on ticalc.org). Input is one thing you can't use that i'm pretty sure of, i think you can't use labels too.


do you mean 'some commands'? I think I'll try making a list of what you can't use.
Back to top
SnugenZ


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:01:37 pm    Post subject:

it's funny, because, most of my programs are made up of inputs ... If you could find me a list that;d be great!
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:03:01 pm    Post subject:

SnugenZ wrote:
If you could find me a list that;d be great!

'Find' a list? I'm pretty sure no one's ever made one before. I'll have to test small programs with only one command...
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:07:07 pm    Post subject:

Sorry, I haven't posted in a messageboard in a while so my internet english is a bit off. I guess what I meant by making progs over 23k was like Pokemon Red where it's split into like 50 different progs (Z1 Z2 etc) and all of them together is greater than 23k.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:10:46 pm    Post subject:

I'm pretty sure running an archived subprogram wouldn't work - mirage wouldn't know to unarchive it.
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:14:25 pm    Post subject:

Oh, well you can make the first (main) program the biggest and have all the subprograms at a really small size saving you however much room the first program took up. Or you'll at least have the advantage of being able to have a description for each program if you have like two algebra programs like:
Alg: Division of really hard variables.
Alg: Multiplication of really hard variables.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:17:11 pm    Post subject:

'Really hard' meaning the result has to have over 14 digits (or, for division, carrying it to n places)?
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 02:20:24 pm    Post subject:

*sigh* I knew I should've put "this is just an example" right there.
Perhaps I'll put it like this:
Chem Notes: Elements
Chem Notes: Compounds
And yes I know you can just name your programs Elements and Compounds. I'm just setting an example here, I really don't need this many posts on one topic.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 04:32:10 pm    Post subject:

You could use Mirage to lock and hide basic programs.
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 04:34:06 pm    Post subject:

Yes! There we go! GOOD IDEA! =D
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 04:39:14 pm    Post subject:

The most important use of mirage in Basic is to get lowercase letters.
Back to top
SnugenZ


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Posted: 30 Nov 2003 05:00:57 pm    Post subject:

I think we got a lot off topic --Sir Robin I appreciate you attemtping to make a list though!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement