This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
Author Message
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 26 Nov 2003 11:24:17 am    Post subject:

After a little break, I am going to try and convert an ASM program of mine to an application. I am aware of the major differences in code. One difference is that an app does not support SMC. I was looking around at different sourcecodes, and I saw some people use SafeRam storage for storing variables. For example, at the top of the program they would define "variablename = SafeRam+1". I have lost the file, however, and I cannot remember the program name. Am I correct in the SafeRam variable idea? How do I use them?
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 26 Nov 2003 12:09:59 pm    Post subject:

use AppBackUpScreen... it is one of the saferam locations, and is 768 bytes...
Back to top
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 26 Nov 2003 04:23:18 pm    Post subject:

I cant. I am using it for a keyhook. But that reminds me, appbackupscreen is actually a variable as well, so I can change the name of appbackupscreen and use it as a var, I believe. Am I correct in saying this?
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 26 Nov 2003 08:10:30 pm    Post subject:

Jeffrey wrote:
I cant. I am using it for a keyhook. But that reminds me, appbackupscreen is actually a variable as well, so I can change the name of appbackupscreen and use it as a var, I believe. Am I correct in saying this?

No, its an equate for $9872, which happens to be the start of 768 bytes of unused space.
Back to top
Jeffrey


Member


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 212

Posted: 26 Nov 2003 10:07:17 pm    Post subject:

Oh, ok. So how do I set up saferam variables?
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 27 Nov 2003 12:59:30 pm    Post subject:

Just equate stuff into this area


Code:
VARS equ AppBackupScreen
garbage_1 equ VARS
garbage_2 equ VARS+1
garbage_3 equ VARS+2
garbage_4 equ VARS+5
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement