This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
TKD_01

Advanced Newbie

Posted: 23 Apr 2009 09:44:31 pm    Post subject:

I am coding for a Galaxian-type game, and would like to use jump tables to switch levels. I'm fairly new to this concept, so any help would be greatly appreciated Smile.

By the way, I DID look up the jump table and vector table section of Learning ASM in 28 Days tutorial, so I have a light idea of what it's about, but I simply cannot get it to work for me. Also, I'm coding for the TI83+/TI84+ family, if that matters.
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 23 Apr 2009 10:07:59 pm    Post subject:

Basically, with jump tables all it takes is the slightest mistake and things will get horribly ugly. Like shaving. Since you already tried it, I'm betting it's something minor. But just to get started, here's a small routine that loads 1 of 3 levels. It takes in register <A>, locates to right spot in the table, moves that address to HL, and BAM! ...a jp (hl) command to win the game. ...Well...load it anyway.

Code:
;-------------------------------------------------------\
Level_loader:                              ;
; IN: A = level number to load (0-2)             ;
; OUT: -nothing-                            ;
; RESULT: Will jump to the proper level based on    ;
;       what <A> register is               ;
;--------------------------------------------------------
 ld hl,jump_table   ; HL -> Table of places to jump